Printed circuit board 'Multiuse PCB2'



Project overview

This small PCB, which I named Multiuse PCB2 is an improved version of multiuse tiny 1. I designed Multiuse tiny1 for my NES/SNES controllers to USB project. Since there is not a lot of space availabe inside an SNES controller, I designed the PCB to be as small as necessary. The PCB has improved since the beginning, thanks to the many other uses I found for this PCB.

Top

Top

Specifications: Known projects which use this PCB:
Bottom

Bottom

goto top Up


Schematic

The schematic is split on 3 different pages.
Here is the the schematics in png format:

And in PDF format: multiuse_pcb2_schematic.pdf

Programming:
To program the microcontroller, the ISP wires must be soldered directly on the board. Look at the schematic for the locations.
If you are not familiar with the programming procedure for Atmel AVRs using ISP, consult my AVR programming page.

USB:
When USB is not used, it is not necessary to solder the zener diodes and R1. The 68 ohms resistors R2 and R3 may be replaced by 0 ohm resistors if you need to use those ports. (That's what I did for the SNES/NES Gamepad to Gamecube/Wii adapter project.

Regulator:
The PCB backside has a footprint for an lm1117 voltage regulator. 0 ohm resistors or solder bridges must be installed to select the power source for the microcontroller and the circuit output.

When no regulator is needed, installing U3, R9, R10, C5, R7 and R8 is not necessary. But don't forget to install R6, R7 and C1.

The voltage regulator has an adjustable output. Here is a convenient tool you can use to calculate the output voltage that would be obtained depending on the selected resistors.
Adjust resistor (R2):
Fixed resistor (R1):
Output voltage (Vout):
Note: The image comes from the following Motorola lm317 datasheet: lm317rev1g.pdf

goto top Up


PCB

Top

Top

Here are composite images of the PCB top and bottom sides:

The picture on the right shows the top side populated for USB communication (12mhz crystal, 68 ohm resistors, 1.5k resistor and two 3.6 volt zeners). Notice the two solder pad labelled 'S'. This is a pass-through signal that is useful for some adapters. This signal is also accesible on the back side via R18.

With regulator

With regulator

Option 'with regulator':
The regulator used is an lm1117mp-adj. 0 ohm resistors must be installed in order to select the power source (Input voltage or regulator output voltage) of the microcontroller and the board power output.

For example, to supply 5 volts (from USB) to the microcontroller and 3.3 volts (regulator output) to a game controller, resistors R5 and R8 would have to be installed.

The picture on the right is an interesting example which demonstrates the circuit flexibility (for the gc/n64 to usb adapter). A regulator is installed with resistors for a 3.3 volts output. A pull-up is installed (R16, 2.2k) and is connected to 3.3 volts via R20 (0 ohms). The 'S' signal is connected to the input voltage (for this project, 5 volts from USB) by connecting R19 with R18 with a 0 ohm resistor.

Without regulator

Without regulator

Option 'No regulator':
When no voltage regulator is required, the only components that must be installed on the bottom side are two 0 ohm resistors. Install them according to the picture on the right. If you don't have 0 ohm resistors, use short pieces of wire or do a solder bridge.

Of course, even if there is no regulator, it's still possible to install pull-ups or pull-down resistors on many IOs.

Here are the gerber files which you may use to produce this PCB:
multiuse_pcb2.zip

goto top Up


Programming

Programming the circuit requires soldering the programmer wires at the correct spots or building a jig with correcly placed spring loaded contacts. Look at the schematic and note the MCU pin names where the ISP signals go:
Signal ISPBroche MCU
SCKPB5
MISOPB4
MOSIPB3

Then looking at the PCB, you should see labels B5, B4, B3 in the lower right. As you are probably already guessing, B5 is for PB5, B4 for PB4, etc. The reset signal is at the top, marked nRST. ISP gnd and vcc must also be connected, and remember that normally (at least, with the official mkII Atmel programmer) the programmer does not supply power.

goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2014, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: November 17, 2014 (Monday)

Circuit imprimé 'Multiuse PCB2'



Résumé du projet

Le circuit imprimé Multiuse PCB2 est une évolution de multiuse tiny 1. Ce dernier était à l'origine destiné à conversir des manettes de NES et SNES à USB. L'espace dans une manette étant limité, j'ai fait en sorte que le circuit occupe le moins d'espace possible. Mais depuis, grâce aux nombreux projets pour lesquels je l'ai réutilisé, le circuit a beaucoup évolué.

Top

Top

Spécifications: Exemples d'utilisations:

goto top Retour en haut


Schematic

Le shéma est divisé en trois pages.
Voici le shéma en format png:

Et en format PDF: multiuse_pcb2_schematic.pdf

Programmation:
Pour programmer le microcontrôleur, les fils ISP doivent être soudés directement sur le circuit. Consultez le shéma pour connâitre les bons endroits.
Si vous n'êtes pas familier avec la programmation d'un AVR via ISP, consultez ma page sur la programmation d'un AVR.

