PS/2 Keyboard IR Receiver



Project overview

The keyboard A few years ago, someone gave me a small wireless infra-red keyboard, part no. RC-KB2, designed to be used with a Kenwood audio system. As soon as I saw it, I wanted to discover it's transmission format. Why? Because I would then be able to build a small receiver which would allow me to use this keyboard on a PC with a PS/2 port.

My receiver Two years later, I finally found (or took?) the time to do it. This page's purpose is to document the project. Maybe someone else would like to use a keboard like this one with their PC? In any case, the receiving part of the code could be rewritten for other keyboards or even regular infra-red remotes.

goto top Up


Pictures

Pictures of the Kenwood RC-KB2 keyboard:
Infra-red led

Infra-red led

The keyboard

The keyboard

The keyboard again.

The keyboard again.


Pictures I took during development:
Development setup

Development setup

Infra-red receive close-up. Part no: tsop1238

Infra-red receive close-up. Part no: tsop1238


Pictures of the receiver I built:
Inside the enclosure

Inside the enclosure

Done!

Done!

goto top Up


Technical Details

When the keyboard emits infra-red, it is not continuously. In fact, it modulates the infra-reds at a frequency between 35 and 38 Khz. I did not measure the exact frequency, but I assume it is in the 35-38 khz range because an infra-red receiver salvaged from a VHS Vcr receives the signal correctly at a pretty good distance.

After looking at the receiver's output with a digital oscilloscope, I understood how the data was transmitted. As my infra-red receiver had an active low output, a low level in the following diagrams indicates that an infrared wave was present.

When the keyboard is sending a key press event, it starts by generating the following signal which I called 'Attention':

             4.5ms
----+        +----
    |________|
      9.1ms       
Right after the attention signal, the keyboard sends the data bits. The time elapsed between active pulses (560us) varies depending on the bit value being transmitted (1 or 0). A long time (approx. 1640us) represents a 1 and a short time (approx. 560us) represents a 0.
-----+ +-+ +-----+ +-----+ +-+ +--...
     |_| |_|     |_|     |_| |_|
         0       1       1   0   ...
When a key is held down, the keyboard sends a short signal which I called 'repeat':
             2.2ms
----+         +--+ +----
    |_________|  |_|
     9.1ms        ^
                600us
The keyboard sends 32 data bits, in other words, 4 bytes. Here is the meaning of each byte:
ByteDescription
FirstPeripheral Identification. Constant value.
SecondKeycode high byte.
ThirdKeycode low byte.
FourthBitwise NOT of the keycode low byte. Adding the third and fourth bytes will always result in 255. Useful for error detection.
I compiled a list of the codes emitted by most keys on the keyboard. The [shift] keys cannot be paired with all keys. The [Room B] keys act as a kind of [shift] keys but they cannot be paired with the same keys. Unlabeled keys on the keyboard do not generate events.
keycodes_rc-kb2.txt

goto top Up


Keymap

The keyboard

The keyboard

This keyboard was designed for a specific purpose. Therefore, it is quite different from a regular PC keyboard. Many keys are missing: ctrl, alt, F1-F12, Home, End, Page up, Page down, Insert, Delete... Also, this keyboard has keys which are not normally present on a PC keyboard: Disc Sel, Sub out monit., User file name, Room B...

The biggest usability problem I faced with this keyboard is the fact that there are only a limited number of possible key combinations. And when a combination works, for instance shift + a, a different keycode is sent. This is very different from a PC keyboard which would transmit the following sequence instead: 'Shift key pressed, A key pressed'...

Here is an overview of the possible key combinations. See keycodes_rc-kb2.txt for the full list: With such limitations, how can we do a CTRL +C or an ALT + F4? What about SHIFT + Page-up? Simply impossible. In order to work around this, here is what I did:
Here is a table which describes which keyboard keys generate which standard PC keyboard key events. Obvious keys, such as numbers, letters and ponctuation are omitted from this table. Of course, some keys are missing. But I dont plan to use this keyboard for programming or playing games so it should be fine. Anyway, if I ever need other keys, I'll be able to implement them.
Kenwood key PS/2 Key Comments
Power ESC
Confirm à +100 F1 à F9
Delete Backspace The delete key is located where the backspace key normally is.
Disc.Sel. Tab
P.mode \
Check insert
Clear Delete
Set Home
Mode End
Cursor L Left arrow Absolutely necessary!
Cursor R Right arrow
Charac. Srch. Down Down arrow
Charac. Srch. Up Up arrow
Disk Skip Down Page Down
Disk Skip Up Page Up
Room B + Disc skip Down Shift + Page down Useful for scrolling in xterms and the Linux console
Room B + Disc skip Up Shift + Page up
Cont Play Ctrl + ???? Magic key to send the next key between CTRL down and CTRL up events.
Sub Out Monit. Alt + ???? Matic key to send the next key between ALT down and ALT up events.

