3 Channel video buffer



Introduction

Having been in need of a video buffer for two projects[1][2] in a row, I thought it would be nice to have a small circuit board with all the required components.

So I designed a simple circuit based on Texas Instruments's THS7314, a 3-Channel SDTV video amplifier/filter with a 6-dB gain. With 3 channels, the circuit can be used to buffer not only composite (CVBS) video, but also S-Video (Y/C), component (YPBPR) and RGB.

The capacitors required for AC coupling are present in this design, but DC coupling is also possible as solder points are available for both coupling types.

Here are a few possible applications of this circuit:



[1]: C64 Composite video output and LCD TV
[2]: Ajout d'une sortie Composite à une console APF TV Fun

goto top Up


Schematic

goto top Up


Example: APF TV Fun Composite output mod

As detailed in my APF TV Fun console repair article, I used this circuit to add a composite output to this old console. The CVBS signal is captured at the input of the RF modulator and is then amplified by this circuit before being sent to the monitor.


goto top Up


Example: NES-2 composite output mod

Nintendo did not think necessary to have a composite video output on the NES2 console. Also, there appears to be an interference problem on the PCB causing vertical stripes (see comparative pictures below) across the screen.

I modified a NES2 console to capture the video signal directly at the PPU output pin. To reduce interference, I cut the connecting to the PCB and used coaxial cable for wiring.



Left: Picture before the mod (through RF output). Right: Picture after the mod (Composite signal). The vertical stripes are much less pronounced. In fact, they are as faint as they were with the original NES.

Before (RF output)

Before (RF output)

After (Composite output)

After (Composite output)


goto top Up


Example: SNES component (Y/Pb/Pr) output

Test setup

Test setup

It is possible to add an Y/Pb/Pr (aka. Component video) to an SNES console. While the Pb/Pr[1] signals are not available on the AV multi-out connector, they are accessible internally from the video encoder chip. Here is an example modification I did on one of my consoles.

Note that there are several SNES revisions and that this mod is not always possible. Here is the (very incomplete) informaton I have: (There are long forum threads with more information)
Here is where I got the different signals from: Each video component (Y, Pb and Pr) are taken on the BA6592F pins and routed to an AC input on my video buffer board. The corresponding AC outputs (and GND) are then sent to individual RCA connectors of the colors usual for component video.

Here are a few pictures of the mod:
Signals on the BA6592F

Signals on the BA6592F

5V source

5V source

Gnd

Gnd

Video buffer

Video buffer



And here is the nice finished result. I say nice, but I'll admit the opening for the RCA jacks is a bit rough... it's up to you to do better!



An now here is a comparison between composite, s-video and YPbPr formats. On my Panasonic CT-27D10 set, s-video quality is very close to YPbPr quality. But by looking carefully, we can see that the picture is slightly sharper when using YPbPr. On an LCD monitor the difference would probably be more evident.

Composite

Composite

S-Video

S-Video

Y/Pb/Pr

Y/Pb/Pr


Composite

Composite

S-Video

S-Video

Y/Pb/Pr

Y/Pb/Pr


Composite

Composite

S-Video

S-Video

Y/Pb/Pr

Y/Pb/Pr



One should know that the 240P video the SNES generates is not supported by many LCD TVs. If you get a message like "not supported" on your screen, don't blame your work too quickly. Try again with the old CRT TV in the basement first...

I only got an image on a Panasonic PT-47WX52CF projection TV and a Panasonic CT-27D10 CRT TV. My LCD displays were disappointing... But this does not really matter. With CRT monitors, video is displayed in real time (i.e. No annoying filter in your way trying to "improve" the image at the cost of several frames of lag) and are therefore the best choice for non-HD consoles anyway.
Dynex DX-15L150A11

Dynex DX-15L150A11

RCA RLED1945A-E

RCA RLED1945A-E


Simon from Australia who told me about the possibility of this mod was getting an image that was a bit too bright. After he added 75ohm resistors on the input of each signal line, the picture was perfect. In my case, this did not seem necessary. This difference is probably due to the fact that he has a different SNES version...
The mod

The mod

YPbPr vs. SCART RGB

YPbPr vs. SCART RGB

Without 75Ohm resistors

Without 75Ohm resistors


[1]The Y signal is actually available for S-Video.

goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: August 23, 2016 (Tuesday)

Buffer vidéo à 3 canaux



Introduction

Après avoir eu besoin d'un buffer vidéo pour deux projets[1][2] en peu de temps, j'ai pensé qu'il serait bien d'avoir un petit circuit regroupant les composantes requises.

J'ai donc créé un petit circuit basé sur le THS7314 de Texas instruments, un amplificateur/filtre vidéo SDTV à 3 canaux possédant un gain de 6dB. Avec trois canaux, il est possible d'utiliser le circuit pour «buffer» non seulement du vidéo composite (CVBS), mais encore du S-Vidéo (Y/C), composantes (YPBPR) ou RGB.

Sur la même carte, j'ai installé des condensateurs permettant un couplage AC, Mais si un couplage DC est souhaitable en entrée et/ou en sortie, des points de soudure pour les deux types de couplages sont disponibles.

