raphnet.net banner

PCjr cartridge

twitter@raphnetlabs
Contents

Intro: The IBM PCjr?

The IBM PCjr (The PC junior) is a cost-reduced version of the IBM PC targeting the consumer market. The PCjr is clearly better equipped for games than its big brother, the PC:

PCPCjr
Video320x200, 4 colors320x200, 16 colors
SoundOne channel, square wave, fixed volume.3 Channels + noise, programmable volume
Joystick portAs an option (expansion card)Two built-in ports

The video circuit supports a 320x200 graphics mode where simultaneous use of 16 colors is possible. (vs. only 4 on PC/CGA), and and the audio side of things, the PSG SN76496 chip, with its 3 channles (square wave with programmable volume) + noise channel is much more capable than the PC speaker (fixed-volume single square wave channel).

Despite the critics and the commercial failure of the PCjr, for someone like me who like programming games for old PCs (such as RATillery) the PCjr has a very interesting unique element: Cartridge slots! (just like game consoles and many non-PC systems such as the Commodore 64!)

photo de la façade d'un PCjr
Above: The PCjr front side with its two cartridge slots.

goto top


Project overview

So I thought it would be fun to make my own cartridges for the PCjr. I'm not the first to accomplish this, for instance here is a PCjr cartridge project I found on hackaday.io. Regardless, I wanted to make my own version using a single 64k ROM instead of two 32k ROMs. And I also wanted to make one because if I ever try selling a game on cartridge, I'd rather use my own design instead of profiting from someone's else work...

In a nutshell, here's what I created:

goto top


Schematic

The chip select signals driven by the PCjr correspond to a series of consecutive 32k memory ranges:



I decided to use CS4 and CS5. If I had used two 32k ROM chips, it would have been a simple matter of wiring each chip select to a seingle chip. But in this case, as I used a single 64k chip, I had to add a 74LS08 (AND gate) so that when either of the chip select signals would fall low, the ROM output would be enabled.

This probably begs the question: What's the point of using a single ROM if you still need to install two chips in the cartridge!? The answer: Les expensive and less pins to solder (so faster). The 64k ROM only costs 12% more than the 32k model in the same family (AT27C512R vs. AT27C256R), there is only one ROM to program (less manufacturing steps) and a lower number of pins to solder (the 74als08 hcip only has 14 pins, whereas a 32K ROM has 28...).

Now, here is the schematic:





And now here are a few pictures of the printed circuit board:
Component side

Component side

Solder side

Solder side

Bevel

Bevel



I installed an IC socket on the first unit for easy ROM replacement and testing. This uses more vertical space, but it still fits:
Test

Test

Test

Test


goto top


Enclosure

My PCB is designed to match the dimensions of the original IBM circuit board I used as a model, so installing it in original cartridge cases is possible. However, destroying original IBM cartridges to install a new board feels wrong, so I decided to make my own with a 3D printer.

I tried designing and printing a cartridge with snap hooks similar to those of the IBM cartridges. On my monitor it looked fine, but once printed, the fate of the hooks was clear: Break!


Hooks that failed

Hooks that failed



I must have tried printing 4 or 5 versions, adjusting the hook geometry each time, but in the end I have up the idea... I decided I would just use screws. But I used some kind of jigsaw pattern in the front to save two screws there.

Cover

Cover

Base

Base



The .STL files for 3D printing are here: jrcartv7.zip

Here are a few pictures of the final version. The circuit board inside is not mine, it's the board from a BASIC cartridge.



goto top


Converting DOS executables

A while ago I developed a tool called Booterify which is able to convert standalone .COM and .EXE executables to bootable disk image, so all the hard work was already done. I just had to replace the code which reads sectors from the floppy disk by a simple memory copy routine (copies from ROM to RAM).

