Printed circuit board 'Multiuse tiny1'



Project overview

This small PCB, which I named Multiuse tiny1 was originally designed to convert NES/SNES controllers to USB. Since there is not a lot of space availabe inside an SNES controller, I designed the PCB to be as small as necessary. The PCB has improved since the beginning, thanks to the many other uses I found for this PCB.

Top

Top

Characteristics: Known projects which use this PCB:

goto top Up


Schematic


Programming:
To program the microcontroller, programmer wires must be soldered directly on the board. Just follow the schematic. Some programming signals (unfortunately not all) are available on the back side of the board.

USB:
When USB is not used, it is not necessary to solder the zener diodes nor is it necessary to install resistor R1. The 68 ohms resistors R2 and R3 may be replaced by 0 ohm resistors if you need to use those ports. (That's what I did for the SNES/NES Gamepad to Gamecube/Wii adapter project.

Regulator:
The PCB backside has a footprint for an lm1117 voltage regulator. 0 ohm resistors or solder bridges must be installed to select the power source for the microcontroller and the circuit output.

When no regulator is needed, installing U3, R9, R10, C5, R7 and R8 is not necessary. But dont forget to install R6, R6 and C1.

The voltage regulator has an adjustable output. Here is a convenient tool you can use to calculate the output voltage that would be obtained depending on the selected resistors.
Adjust resistor (R2):
Fixed resistor (R1):
Output voltage (Vout):
Note: The image comes from the following Motorola lm317 datasheet: lm317rev1g.pdf

goto top Up


PCB

Top

Top

Here are composite images of the PCB top and bottom sides:

With regulator

With regulator

Option 'with regulator':
The regulator used is an lm1117mp-adj. 0 ohm resistors must be installed in order to select the power source (Input voltage or regulator output voltage) of the microcontroller and the board power output. For example, to supply 5 volts (from USB) to the microcontroller and 3.3 volts (regulator output) to a game controller, resistors R5 and R8 would have to be installed.

Without regulator

Without regulator

Option 'No regulator':
When no voltage regulator is required, the only components that must be installed on the bottom side are two 0 ohm resistors. Install them according to the picture on the right. If you dont have 0 ohm resistors, use short pieces of wire or do a solder bridge.

Here is a wiring diagram for the PCB:



And finally, here are the gerber files which you may use to produce this PCB:
multiuse.zip

Due to the fact that this board is two-sided and has numerous vias, building it at home may be a little harder than the ususal. If you want, you can get professional PCBs from my online store. The PCBs from my store, however, are a little older than the one above. I've had a huge quantity produced with a small mistake: The 5 volts supply from the USB bus does not reach the regulator! In order to correct this, a small wire has to be installed on the bottom side:
Correction

Correction


goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2014, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: November 15, 2014 (Saturday)

Circuit imprimé 'Multiuse tiny1'



Résumé du projet

Ce petit circuit imprimé, que j'ai nommé Multiuse tiny 1 (de l'anglais, littéralement 'Usage multiples petit 1'), était à l'origine pour convertir des manettes de NES et SNES à USB. L'espace dans une manette étant limité, j'ai fait en sorte que le circuit occupe pratiquement le moins d'espace possible. Mais depuis, grâce aux nombreux projets pour lesquels je l'ai réutilisé, le circuit a beaucoup évolué.

Dessus

Dessus

Caractéristiques: Exemples d'utilisations:

goto top Retour en haut


Schéma


Programmation:
Pour programmer le circuit imprimé, il faut souder les fils du programmeur au bons endroits tel qu'indiqué dans le shéma. Certains signaux (pas tous, malheureusement) sont aussi disponibles sur la face du dessous.

USB:
Si USB n'est pas utilisé, il n'est pas nécéssaire d'installer les diodes zener ni la résistance R1. Les résistances de 68 ohms R3 et R2 peuvent être remplacées par des 0 résistances de ohms si vous souhaitez utiliser ces signaux. (C'est ce que j'ai fait dans le projet Manette NES/SNES à Gamecube/Wii

Régulateur:
En plus des composantes de base et des composantes pour USB, ce circuit imprimé comporte une empreinte (footprint) pour un régulateur de voltage sur la face inférieure. Des résistances de 0 ohms ou des ponts de soudure doivent être faits pour sélectionner l'alimentation du microcontrôleur et de la sortie du circuit.

Si un régulateur de voltage n'est pas nécéssaire pour l'application à laquelle le circuit est destiné, ne pas installer U3, R9, R10, C5, R7 et R8. Mais n'oubliez pas d'installer R5, R6 et C1.

Le régulateur est ajustable. Voici un outil très pratique pour calculer les résistances nécéssaires pour un voltage de sortie en particulier.
Résistance d'ajustement (R2):
Résistance Fixe (R1):
Voltage de sortie (Vout):
Note: L'image provient du datasheet du lm317 par motorola, que voici: lm317rev1g.pdf

goto top Retour en haut


Circuit imprimé

Dessus

Dessus

Voici une image composée des deux couches (dessus et dessous):

Avec régulateur

Avec régulateur

Option 'avec régulateur':
Le régulateur utilisé est un lm1117mp-adj. Des résistances de 0 ohms doivent être installés pour sélectionner la source d'alimentation (5 volts d'USB ou voltage de sortie du régulateur) du microcontrôleur et de la sortie d'alimentation du circuit. Par exemple, pour alimenter le microcontrôleur à 5 volts et une manette à 3.3 volts (sortie du régulateur), il faudrait installer R5 et R8.

Sans régulateur

Sans régulateur

Option pas de régulateur:
Lorsque l'option régulateur de voltage n'est pas utilisée, les seules composantes devant être soudées sur le dessous sont les deux résistances de sélection d'alimentation. Installez-les comme sur la photo à droite. Si vous n'avez pas de résistances 0 ohms, utilisez des petits fils ou faites des ponts de soudure.

Voici un shéma de câblage pour le circuit.



Et finalement, voici les fichiers 'gerbers' que vous pouvez utiliser pour produire ce circuit imprimé:
multiuse.zip

Étant donné tout les 'vias' sur ce circuit, le fabriquer chez soi peut être difficile ou désagréable. J'offre donc des circuits fait en usine dans mon magasin en ligne. Cependant, les circuits que j'offre ne sont pas aussi à jour que dans les gerbers sur ce site. J'en ai fait produire quelques centaines avec une légère erreur: Le 5 volts d'USB ne se rends pas au régulateur! Alors si vous utilisez le régulateur, vous devez souder un petit fil sur la face inférieure du circuit:
Correction

Correction


goto top Retour en haut


Schéma

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourraient causer à votre équipement ou à vous-même. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement. Notez toutefois que les procédures ci-haut ont fonctionnées sans aucun problème pour moi.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2014, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 15 Novembre 2014 (Samedi)