NES mods



Why

Ah the NES! It's old but still great. And with a few mods and tweaks, it can get even better.

This page resumes some of the improvements or mods that can be done to a NES system.

goto top Up


Remote reset button

I own a nintendo game cartridge named 260 in one, which is full of fun games. The only drawback is that once you select a game, you must reset the nes to return to the main menu.

My NES console is near the TV, so when I want to change the game I have to get up and go to the other end of the room...

To fix this little problem, I have added a connector to my NES where I can connect a long wire to reset the NES remotely.

As you will see, it is very easy to do:
1) Open your NES and remove the metal sheet isolating the mother board. Also remove the motherboard. This is necessary to gain access to the small PCB where the Power and Reset buttons are located. 2) You also need ot remove the reset/power PCB from the case, since you need to solder on the solder side of the PCB.
3) Solder your wires on the reset button. 4) Install the connector on the case, and solder the wires coming from the reset button on it.

As you can see, it is very simple. I used a 1/4 jack, as for headphones. The cable is so simple that I will not include pictures of it on this page. I did not install a button at the other end, I just touch the wires together.

The result:

goto top Up


Stereo sound output

The NES has been designed to output mono sound. This was acceptable back then, but nowadays we expect/need stereo outputs. If you wish to connect your NES to a stereo amplifier, you need an Y cable. You will hear the same sound in both speakers.

It is possible to do better by modding the NES to add "real" stereo sound. The NES CPU (2A03) has 2 sound outputs. One carries the 2 square wave channels and the other one carries the triangle wave channel, the noise channel and the sample channel. By tapping directly on the CPU pins (that is, before the mixing is done), it is possible to direct the 2 sound outputs to different speakers, thus obtaining stereo sound.

The knob on the picture is not a volume adjustment, it controls the stereo separation. The games were not designed for stereo, and it can be heard. Keeping a small amount (adjustable) of mono sound gives better results.

Here is a page containing detailed instructions (that's where I got the idea):
http://www.zyx.com/chrisc/nesstereo.html
Since the original website does not work anymore, here is my schematic (different from the original):


Here are a few pictures:
On the left: The sound is taken right from the CPU pins. I used a shielded cable, to prevent picking up noise.

On the right: I tapped on one of the pins connecting the [power supply, RF modulator and RCA Mono audio/video output module] to get mono sound. Better be carful to use the right pin since there's the 12 Volts AC from the AC adapter on the same connector.
I routed the cable over the motherboard in a way that makes it possible to easily reinstall the metal shield. I few drops of hot glue here and there helped keep the cable in place.

goto top Up


Reprogrammable cartridge

This is not a mod on the NES itself, but it is on topic. I modified a cartridge in a way that makes it reprogrammable.
This project is on it's own page.

goto top Up


Disabling the lockout chip

(Based on the text 'Disabling the NES "Lockout Chip"', by Mark Knibbs)

When nintendo designed the NES, they equipped it with a lockout chip. The main reasons why they did this was (1) to prevent unlicensed companies to distribute their own software and (2) make it harder to copy games. (Just imagine yourself buying a game and reading in the manual that you must mod your NES in order to be able to play!...). The chip also makes it impossible to play imported games.

How does the chip works?
The lockout chip is used in both the console and the cartridge. Depending on the logic level on pin #4, the chip will run in lock mode (console), or key mode (cartridge). When the NES is on, the chips normally try to communicate together using 3 signals. As long as the communication is not working correcly (no chip in cartridge or bad chip in cartridge), the lockout chip inside the NES will generate resets at 1 second intervals.

Why disable it?
How to disable it?
All you need to do is put both chips in key mode. When both lockout chips are in key mode, nothing happens (so no resets). To do this, you must disconnect lockout chip pin 4 from the motherboard and connect it to a ground (lockout chip pin 11,12,13,14 or 15). It will also work if pin 4 is not connected at all, so dont worry if you accidentally rip it off. Even though it works without connection pin 4 to ground, I beleive it is better to do it anyway.

I was a little worried that some cartridges would stop working due to this mod (cartridge with smarter lockout chip?) so I added a switch to control the voltage on pin #4. I have not encountered such cartridges yet, but the switch is there, just in case.

goto top Up


Blue power led

Nowadays, Blue leds are very trendy and are used everywhere. I tried to resist the temptation, but couldn't. So that's right, I've replaced the boring red power led by a blue led, because "It's cool"!
You simply unsolder the old led, and solder your blue led. In my case, I had a surface mount led so I soldered it on the old led's leads.