But that's only the first step. Unless some conditions are met, the PCjr will not transfer control to the program stored in the cartridge ROM. The requirements are documented in the PCjr technical manual:



In other words: Here is how I go about converting a .COM or .EXE game to a ROM for PCjr using Booterify and the newly included jrromchk tool:

First, Booterify's job:
  1. The loader (pcjrloader.asm) is compiled by nasm.
  2. Booterify loads the compiled loader (pcjrloader.bin) and the executable (for instance, GAME.COM)
  3. Booterify patches the loader with informations about the executable (Initial segment values, initial instruction pointer) and also patches the executable if necessary (i.e. EXE relocations).
  4. Booterify outputs a file containing the patched loader followed by the core of the executable.
EXECUTABLE=GAME.COM
LOAD_SEGMENT=0x0051
./booterify pcjrloader.bin $EXECUTABLE tmp1.bin -s $LOAD_SEGMENT -f 0
This first step creates the file tmp1.bin. But before burning it to a ROM, some additional manipulation must be done using jrromchk:
  1. Adjust the size so it's a multiple of 512.
  2. Write the correct size in the ROM header (3rd byte) using the -s option.
  3. Compute the CRC and write it at the end with the -p option.
./jrromchk tmp1.bin -s -p -o rom.bin
Now, all that's left to do is write the resulting rom.bin file to an EPROM solder (or insert in socket) on the cartridge PCB.

If you are doing development, testing inside an emulator first can save you a lot of time, especially if you use UV-erasable EPROMs which require several minutes to erase.

The SVN version of DOSBox supports the pcjr machine type and can load PCjr .JRC roms using the BOOT command. This is extremely useful! That's why jrromchk offers the option of generating a .JRC file using the -j option:
./jrromchk tmp1.bin -s -p -o rom.jrc -j

goto top


Making an Alley Cat cartridge!

The game Alley Cat (is an introduction necessary?) makes use of the additional sound and video capabilities of the PCjr. 3-channel sound is only used at the title screen. For graphics however, the game makes good use of a 4-color mode where individual colors can be selected, rather that being retrained to the much loved/hated CGA colors. This means that the cheese is.. well it's yellow at last!

CGA Version (This cheese is NOT appetizing)

CGA Version (This cheese is NOT appetizing)

PCjr Version

PCjr Version



Alley Cat was originally a PC Booter, that is a game which does not (typically) use DOS and starts directly from its floppy. The original Alley Cat floppy without doubt works fine on the PCjr... But having a cartridge version of this excellent classic game would be very exciting, wouldn't it!? You want one, yes? Of course you do.


Step 1 : Obtaining the game in executable format

There are a few DOS conversions of Alley Cat floating around (for instance, CAT.EXE) on the net, but some are missing the PCjr-specific code, others had their title screen vandalised by the individual who did the conversion to DOS format (.COM or .EXE) from the original PC Booter disk. My recommendation is therefore to work from the original disk, or otherwise from a disk image (for instance, ALLEYCAT.IMG...)


Some time in 2015, the game got patched to enable enhanced sound and graphics on the Tandy 1000 computer series (Those are clones/successors to the PCjr), and the version posted by NewRisingSun in the vogons.org forum thread dated December 13, 2015 contains the MAKEDOSV.COM tool (Make Dos Version?) which will read the original floppy and create ALLEYCAT.EXE. Just insert your disk, type MAKEDOSV and a few moments later you'll have a parfectly working and intact ALLEYCAT.EXE in the current directory.

If you only or already have a floppy image, you can also use MAKEDOSV and DOSBox to create an executable. Simply place ALLEYCAT.IMG and MAKEDOSV.COM in a directory of your choice, start DOSbox there and type:
mount c . ; c: ; imgmount a alleycat.img -t floppy ; makedosv ; dir *.exe

For reference, here are the MD5 of the files involved here:
	9c003a2dbb48704a47b499d42ad49e55  ALLEYCAT.EXE
	5bbf1bd48e652c66cf704c2e1f80e9a7  ALLEYCAT.IMG
	3ceea0a7d6060f6d8d340c649770fe66  MAKEDOSV.COM


Étape 2 : Convert the executable to a ROM
./booterify pcjrloader.bin ALLEYCAT.EXE tmpcat.bin -s 0x0051 -f 0
./jrromchk tmpcat.bin -s -p -o ALLEYCAT.ROM

# Optional: A .JRC version for testing in DOSBox
./jrromchk tmpcat.bin -s -p -o ALLEYCAT.JRC -j
To test the .JRC version in DOSBox, you need a recent DOSBox version (possibly an SVN build) and set machine=pcjr in the config file (or use -machine pcjr on the command-line). The BOOT command takes care of everything else:
mount c . ; c: ; boot ALLEYCAT.jrc


Step 3 : Program your ROM, put it in the cartridge...

Now you need to program a ROM with the contents of the ALLEYCAT.ROM file created above. How this is done depends on your programming equipment and is outside the scope of this article.

