Arcade style controller for Snes, NES and PC



Overview

arcade controller The feeling you get when playing a game using an arcade style controller differs from the feeling of a gamepad or keyboard, and in my opinion is better for many games.

I met someone who buys old arcade cabinets to repair them, and upgrade them with a PC running mame. He had some spare parts such as buttons and joysticks. I got the idea to use them to build an arcade style controller for my Snes, NES and PC.


goto top Up


Schematics

Since a snes gamepad is nothing more than a 16 bit wide parallel load shift register, I build my controller circuit using 2 74ls165. An inverter was needed to change the polarity of the latch (74ls165 latch input is active low, snes uses active high..). I first used a 74ls04, but replaced it by a transistor/2 resistors combination later.

It is necessary to use 74ls165. 74hc165 wont work because they dont appreciate the clock being high when the latch is low.

The shift in (ser) input of the second shift register is kept low to make sure the final state of QH (data) after the 16 clock pulses is low. If it is not low, some games wont detect the controller (eg: Donkey Kong).

I named the last 4 bits E1 to E4. On a regular snes gamepad, they are not used for buttons, they are kept high. I think they are used(or one of their use is) to identify the type of equipment connected to the port. In the case of a mouse, E4 is low instead of high. Direct Pad Pro, Zsnes dos and Linux only sends 12 clock pulse, so the merely ignore those bits.
done schematic
For a best reading here's the pdf version of this schematic.
Here is how you can build an inverter with a transistor. Useful if you dont have 7404s around, if you think using only 1 inverter out of 6 is ridiculous or maybe to save money.
transistor inverter
For a best reading here's the pdf version of this schematic.
To power the circuit from a parallel port, it is possible to use 5 diodes to collect some current from output pins. There can be problems with some ports as the voltage can drop because of the load, and the voltage drop of the diodes. The 74ls165 needs 5 volts to work, so parallel ports giving only 3.3 or 3.5 volts (like it is common on new PCs) will be no good for powering this circuit. If you have voltage problems, you will need to find another source of power. Using the gameport is a good way to get 5 volts (DB15F, use pins 1 (+5v) and 4(Gnd)). Measure first, some gameports also work at 3.3 volts... Also, the PS/2 keyboard/mouse ports are good source for 5 volts you can trust.
parallel port power
For a best reading here's the pdf version of this schematic.
In order to be able to connect this circuit to a Snes or NES, I built a simple cable. I used the cables from original Snes and NES controllers. You may choose to build only the NES or Snes part of the cable:
snes/nes cable

goto top Up


Pictures

test test First of all, I tested the circuit to make sur it actually worked.

test Here is what the signals entering the 74ls165 look like. The higher signal on the picture is the clock and the lower signal is the latch.

test Here's more signals. The higher signal on the picture is the clock and the lower signal is the data. In this picture, the START button is pressed.

test The circuit completely assembled. The pull-up resistors used for each button are surface mount resistors soldered under the circuit board.

button placement To decide what was the optimal button positions for my hand, I did some tests using cardboard. Once I felt it was acceptable, I drilled the holes in a wood board.

under The buttons and joystic cabling. Quite simple. One common wire for all buttons (including joystick direction buttons) which goes to the ground and one wire per button that connects to the terminal block on the circuit.

kit An overview of all the components(Button + Joystick panel, circuit, cables). I still have to build a base to hold the panel. 2 buttons are missing (L and R) to have the equivalent of an Snes controller. It think I will install them on the sides (good for playing pinball) and maybe assing them to paddles (good for Mario Kart).

Arcade buttons and joysticks can be bought from Wico.

goto top Up


Protocol

If you want to learn the communication protocol(an impressive word for simple shift registers) of an snes gamepad, I suggest you read this document: Super Nintendo Entertainment System: pinouts & protocol

To learn more about shift registers and how to use them in smart ways:
shift.txt

goto top Up


Software

To use this controller on a Snes, nothing more than a regular Snes game is needed. To use it on a PC, you just use the same software you would use for regular snes gamepads. Direct Pad Pro, PsxPad, Zsnes Dos, Linux...

Please consult the software section of my page about Snes controllers on a PC for more details about where to download required software.

goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)


goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2014, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: March 7, 2011 (Monday)

Construction d'une manette style arcade pour Snes, NES et PC



Résumé

arcade controller La sensation qu'on a lorsqu'on utilise une manette style arcade pour jouer a un jeu est très différente que lorsqu'on joue avec une manette ordinaire ou un clavier.

Après avoir rencontré quelqu'un qui achète des vieille arcades pour les remettre à neuf et les upgrader en installant un PC avec Mame à l'intérieur, j'ai eu l'idée de construire un manette pour Snes/Nes et PC du genre manette d'arcade.



goto top Retour en haut


Schéma

Une manette de Snes n'est en fait qu'un 'shift register' de 16 bits. J'ai donc conçu mon circuit avec 2 circuits intégrés 74ls165. Il a fallu un inverseur pour changer la polarité du 'latch' (replacable par un transistor et 2 resistances).

Il est important d'utiliser des 74ls165. Les 74hc165 ne fonctionnent pas car ils n'aiment pas que le clock soit haut en meme temps que le latch est bas.