I bought the led from digikey. They have shipping and handling fees so if you only need one led, find a local electronic component store and buy the led from them.

goto top Up


Replacing the power supply

The original power supply is of the linear type, which means it uses a bulky transformer. This power supply has a few disadvantages: By looking at the NES schematics, I saw that the power coming from the power supply is converted to DC and lowered to 5 volts using a simple lm7805 voltage regulator. This means that giving 12 volts to the NES will not damage it (however, please note that the regulator will generate a little more heat). Since the NES expects AC, you can supply the NES with DC power without having to check the polarity.

Switching power supplies are usually smaller than linear power supplies, so I have used the switching power supply that came with my old cable modem. It gives 12 volts up to 0.6 amps. So far, it has worked flawlessly with the NES.

goto top Up


Cartridge cleaning

So you have a game that does not start anymore? The screen repeatedly blinks? This could be caused by a dirty NES cartridge connector or dirty cartridge contacts. Since it's easier to clean the cartridge, it is better to try this first. If it does not work, you might need to restore the cartridge connector inside the NES.
I will now show you how I clean my NES cartridges.

1: First, I open the catridge. To complicate things, Nintendo used unusual screws. Here are a few ways to remove them: My favorite technique is to build my own tool. Someone named Naisho told be about this technique by email after reading this page. You take a small plastic rod (or similar object) and heat the tip with a lighter. Once it's squishy, quickly apply it to the screw. Let it cool down. Once removed, it will have the perfect shape to remove this type of screws, as on these pictures:


2: Once the cartridge is open, I inspect the connector. This one here is moderately dirty: (click for a close view)


3: Cleaning
I scrub the contacts with an eraser until they are clean. Sometimes, they dont get perfectly clean, but there is always a great improvement. On the following picture, I have cleaned only the right half. We can clearly see the difference: (although the picture is not as good as I wanted it to be...):

While I have the cartridge open on my desk, I check the battery (if there is one):



Finally, I close the cartridge with ordinary screws so it will be easy to open in the future.

goto top Up


Restoring the cartridge connector

Idea from the text MAKE YOUR NES RUN BETTER THAN NEW!, by XBJ-9000

Blinking screen and non-working games? If cleaning your cartridge does not do it, you probaly need to restore or replace the internal cartridge connector.

The cartridge connector inside the nes it very bad. The problem is that the metal contacts are applied to the cartridge PCB vertically instead of horizontally (which would move the dust and oxyde out of the way).

Fortunately, there is a way to fix this problem. You need to tweak the connector such that the contacts are closer together. There will be more friction when a cartridge is inserted and the fact that the contacts are more tightly pressed on the cartridge pcb will result in a more relable cartridge connector.

If you would prefer to replace the connector, you can buy one from the Nintendo Repair Shop.

Step 1:
Disassemble your nes and remove the cartridge connector.

Step 2:
Find a cloth pin and bend the tip.


Step 3:
Using the pin, try to pull the contacts closer to the center. Do this for the upper row (the one near the square holes) and the bottom row.

Step 4: (optional)
A small flathead screwdriver can help to bend the upper contacts a little more:


Step 5:
The contacts should now be nearer to each other than they were before.
Left picture: before.
Right picture: after.

You dont need to do anything to the part of the connector which connects to the NES motherboard.

Reassemble your nes, and enjoy! The games should work pretty well now. They will even work without pushing the cartridge down!

goto top Up


Permanent game

If the cartridge connector of your NES is not usable anymore but the system otherwise works, you can hardwire a game by soldering wires between a cartridge and the NES motherboard. Say goodbye to flashing power LED problems, non-starging game, glitching games, but also to the ability to change game.



A few recommendations:

goto top Up


NES2 composite out mod

Nintendo did not think necessary to have a composite video output on the NES2 console. Also, there appears to be an interference problem on the PCB causing vertical stripes (see comparative pictures below) across the screen.

I modified a NES2 console to capture the video signal directly at the PPU output pin. To reduce interference, I cut the pin so that it would not contact the PCB, but cutting the corresponding PCB track would also work. I also used coaxial cable for wiring.

To amplify the video signal before sending it to the TV monitor, I used my 3 Channel video buffer circuit.