goto top Up


Schematic


Note: The whole circuit is powered from the PS/2 port.

goto top Up


Firmware

Here's the hex file which must be programmed into the Atmega8: ir2ps2.hex
Fuses bytes for this project: high byte = 0xc9, low byte = 0x9f

For details about how to program an AVR, visit my AVR programming page.

Source code:
The source code is available under the terms of the GPL license. Consult the COPYING file inside the tarball for more information.
ir2ps2-1.0.tar.gz

goto top Up


References

The PS/2 Keyboard Interface: http://www.computer-engineering.org/ps2keyboard/
Interfacing the AT keyboard: http://www.beyondlogic.org/keyboard/keybrd.htm
Petr Simandl - PC keyboard communication protocol: http://www.simandl.cz/stranky/elektro/keyboard/keyboard_a.htm

goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2014, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: November 15, 2014 (Saturday)

Récepteur infra-rouge PS/2 (clavier)



Résumé du projet

Le clavier On m'a donné un petit clavier sans fils infra-rouge, model RC-KB2, à l'origine destiné à être utilisé avec un système de sons de marque Kenwood. Dès que je l'ai eu en main, j'ai eu envie de comprendre le format de transmission qu'il utilisait. Ainsi, je pourrais construire un récepteur qui permettrait d'utiliser le claiver sur un port clavier PS/2 de PC.

Mon récepteur Deux ans plus tard, j'ai finalement trouvé (ou pris?) le temps de le faire. Cette page a pour but de documenter le projet. Qui sait, peut-être ne suis-je pas le seul à vouloir utiliser ce clavier sur un PC? Sinon, la partie décodant les signaux infra-rouges peut être réécrite pour d'autres modèles de clavier et même pour des télécommandes ordinaires.

goto top Retour en haut


Photos

Photos du clavier Kenwood RC-KB2:
Led infra-rouge

Led infra-rouge

Le clavier

Le clavier

encore le clavier

encore le clavier


Photo prises durant le développement:
Montage pour le développement

Montage pour le développement

Vue de près du récepteur infra-rouge. Un tsop1238.

Vue de près du récepteur infra-rouge. Un tsop1238.


goto top Retour en haut


Détails techniques

Lorsque le clavier émet des infra-rouges, ce n'est pas en continue. C'est en fait une onde de fréquence entre 35 et 38 khz car un petit récepteur infra-rouge standard (récupéré d'un magnétoscope) arrive à détecter la présence du signal (Je n'ai pas pris la peine de mesurer la fréquence exacte). Après avoir observé le signal sortant du récepteur à l'aide d'un oscilloscope digital, j'ai compris comment les donnés étaient transmises. Notez que mon récepteur IR a une sortie 'active low', donc dans les diagrammes qui suivent, un niveau logique bas correspond à la présence d'une onde.

Lorsque le clavier souhaite émettre un évènement de touche appuyée, il commence par générer un signal que j'ai nommé 'Attention':

             4.5ms
----+        +----
    |________|
      9.1ms       
Immédiatement après, le clavier transmet les bits de donnés. Le niveau logique 1 ou 0 est déterminé selon le temps qui s'écoule entre les pulsations actives (560us). J'ai décidé qu'une longue durée (environ 1640us) correspondrait à un 1 et une courte durée (environ 560us) correspondrait à un 0.
-----+ +-+ +-----+ +-----+ +-+ +--...
     |_| |_|     |_|     |_| |_|
         0       1       1   0   ...
Lorsqu'une touche reste enfoncée, le clavier envoi un court signal que j'ai appelé 'Répétition':
             2.2ms
----+         +--+ +----
    |_________|  |_|
     9.1ms        ^
                600us
Le clavier envoi un total de 32 bits de donnés, donc 4 octets. Voici la signification de chaque octet:
OctetSignification
PremierIdentification du périphérique. Toujours la même valeur.
DeuxièmeOctet de poids fort du code de touche
TroisièmeOctet de poids faible du code de touche
QuatrièmeInverse binaire de l'octet de poids faible. L'addition du troisième et du quatrième octet doit donc toujours donner 255. Utile pour détecter les erreurs.
J'ai compilé une liste des codes envoyés pour chaque touche. La combinaison Shift + [Touche] ne fonctionne pas pour tout les touches. Les touches 'Room B' agissent comme les touche 'Shift', mais ne fonctionne pas avec les même touches. Les touches du clavier n'étant pas étiquetés n'émettent aucun signal.
keycodes_rc-kb2.txt