Voici quelques applications possibles:



[1]: Sortie composite du C64 et Télé LCD
[2]: Ajout d'une sortie Composite à une console APF TV Fun

goto top Retour en haut


Schéma

goto top Retour en haut


Exemple: Sortie composite pour console APF TV Fun

Tel que présenté dans mon article Remise à neuf d'une console TV Fun, j'ai utilisé ce circuit pour ajouter une sorite composite à cette console. Le signal est récupéré à l'entrée du modulateur RF pour être amplifié et transmit vers l'écran.


goto top Retour en haut


Exemple: Sortie composite pour NES 2

Nintendo n'a pas cru bon de pourvoir la console NES2 d'une sortie composite. En plus, des interférences sous forme de lignes verticales (voir images comparatives) apparaissent, semble-t-il, à cause du chemin traversé par le signal sur le circuit imprimé.

J'ai modifié une console NES2 pour aller récupérer le signal vidéo directement à la sortie du PPU. Pour être certain d'avoir un signal propre, j'ai coupé la patte du IC et j'ai utilisé du câble coaxial.



À gauche: L'image obtenue avant la modification (via sortie RF). À droite: L'image obtenue après la modification. Les lignes verticales sont beaucoup moins visibles. En fait, elles le sont aussi peu qu'avec la NES originale.
Avant (sortie RF)

Avant (sortie RF)

Après (sortie Composite)

Après (sortie Composite)


goto top Retour en haut


Exemple: Sortie composantes (Y/Pb/Pr) pour SNES

Assemblage de test

Assemblage de test

Il est possible d'ajouter une sortie Y/Pb/Pr à une console SNES. Car bien que les signaux Pb et Pr[1] ne soient pas disponibles sur le connecteur multi AV, ils sont utilisés à l'interne par l'encodeur vidéo. Voici un exemple de modification qui a fonctionné sur un de mes SNES.

Il existe plusieurs révisions du SNES, et cette modification n'est pas toujours possible. Voici le peu d'information dont je dispose:
J'ai récupéré les signaux à ces endroits: Chaque composante (Y, Pb et Pr) est récupérée sur le BA6592F et sont acheminées à une entrée AC de mon buffer vidéo. Les sorties correspondantes sont dirigées vers les connecteurs RCA vert, bleu et rouge conformément à l'usage standard.

Voici quelques images de la modification:
Signaux sur le BA6592F

Signaux sur le BA6592F

Alim. 5V

Alim. 5V

Gnd

Gnd



Et quelques images du résultat final bien installé dans le boîtier. Je dis bien, mais bon, la découpe autour des connecteurs RCA est un peu brute... à vous de faire mieux!



Voici maintenant une comparaison entre les formats composite, s-video et YPbPr. Sur un l'écran cathodique de mon poste Panasonic CT-27D10, la qualité s-video est très près de celle obtenue avec YPbPr. Mais en étant attentif, on remarque que l'image est légèrement plus nette. Sur un LCD la différence serait sans doute plus frappante.

Composite

Composite

S-Video

S-Video

Y/Pb/Pr

Y/Pb/Pr


Composite

Composite

S-Video

S-Video

Y/Pb/Pr

Y/Pb/Pr


Composite

Composite

S-Video

S-Video

Y/Pb/Pr

Y/Pb/Pr



Il faut savoir que la SNES génère du vidéo 240P et que ce format n'est pas supporté par la plupart des télévisions LCD. Alors si votre télé vous affiche un message du genre "mode non supporté", ne doutez pas trop rapidement de votre travail. Sortez plutôt votre vielle télévision cathodique du grenier pour faire un test.

Je n'ai eu de la chance qu'avec une télévision à projection (Panasonic PT-47WX52CF) et à tube cathodique (Panasonic CT-27D10). Pour les LCD, quelle déception.. Mais qu'importe car l'affichage sur écran cathodique se fait en temps réel (i.e. Sans histoires de filtres digitaux qui tentent « d'améliorer » le signal au prix de plusieurs trames de lag) et est donc celui qui convient le mieux aux consoles et au jeux de cette époque.
Dynex DX-15L150A11

Dynex DX-15L150A11

RCA RLED1945A-E

RCA RLED1945A-E


Simon d'Australie qui m'a suggéré ce mod obtenait des couleurs un peu trop saturés, ce qu'il a corrigé en installant des résistances de 75 ohms en série avec les entrées de l'amplificateur. Je n'ai pas jugé cela utile dans mon cas, c'est peut-être parce que nous n'avons pas le même modèle de SNES...
La modification

La modification

YPbPr vs. SCART RGB

YPbPr vs. SCART RGB

Sans les résistances 75Ohm

Sans les résistances 75Ohm


[1]Le signal Y est en fait disponible pour S-Video.

goto top Retour en haut


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourrait causer à votre équipement, à vous-même ou à autrui. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement. Notez toutefois que les procédures ci-haut ont fonctionné sans aucun problème pour moi.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 22 Août 2016 (Lundi)