Video signal

Video signal

Audio signal

Audio signal

Power

Power

Buffer

Buffer

RCA outputs

RCA outputs

Overview

Overview



After the mod, the jailbars are almost gone. In fact, they are as faint as they were with the original NES.
Result

Result

Result

Result

Before

Before

After

After



Note that I am of course not the first to perform this modification. Here is another way to add a composite video output to a NES2 presented on gamesx.com: Adding A/V to a NES 2

goto top Up


Using SNES controllers on a NES

It has been known for a long time that using SNES controllers on a NES was possible and easy to do using simple wiring. So this is nothing new, but since I recently (2014) built such an adapter, I just thought I'd document it here.

Anyone who has looked at how SNES and NES controllers work knows that those are simple shift registers. A button state snapshot is first taken using the LATCH signal. The bits corresponding to each button are then transmitted serially on the DATA line, at a pace controlled by the CLOCK signal. As SNES controllers have more buttons than NES controllers, an SNES console has to send 12 to 16 clock pulse to read all buttons while a NES console only sends 8 pulses.

Since the first 8 SNES button states are transmitted in an order compatible with the NES, using an SNES controller on a NES is a simple wiring matter. The additional SNES buttons simply won't be read and therefore won't be usable. (Though in theory, one could write a NES game with SNES controller support)
Clock cycleSNES ButtonNES Button
1 B A
2 Y B
3 Select Select
4 Start Start
5 D-pad up D-pad up
6 D-pad down D-pad down
7 D-pad left D-pad left
8 D-pad right D-pad right
SNES controller to NES wiring

SNES controller to NES wiring


Notice how the SNES B/Y maps to NES buttons A/B. It might seem wrong at first that the B and A buttons be swapped, but it is in fact exactly what's needed given the physical button layout. For instance, in the NES Super Mario, B=run, A=jump. In Super Mario World on the SNES, Y=run, B=jump. So when playing Super Mario on the NES using an SNES controllers, Y=run, B=jump. It feels perfectly natural.
Here a picture of an adapter I built using an SNES and NES extension. The wires were soldered and then insulated using heat-shrink tubing.


Warning: Do NOT rely on the wire colors shown in the above pictures. The relationship between pin numbers and wire color varies according to the cable manufacturer, and sometimes even between batches. You must find out the color code used by your cables using a continuity tester. Blindly following the colors seen here may damage your NES or SNES controller.

If you are looking for a ready-made adapter, you can buy one from my online store.

goto top Up


Arcade style controller

Games feel different when played with an arcade style controller. Also, if you are playing arcade game ports, you will get a more authentic gameplay.

Please visit my Arcade style controller for Snes, Nes and PC page for instructions to build one yourself.

goto top Up


Playing arcade games

I modified a NES to be able to play old Nintendo arcade roms on it. This project is quite complex so it has it's own page.

goto top Up


Controller turbo-button mod

I have been asked how one could add turbo buttons to a regular controller. I don't have the time to do it, but here is what I suggest if using a micro-controller must be avoided. (Sincerely, it would be quicker for me just to grab one of my multiuse pcb2 boards and write a special firmware).

A turbo button running at 30hz could be done like this:

Add a CD4013 D type flip flop. Clock it using the latch signal from the NES. Route the inverted output to the data input so on each clock edge the output toggles between high and low.

The non-inverted output of this flip flop would then go to each of your turbo buttons, which, when pushed, would pull the non-gnd side for the button being turbo'ified to GND through a transistor.

The CD4013 chip contains two flip flops so you could chain them to slow down the turbo to 15Hz if 30Hz is too high.

I did a quick research to find an example circuit which could somehow clarify what I wrote above, and this comes close. Of course, you would use the 5v supply available in the NES controller, and no relay. http://www.zen22142.zen.co.uk/ronj/tg1s.html

Another approach would be to use the famous 555 IC. A variable resistor could then control the rate of the Turbo. The 555 output would be distributed to the turbo buttons as explained above.

Note: If you mod a controller using the technique outlined above, please let me know and send me pictures to add here!

goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2014, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: November 17, 2014 (Monday)

Trucs et modifications pour le NES



L'idée

La bonne vieille console de jeu Nintendo (NES) était fantastique, et l'est toujours. Et il est même possible de l'améliorer!

Cette page est dédiée aux modifications et autres trucs qui peuvent être réalisés sur un NES. Vous trouverez des explications et liens vers plus d'information pour chaque projet.

goto top Retour en haut


Rallonge pour bouton 'Reset'

J'ai une cartouche de jeu Nintendo intitulée "260 in one", qui contient plusieurs bons jeux. Le seul inconvénient est qu'il faut faire un "RESET" pour choisir un autre jeu.