Le 'shift in' (ser) du 2ieme 'shift register' est a 0 volts car il influencera l'etat final de QH (data) apreè les 16 coups d'horloge. Il doit rester bas, sinon certains jeux (notamment ceux fait par Nintendo ex: Donkey Kong) ne détecteront pas la manette.

J'ai nommé les 4 derniers bits E1 a E4. Ils ne sont pas associés a des boutons par les manette construites par Nintendo. Je crois qu'il servent à identifier le type d'équipement branché à un port. Dans le cas d'une sourie, E4 est a 0 plutot qu'a 1. Direct Pad Pro, Zsnes et Linux génèrent seulement 12 coups d'horloge, donc ils ignorent ces bits. Mais un vrai Snes génère bien 16 coups, et plusieurs jeux ne détectent pas de manette lorsque ces 4 bits d'extra ne sont pas à un niveau logique élevé.

Les résistances pull-up des boutons n'ont pas de valeur d'indiquées dans le schéma. N'importe quoi entre 1k et 22k est raisonnable et devrai fonctionner.

Petite note à propos des consoles PAL: Un utilisateur explique qu'il a fallu qu'il installe une pull-up de 1.2kohm sur le signal clock provenant de la console. (3kohm ne fonctionnait pas). Dans l'incarnation finale de son projet, il a descendu la valeur de cette résistance à 467ohm. Pour l'instant, j'ignore pourquoi ce fut nécessaire et donc pourquoi ça fonctionne...

done schematic
Pour une meilleure visualisation, voici la version pdf de ce schéma.
Voici comment se construire un inverseur avec un transitor. Utile si vous n'avez plus de 7404, que vous trouvez qu'utiliser 1 inverseur sur 6 est ridicule ou peut-etre pour sauver de l'argent.
transistor inverter
Pour une meilleure visualisation, voici la version pdf de ce schéma.
Pour alimenter le circuit à partir d'un port parallèle, il est possible d'utiliser 5 diodes pour récupérer un peu de courant. Il peut y avoir des problèmes avec certains ports parallèles. Les 74ls165 ont besoin de 5 volts pour fonctionner, alors les ports parallèles qui donnent du 3.3 ou 3.5 volts ne fonctionneront pas. De plus, les diodes causent une baisse du voltage. Si cela se produit, vous devrez récupérer du 5 volt ailleur. Par exemple, à partir du port de jeu (DB15F, en utilisant les broches 1 et 4 (+5Volts et GND respectivements)(Attention, il commence à y avoir des ports de jeu a 3.3 volts...) Ou encore, à partir du port de clavier ou sourie PS/2.
parallel port power
Pour une meilleure visualisation, voici la version pdf de ce schéma.
Pour pouvoir utiliser ce circuit avec un SNES ou NES, j'ai construit un cable. Je me suis servi des cables de manettes de NES et SNES. Vous pouvez construire seulement une des deux parties du schéma si vous voulez:
snes/nes cable

goto top Retour en haut


Photos

test test Tout d'abord, j'ai testé que le circuit était bel et bien fonctionnel.

test Voici a quoi ressemble les signaux qui arrivent aux 74ls165 dans le circuit. L'horloge est en haut de l'écran, et le latch en bas de lécran.

test Voici a quoi ressemble d'autres signaux qui arrivent et qui partent des 74ls165. L'horloge est en haut de l'écran, et le data est en base. Dans cet exemple, la touche 'Start' est enfoncée.

test Le circuit final. Les resistances utilisées à chaque bouton sont des résistances 'surface mount' et elles sont soudées en dessous.

button placement Pour déterminer la position optimale des boutons pour ma main, j'ai fait des essais dans du carton. Un coup satisfait, j'ai percé les trous dans la planche finale.

under Le cablage des boutons et du Joystick. Très simple. Un fil commun qui va au GND, un fil allant de chaque bouton au bornier du circuit.

kit Une vue d'ensemble de tout les composants. (Paneau de bouton + joystick, circuit, cables). Il reste a faire une base convenable. Il manque 2 boutons (L et R) pour avoir l'équivalent d'une manette snes. Je pense les installer de chaque coté de la boite finale (bon pour pinball) et aussi de les assigner a 2 pédales (bon pour Mario Kart).

Les boutons et le joystick peuvent être commandés de Wico.

goto top Retour en haut


Protocole

Si vous désirez comprendre le 'protocol' (un gros mot pour de simple shift registers...), je vous conseille de lire ce document: (en anglais)
Super Nintendo Entertainment System: pinouts & protocol

Pour bien comprendre les 'shift registers' et apprendre comment les utiliser intelligemment: (en anglais)
shift.txt

goto top Retour en haut


Logiciel

Pour l'utiliser sur un Snes, il va de soit que le seul logiciel requis est le jeu. Pour l'utiliser sur un PC, il suffit d'utiliser les mêmes logiciels que pour les manettes de Snes. Direct Pad pro, PsxPad, Zsnes Dos, Linux...

Veuillez consulter la section configuration logicielle de ma page Manette de Snes sur un PC pour plus de d&eacut;tails et les addresses pour télécharger les logiciels.

goto top Retour en haut


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que l'utilisation des informations ou la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourrait causer à votre équipement, à vous-même ou à autrui. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement.



goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 22 Novembre 2016 (Mardi)