goto top Retour en haut


Keymap

Le clavier

Le clavier

Ce clavier a été conçu pour un usage spécifique. Il est par conséquant très différent d'un clavier de PC conventionel. Pas de touches ctrl, alt, F1-F12, Home, End, Page up, Page down, Insert, Delete... Aussi, il y a des touches qui n'existent tout simplement pas sur les claviers ordinaires. Par exemple, Disc Sel, Sub out monit., User file name, Room B...

Mais le plus gros obstacle pour que le clavier soit vraiment utilisable est le fait qu'il est possible de faire seulement certaines combinaisons de touches. Et lorsqu'on fait une combinaison, disons shift + a, on reçoit un code de touche différent. Ceci est très différent d'un clavier PC qui transmettrait les événements 'Touche shift appuyée' suivi de 'Touche A appuyée'...

Voici un résumé des combinaisons de touches possibles. Voir keycodes_rc-kb2.txt pour plus de détails. Dans ces conditions, comment pouvons nous faire CTRL + C ou ALT+F1 ? Shift Page-up? Impossible. Pour contourner ce problème, voici comment je traduis événements de touches du claiver IR en événements PS/2:
Voici maintenant un tableau décrivant quelle touche du clavier correspond à quelle touche(s) envoyée(s) au PC. Les touches évidentes, comme les chiffres, lettres et signes de ponctuation sont omises de ce tableau. Bien sur, il manque quelques touches. Mais je ne penses pas utiliser le clavier pour programmer, ni pour jouer à des jeux alors ça devrait aller. Je pourrai toujours implémenter de nouvelles combinaisons si nécéssaire.
Kenwood key PS/2 Key Commentaires
Power ESC
Confirm à +100 F1 à F9
Delete Backspace La touche delete est réellement là ou la touche Backspace est normalement placée
Disc.Sel. Tab
P.mode \
Check insert
Clear Delete
Set Home
Mode End
Cursor L Flèche Gauche Indispensables!
Cursor R Flèche Droite
Charac. Srch. Down Flèche Bas
Charac. Srch. Up Flèche Haut
Disk Skip Down Page Down
Disk Skip Up Page Up
Room B + Disc skip Down Shift + Page down Parfait pour scroller dans les terminaux et la console de Linux
Room B + Disc skip Up Shift + Page up
Cont Play Ctrl + ???? Touche magique pour que la prochaine touche soit combinée avec CTRL du point de vue du PC
Sub Out Monit. Alt + ???? Touche magique pour que la prochaine touche soit combinée avec ALT du point de vue du PC

goto top Retour en haut


Schéma


Note: Le circuit est alimenté par le port PS/2.

goto top Retour en haut


Logiciel

Voici le fichier hex qu'il faut programmer dans l'Atmega8: ir2ps2.hex
Les fuses bytes pour ce projet sont: high_byte=0xc9 low_byte=0x9f.

Pour de l'information sur la programmation d'un AVR, visitez ma page sur la programmation d'AVR

Code source:
Le code source est rendu publique sous la license GPL. Consultez le fichier COPYING présent dans le tar pour plus d'informations.
ir2ps2-1.0.tar.gz

goto top Retour en haut


Références

The PS/2 Keyboard Interface: http://www.computer-engineering.org/ps2keyboard/
Interfacing the AT keyboard: http://www.beyondlogic.org/keyboard/keybrd.htm
Petr Simandl - PC keyboard communication protocol: http://www.simandl.cz/stranky/elektro/keyboard/keyboard_a.htm

goto top Retour en haut


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que l'utilisation des informations ou la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourrait causer à votre équipement, à vous-même ou à autrui. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 17 Novembre 2014 (Lundi)