Ma console étant installé près de la télé, je dois à chaque changement de jeu me lever pour appuyer sur le bouton.
J'ai donc eu l'idée de me de modifier légèrement mon NES pour avoir un bouton "RESET" utilisable à distance.

Voici comment faire:
1) Ouvrez votre console et retirez la plaque de métal isolant la carte mère. Enlevez également la carte mère du boîtier. Cela est nécéssaire afin de pouvoir accé der au circuit imprimé des boutons Power et Reset. 2)Sortez le module reset/power du boitier afin de pouvoir effectuer les soudures sur la face inférieure.
3) Soudez un fil à sur chaque soudure du bouton RESET. 4) Installez le connecteur sur le boitier, et reliez-y les fils du bouton reset.

Comme vous le voyez, c'est plutôt simple. J'ai utilisé une prise 1/4, pour écouteurs. Pour ce qui est du cable, je ne l'afficherai pas sur cette page car je ne me suis pas trè forcé... Je n'ai même pas pris la peine d'installer un bouton au bout(je me contente se faire toucher les deux fils. (ce qui fonctionne malgré tout(évidemment...) ) ).

Et le résultat final:

goto top Retour en haut


Sorties de son stéréo

Le Nintendo a été conçu pour nous donner du son en mono. C'était très acceptable à l'époque, mais de nos jours, on s'attends à plus.

Il est possible de faire mieux en modifiant légèrement sa console. Le CPU du NES, le 2A03, possède deux sorties de son. Une pour les ondes carrés (2 canaux) et une autre sortie pour le canal d'onde triangulaire, le bruit et les échantillons. Si on récupère ces signaux avant l'endroit où ils deviennent mélangés, il est possible de les diriger séparément vers chaque haut parleur.

Le bouton rotatif sur l'image n'est pas un ajustement de volume. Il s'agit du control de la 'séparation des canaux'. La musique des jeux de NES n'a pas été conçue en prenant compte du stereo, et ça s'entends! En gardant une petit part de son mono (ajustable), on obtiens de meilleurs résultats.

Cette idée provient des instructions sur cette page: http://www.zyx.com/chrisc/nesstereo.html

Puisque le site original ne fonctionne plus, voici mon schéma (différent de celui du site):


Voici quelques photos:
A gauche: Capture du son directement à la source. J'ai utilisé un cable isolé pour récupérer l'audio. La gaine est connectée à la masse.

A droite: J'ai récupéré le son mono à l'endroit ou le module d'alimentation, de modulation rf et de sortie rca audio mono/video se soude à la carte maîtresse. Attention de ne pas vous tromper car l'alimentation d'entrée est également présente sur ce connecteur.
J'ai fait passer le cable sur la carte maîtresse de manière à être capable de réinstaller le couvercle de métal facilement. Quelques gouttes de colle chaude ont aidé à maintenir le câble en place.

goto top Retour en haut


Cartouche reprogrammable

Il ne s'agit pas en fait d'une modification de la console NES, mais c'est dans le même genre. J'ai modifié une cartouche de NES pour qu'elle soit reprogrammable.

Ce projet est décrit sur sa propre page.

goto top Retour en haut


Désactiver la puce de protection

(Basé sur le document 'Disabling the NES "Lockout Chip"', par Mark Knibbs)

Nintendo a dotés la console NES d'une puce de protection dont le but était d'une part empêcher les compagnies n'ayant pas de license de pouvoir développer et commercialiser leurs propres jeux, et d'autre part, rendre l'utilisation de jeux copiés plus difficile. (Imaginez, vous achetez un jeu et les instructions vous demandent d'ouvrir et modifier votre console pour jouer!...).

Comment elle fonctionne?
Il y a la même puce de protection dans la console et dans la cartouche. Selon le niveau logique présent sur la patte numéro 4, la puce est en mode serrure (console) ou clef (cassette). Lorsque la console est allumée, les deux puces communiquent ensemble via 3 signaux. Tant que la communication ne fonctionne pas correctement, la puce à l'intérieur de la console provoque des "reset" à toutes les secondes.