USB:
Si USB n'est pas utilisé, il n'est pas nécéssaire d'installer les diodes zener ni la résistance R1. Les résistances de 68 ohms R3 et R2 peuvent être remplacées par des 0 résistances de ohms si vous souhaitez utiliser ces signaux. (C'est ce que j'ai fait dans le projet Manette NES/SNES à Gamecube/Wii

Régulateur:
En plus des composantes de base et des composantes pour USB, ce circuit imprimé comporte une empreinte (footprint) pour un régulateur de voltage sur la face inférieure. Des résistances de 0 ohms ou des ponts de soudure doivent être faits pour sélectionner l'alimentation du microcontrôleur et de la sortie du circuit.

Si un régulateur de voltage n'est pas nécéssaire pour l'application à laquelle le circuit est destiné, ne pas installer U3, R9, R10, C5, R7 et R8. Mais n'oubliez pas d'installer R5, R6 et C1.

Le régulateur est ajustable. Voici un outil très pratique pour calculer les résistances nécéssaires pour un voltage de sortie en particulier.
Rsistance d'ajustement (R2):
Rsistance Fixe (R1):
Voltage de sortie (Vout):
Note: L'image provient du datasheet du lm317 par motorola, que voici: lm317rev1g.pdf

goto top Retour en haut


PCB

Dessus

Dessus

Voici les dessins des deux côtés du CI:

La photo de droite montre la face du dessus assemblée pour USB (cristal 12mhz, résistances 68 ohms, résistance 1.5k et deux Zeners 3.6 volts). On y voit aussi les deux points de soudure nommés 'S'. Ce signal traverse simplement le circuit, ce qui est très pratique pour certains projets. Notez aussi que ce signal est accessible sur R18 de l'autre côté.

Avec régulateur

Avec régulateur

Option 'avec régulateur':
Le régulateur utilisé est un lm1117mp-adj. Des résistances de 0 ohms doivent être installés pour sélectionner la source d'alimentation (5 volts d'USB ou voltage de sortie du régulateur) du microcontrôleur et de la sortie d'alimentation du circuit.

Par exemple, pour alimenter le microcontrôleur à 5 volts (depuis USB) et une manette à 3.3 volts (sortie du régulateur), il faudrait installer R5 et R8.

La photo à droite montre un bel exemple de la flexibilité du circuit (tiré du projet Manette Gamecube/N64 à USB). Un régulateur est installé avec les résistances nécéssaires pour une sortie 3.3 volts. Une résistance de "pull-up" est installée (R16, 2.2k) et est branchée à 3.3 volts via R20 (ohms). Le signal 'S' est branché au voltage d'entrée (dans ce cas-ci, 5 volts d'USB) en soudant une résistance 0 ohms entre R19 et R18!

Sans régulateur

Sans régulateur

Option 'Pas de régulateur':
Lorsque l'option régulateur de voltage n'est pas utilisée, les seules composantes devant être soudées sur le dessous sont les deux résistances de sélection d'alimentation. Installez-les comme sur la photo à droite. Si vous n'avez pas de résistances 0 ohms, utilisez des petits fils ou faites des ponts de soudure.

Bien entendu, même s'il n'y a pas de régulateur, il est toujours possible d'installer des résistances pull-up/down sur un ou plusieurs signaux.

Voici les fichiers gerber que vous pouvez utiliser pour fabriquer ce circuit imprimé:
multiuse_pcb2.zip

goto top Retour en haut


Programmation du circuit

La programmation du circuit exige la soudure des fils du programmeur au bons endroits, ou la fabrication d'un banc d'essais comportant des contacts ressorts correctement positionnés. Regardez le schéma et notez le nom des broches MCU où se rendent les signaux ISP:
Signal ISPBroche MCU
SCKPB5
MISOPB4
MOSIPB3

Ensuite, en regardant le PCB, vous devriez constater la présence d'étiquettes B5, B4 et B3 dans la région inférieure droite. Comme vous le devinez sans doute déjà, il s'agit des points d'accès à PB5, PB4 et PB3. Le signal de «reset» quant à lui est indiqué par les lettres nRST. Notez qu'il faut aussi câbler les signaux ISP VCC et GND, et notez qu'habituellement (c'est le cas avec le programmeur mkII d'atmel) le programmeur n'alimente pas le circuit. Il faut donc mettre le circuit sous tension avant de le (re)programmer.

goto top Retour en haut


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourraient causer à votre équipement ou à vous-même. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement. Notez toutefois que les procédures ci-haut ont fonctionnées sans aucun problème pour moi.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2014, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 15 Novembre 2014 (Samedi)