Install or solder the programmed chip on the cartridge circuit, insert the cartridge in the PCjr, turn it on.... And here you go!




Now, why not a small video where you can listen to the 3 channel version of the theme song?


goto top


References

#DescriptionLink
1 IBM PCjr Technical Reference Manual
For the cartridge pinout and BIOS startup requirements.
https://archive.org/details/IbmPcjrTechnicalReference
2 Disassembled BIOS from 8088 machines
PCjr code listing, easier to use than what's printed in scanned IBM manuals. I used this to learn a few things such as the type of CRC I had to use.
https://github.com/ricardoquesada/bios-8088
3 JRipCart (Tand-Em Project)
Contains documentation about the .JRC PCjr cartridge ROM image format. (Included with JRipCart in CODE/JRCSPEC.TXT)
http://www.oldskool.org/pc/tand-em/jripcart/

goto top


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top


Any trademarks used on this site are the property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2002-2019, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: October 25, 2019 (Friday)

raphnet.net banner

Cartouche pour PCjr

twitter@raphnetlabs
Contenu

Introduction: Le PCjr?

L'IBM PC Junior (le PC junior) est une version plus abordable du IBM PC destiné à un usage domestique. Ce système est nettement mieux équipé pour les jeux vidéos que son grand frère le PC:

PCPCjr
Vidéo320x200, 4 couleurs320x200, 16 couleurs
SonUn canal, one carrée, volume fixe.3 Canaux + bruit, volume programmable
Port de jeuEn option (carte ISA)Deux ports standards

Le circuit graphique de la carte mère supporte un mode graphique 320x200 de 16 couleurs (vs. 4 seulement sur PC), et côté son, la puce PSG SN76496 à 3 canaux (onde carrée et volume programmable) + 1 canal de bruit ne se compare pratiquement pas au PC Speaker (1 canal à onde carrée).

Malgré les critiques et l'échec commercial que le PCjr a connu, pour quelqu'un comme moi qui prends plaisir à programmer des jeux pour des vieux PC (comme RATillery) le PCjr est extrêmement intéressant en raison de la présence d'un élément unique: Des fentes pour cartouche! (oui, comme sur les consoles et autres ordinateurs tels que le C64!)

photo de la façade d'un PCjr
Ci dessus: La façade du PCjr avec les deux fentes pour cartouche.

goto top


Survol du projet

J'ai pensé qu'il serait amusant de fabriquer mes propres cartouches. Je ne suis pas le premier à avoir cette idée, par exemple voici le project PCjrCart sur hackaday.io. Mais quoi qu'il en soit, je tenais à faire ma propre version légèrement différente en utilisant un seul ROM de 64k plutôt que deux fois 32k. De plus, j'avais en tête de peut-être tenter de vendre un nouveau jeu sur cartouche, et dans cette situation, je préfère utiliser quelque chose que j'ai conçu que de profiter du travail de quelqu'un d'autre.

Bref, voici ce que j'ai conçu:

goto top


Circuit

Les signaux chip select provenant de l'ordinateur correspondent à des tranches de 32k:



J'ai choisi d'utiliser CS4 et CS5. Si javais eu deux ROMs de 32k, il aurait suffit de câbler chaque signal de sélection au ROM correspondant. Mais comme je voulais avoir un seul ROM de 64k, j'ai utilisé une puce 74ALS08 (porte logique ET) de sorte que dès qu'un des chip select est de niveau bas, le ROM est activé.

Cela soulève la question: Quel est l'avantage puisqu'il y a encore deux puces à installer!? La réponse: Moins cher et moins long à assembler. Le ROM de 64k ne coûte que 12% plus cher que le modèle 32K de la même famille (AT27C512R vs. AT27C256R), il n'y a qu'un ROM à programmer (moins de manipulations) et un total de broches à souder beaucoup plus bas (la puce 74als08 n'a que 14 broches, pas 28..).

Voici donc le schéma:





Et quelques photos du circuit imprimé:
Face supérieure

Face supérieure

Face inférieure

Face inférieure

Chamfrein

Chamfrein



J'ai assemblé un circuit avec un socket pour pouvoir changer le ROM facilement lors des tests. Cela prends plus d'espace vertical mais rentre de justesse:
Test

Test

Test

Test


goto top


Boîtier

Les dimensions de mon circuit sont les mêmes que le circuit IBM que j'ai utilisé comme modèle. Mais détruire des cartouche IBM pour y loger un nouveau circuit n'est pas bien.. J'ai donc entrepris de concevoir un boîtier que j'imprimerais en 3D.