Pourquoi la désactiver?
Comment la désactiver?
Il suffit de mettre les deux puces en mode clef. De cette manière, rien ne se passe (donc pas de reset). Pour se faire, il faut débrancher la patte numéro 4 et la relier à un ground (pin 11,12,13,14 ou 15). Cela fonctionne aussi sans relier la patte au ground, donc si vous brisez la patte ce n'est pas grave. Par contre, je trouve qu'il est quand même préférable qu'elle soit reliée correctement au GND.

Je craignais qu'un jour une cartouche refuse de fonctionner a cause de cette modification alors j'ai installé un interrupteur permettant de relier la patte numéro 4 soit à 5 volts, soit au GND. Ainsi, j'ai l'esprit tranquille car je peux la réactiver si nécessaire.

goto top Retour en haut


Led bleu

Les leds bleu sont à la mode depuis quelques temps, et il commence à y en avoir un peu partout. Au début je trouvais cette tendance ridicule, mais j'ai fini par craquer. Alors ça y est, j'ai mis un led bleu sur mon NES.
Il suffit simplement de dessouder le led d'origine et d'en souder un autre a la place. Dans mon cas, j'avais un led "surface mount" alors j'ai du le souder sur les pattes de l'ancien led.


J'ai acheté le led chez digikey, mais ils faut payer le transport et la manutention. Pour cette raison, si vous voulez acheter un seul led il est préférable de le faire dans un magasin d'électronique local.

goto top Retour en haut


Changer l'alimentation

L'alimentation extérieure d'origine du NES est un gros transformateur qui comporte plusieurs désavantages: En étudiant les schémas du NES, je me suis rendu compte que finalement le courant provenant du transformateur est converti en courant continu pour ensuite être réduit à 5 volt à l'aide d'un régulateur lm7805. Cela veut dire que rien ne va briser si on met 12 volts (par contre, le régulateur va chauffer un peu plus). On peut même alimenter le NES avec du DC.

J'ai fouillé dans mes choses et j'ai trouvé une petite alimentation à découpage capable de fournir 0.6 ampères à 12 volts. Jusqu'à maintenant, elle fonctionne parfaitement.

goto top Retour en haut


Nettoyage d'une cartouche

Vous avez acheté un jeu qui ne démarre pas ou un de vos jeux ne fonctionnent plus? L'écran clignote? Si oui, il est possible que les contacts de la cartouche ou du NES soient sales. Comme il est plus facile de nettoyer une cartouche que de remettre a neuf le connecteur du NES, je m'occupe généralement d'abord de la cartouche. Si cela ne fonctionne pas, il se peut que remettre à neuf le connecteur du NES soit requis.

Je vais maintenant vous montrer comment je nettoie une cartouches de NES.

1: Premièrement j'ouvre la cartouche. Pour nous compliquer la vie, Nintendo n'a pas utilisé des vis ordinaires. Voici des manières d'enlever ces vis: Ma technique favorite est de construire mon propre outil. Un dénommé Naisho m'a écrit un courriel me suggérant d'essayer cela après avoir lu cette page. Vous prenez un petit bâton de plastique (n'importe quel objet similaire) et faites chauffer le bout avec une flame. Une fois le plastique bien mou, écrasez le sur la vis et attendez qu'il durcisse. Il aura pris la forme de la vis, devenant ainsi un excellent tournevis, comme sur ces images:


2: Une fois la cartouche ouverte, j'inspecte le connecteur. Celui-ci est moyennement sale: (cliquez pour voir de plus près)


3: Nettoyage
Je frotte les contacts avec une gomme à effacer jusqu'à ce qu'ils redeviennent brillants. Il ne redeviennent pas nécéssairement parfaits, mais ils sont toujours beaucoup mieux qu'au départ. Sur la photo suivante, j'ai frotté la motié de droite seulement pour bien montrer la différence: (malheureusement la photo est un peu ratée..):

Tant qu'à y être, je profite toujours de l'occasion pour vérifier l'état de la pile s'il y a lieu:



Je termine bien sûr en refermant la cartouche, cette fois avec des vis normales pour en faciliter la réouverture éventuelle.

Information utile: L'outil pour ouvrir le NES Power Pad est un tournevis gamebit 4.5mm.

goto top Retour en haut


Restoration du connecteur de cartouche

L'Idée provient du document MAKE YOUR NES RUN BETTER THAN NEW!, par XBJ-9000

L'écran clignote et les jeux ne fonctionnent pas? Si le nettoyage de votre cartouche de jeu n'arrange pas le problème, vous devriez probablement essayer de remettre à neuf le connecteur de cartouche interne du NES.

Le connecteur de cartouche du NES est très mal conçu. Le problème est que les contacts metaliques sont appliqués verticalement sur le circuit imprimé de la cartouche plutot qu'horizontalement (ce qui déplace la poussière et retire l'oxydation). Les contacts deviennent aussi moins serré avec le temps.

Heureusement, il est possible de s'en sortir en retravaillant le connecteur afin que les contacts deviennent plus près les uns des autres. En conséquence, il y aura plus de friction lorsqu'on insérera une cartouche. De plus, le fait que les contacts soient plus rapproché et serrent la cartouche plus fortement aidera à maintenir un contact électrique plus fiable.

Étape 1:
Démontez votre NES pour en retirer le connecteur de cartouche.

Étape 2:
Pliez le bout d'une épingle à couches. Ceci servira d'outil.


Étape 3:
À l'aide de l'épingle, tirez sur les contacts de manière à les rapprocher de la ligne centrale. Répétez pour la rangée du haut (près des trous carrés) et la rangée du bas.

Étape 4: (facultatif)
Un petit tournevis à tête plate peut être utilisé en combinaison avec l'épingle pour plier les contacts supérieurs un peu plus:


Étape 5:
Les contacts devraient maintenant être légèrement plus rapprochés qu'auparavant. Voyez la différence sur ces images: (à gauche: Avant, à droite: Après).

Vous n'avez pas de travail à faire sur le coté carte mère du connecteur.

Réassemblez votre NES et appréciez la différence! Les jeux fonctionneront sans même avoir à descendre la cartouche... (pour un moment du moins)

goto top Retour en haut


Jeu permanant

Si votre connecteur de cartouche n'est plus utilisable mais que votre système NES fonctionne encore, vous pouvez installer un jeu en permanance et y cablant la cartouche comme sur ces images et dites adieu aux NES clignotant et autres problèmes de démarrage et corruption graphique.



Voici quelques conseils:

goto top Retour en haut


Sortie composite pour NES2

Nintendo n'a pas cru bon de pourvoir la console NES2 d'une sortie composite. En plus, des interférences sous forme de lignes verticales (voir images comparatives) apparaissent à cause, semble-t-il, du chemin traversé par le signal sur le circuit imprimé.

J'ai modifié une console NES2 pour aller récupérer le signal vidéo directement à la sortie du PPU. Pour être certain d'avoir un signal propre, j'ai coupé la patte du IC de sorte qu'elle ne soit plus en contact avec le circuit imprimé, mais la trace correspondante pourrait aussi simplement être coupée. J'ai utilisé du câble coaxial.

Pour amplifier le signal vidéo pour une bonne transmission vers le moniteur, j'ai utilisé mon circuit Buffer vidéo à 3 canaux.

Signal vidéo

Signal vidéo

Signal audio

Signal audio

Alimentation

Alimentation

«Buffer»

«Buffer»

Sorties RCA

Sorties RCA

Vue d'ensemble

Vue d'ensemble



Après la modification, les lignes verticales sont beaucoup moins visibles. En fait, elles le sont aussi peu qu'avec la NES originale.
Résultat

Résultat

Résultat

Résultat

Avant

Avant

Après

Après



J'aimerais préciser que je ne suis pas le premier à faire cette modification. Voici une autre manière de la réaliser présenter sur gamesx.com: Adding A/V to a NES 2

goto top Retour en haut


Manette SNES sur NES

Cela fait longtemps qu'on sait qu'il est possible d'utiliser des manettes SNES sur une NES en fabriquant un adaptateur simple. Ce n'est donc rien de nouveau, mais puisque j'ai récemment fabriqué un de ces adaptateurs, j'ai pensé le documenter ici.

Quiconque s'est déjà intéressé au fonctionnement des manettes NES et SNES sait qu'elles ne sont en fait que des « shift registers ». L'état des boutons est «capturé» via une impulsion sur du signal LATCH. Les bits correspondant à chaque bouton sont ensuite transmit en série vers la console sur le fil DATA, à un rythme dicté par le signal d'horloge (CLOCK). Puisque les manettes SNES comportent plus de boutons que les manettes NES, une console SNES doit émettre 12 à 16 impulsions pour lire l'ensemble des boutons alors qu'une console NES n'en utilisera que 8.

Puisque les 8 premiers états de boutons SNES sont transmit dans un ordre compatible avec les 8 boutons NES, l'utilisation d'une manette SNES sur une console NES n'est qu'une simple question de câblage. Sur un NES, les boutons supplémentaires de la manette ne seront tout simplement pas lus et ne serviront pas. (Bien qu'en fait, il serait possible de créer un jeu NES supportant les manettes SNES à leur plein potentiel).
Cycle d'horlogeBouton SNESBouton NES
1 B A
2 Y B
3 Select Select
4 Start Start
5 D-pad haut D-pad haut
6 D-pad bas D-pad bas
7 D-pad gauche D-pad gauche
8 D-pad droite D-pad droite
Câblage d'une manette SNES vers NES

Câblage d'une manette SNES vers NES


Notez la relation entre les boutons SNES B/Y et NES A/B. À première vue, l'inversion des boutons A et B peut sembler incorrecte, mais considérant la position physique de chaque bouton, c'est en fait exactement ce qu'il faut. Par exemple, dans Super Mario au NES, B=courir, A=sauter. Dans Super Mario World au SNES, Y=courir, B=sauter. Donc lorsqu'on joue à Super Mario au NES avec une manette SNES, Y=courir, B=sauter. Le maniement est donc parfaitement naturel.
Voici quelques photos d'un adaptateur que j'ai construit en utilisant des rallonges NES et SNES. Les fils sont soudés et protégés par des gaines thermorétractables.


Attention, ne vous fiez pas aux couleurs des fils dans les photos. Les couleurs changent selon le fournisseur et parfois même selon le lot. Vous devez absolument déterminer le code de couleur utilisé par vos câbles avec un testeur de continuité. Suivre aveuglément les couleurs ici peut possiblement causer des dommages à la console et à la manette.

Note: Cet adaptateur fonctionne sur la NES, mais aussi sur la version AV de la Famicom qui comporte le même type de port pour les manettes.

Si vous cherchez un adaptateur déjà monté, il y en a dans mon magasin en ligne.

goto top Retour en haut


Contrôles de style arcade

Les jeux semblent parfois différents lorsqu'on utilise des controles de style arcade pour y jouer. Lorsqu'il s'agit d'un jeu dont la version originale était justement pour arcade, c'est d'autant plus approprié!

Si vous aimeriez construire votre propre manette de style arcade, je vous invite à visiter ma page Manette de style arcade pour Snes, Nes et PC.

goto top Retour en haut


roms d'arcade

J'ai modifié un NES pour pouvoir jouer à un jeu d'arcade Nintendo. Ce projet est très complexe et possède donc sa propre page.

goto top Retour en haut


Modification manette turbo

On m'a demandé comment je m'y prendrais pour ajouter des boutons « Turbo » à une manette ordinaire. Je n'ai pas le temps de fabriquer un exemple, mais voici l'approche que j'ai suggéré si l'utilisation d'un micro-contrôleur est à éviter. (Car bien sincèrement, il serait plus rapide pour moi d'utilise mon circuit multiuse pcb2 avec un firmware spécial)

Voici donc mes suggestions:

Ajouter une puce CD4013 (Flip-flop type D) dans la manette. L'horloge du flip flop serait le signal latch provenant de la NES (normalement une impulsion par trame). La sortie inversée du flip flop serait câblée à l'entrée de sorte que la sortie alterne entre 1 et 0.

La sortie non-inversée du flip-flop serait distribuée vers les boutons turbos. L'autre pôle de ces boutons irait, via un transistor, tirer sur le côté non-gnd du bouton normal correspondant.

Comme le CD4013 contient en fait deux flip-flops, il serait possible de les mettre en série afin de réduire la fréquence du bouton turbo de 30hz à 15hz.

J'ai trouvé un circuit similair qui pourrait servir de point de départ pour mieux comprendre l'utilisation du CD4013. Naturellement, l'alimentation serait sous 5v et il n'y aurait pas de relais.
http://www.zen22142.zen.co.uk/ronj/tg1s.html

Une autre approche serait d'utiliser le fameux IC 555. Vous pourriez avoir une résistance variable pour contrôler la vitesse du turbo. La sortie du 555 serait distribuée comme expliqué ci-dessus.


Note: Si vous réalisez avec succès une modfication basée sur mes explications, faites-moi en part et faites moi parvenir des photos!

goto top Retour en haut


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que l'utilisation des informations ou la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourrait causer à votre équipement, à vous-même ou à autrui. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 3 Avril 2015 (Vendredi)