J'ai modélisé une cartouche avec un système de fermeture à crochets similaire à celles d'IBM. Dans l'écran c'était bien, mais une fois imprimé... juste à regarder les crochets j'ai compris quel serait leur destin: Briser!

Crochets trops fragiles

Crochets trops fragiles



J'ai imprimé je crois 4 ou 5 versions en ajustant la géométrie, mais à la fin j'ai abandonné les crochets... Je me suis contenté d'utiliser des vis. Mais j'ai quand même fait une sorte de crochet en zig-zag à l'avant car, ce qui permet d'avoir deux vis en moins.

Couvercle

Couvercle

Base

Base



Les fichiers .STL pour impression 3D sont disponibles ici: jrcartv7.zip

Voici quelques photos de la version finale. Le circuit imprimé dans ces photos n'est pas le mien, c'est celui de la cartouche du langage BASIC d'IBM.



goto top


Conversion d'exécutable en ROMs

J'avais déjà développé un outil nommé Booterify permettant de transférer des exécutables .COM et .EXE en des images de disquette bootable, alors une bonne partie du travail était déjà fait. Je n'ai eu qu'à remplacer le code qui copie les secteurs de la disquette vers la mémoire pour une copie de la cartouche vers la mémoire.

Maintenant pour que le PCjr accepte de faire démarrer ce qu'il y a dans la cartouche, son contenu doit répondre à certaines conditions. Ceci est documenté dans le manuel technique du PCjr:



En résumé: Voici comment un jeu .COM ou .EXE peut être converti à un ROM pour PCjr en utilisant Booterify et le nouvel outil jrromchk qui l'accompagne:

D'abord le travail de Booterify:
  1. Le loader pcjrloader.asm est compilé avec nasm.
  2. Booterify charge le loader compilé (pcjrloader.bin) ainsi que l'exécutable (par exemple: GAME.COM)
  3. Booterify modifie le loader en fonction des informations de l'exécutable (Segments initiaux, valeur du pointeur d'instruction) et modifie au besoin l'exécutable (relocations).
  4. Booterify génrère un fichier contenant le loader modifié suivi du coeur de l'exécutable.
EXECUTABLE=GAME.COM
LOAD_SEGMENT=0x0051
./booterify pcjrloader.bin $EXECUTABLE tmp1.bin -s $LOAD_SEGMENT -f 0
Cela génère le fichier tmp1.bin. Mais avant de l'écrire dans un ROM, il faut le manipuler encore un peu, cette fois avec jrromchk, afin de:
  1. Ajuster la taille pour qu'elle soit un multiple de 512
  2. Écrire la bonne taille dans l'en-tête du ROM (option -s)
  3. Calculer le CRC et l'écrire à la fin. (option -p)
./jrromchk tmp1.bin -s -p -o rom.bin
Il suffit ensuite d'écrire rom.bin dans la puce de votre choix puis de l'installer dans la cartouche.

Tester avec un émulateur avant d'écrire peut faire sauver beaucoup de temps, surtout si vous utilisez des EPROMS à programmation unique ou des EPROMS traditionels qui demandent plusieurs minutes d'attente pour les effacer avec une lampe UV.

La version SVN de Dosbox supporte le type de machine pcjr et permet de charger des ROMs de PCjr au format JRC à l'aide de la commande BOOT, ce qui est extrêmement pratique!

Avec l'option -j, jrromchk génèrera un fichier au format JRC:
./jrromchk tmp1.bin -s -p -o rom.jrc -j

goto top


Créer une cartouche Alley Cat!

Le jeu Alley Cat (faut-il le présenter?) exploite les capacités plus avancées du PCjr pour le son, mais à l'écran titre seulement. Coté graphique, le jeu utilise un mode 4 couleurs qui n'est pas disponible sur PC/CGA qui permet de d'utiliser les 4 couleurs de son choix, et non pas uniquement une des combinaisons « discutables » imposées par les cartes CGA. Cela veut dire que le fromage, eh bien il est jaune enfin!

Version CGA (ce fromage n'est pas apétissant)

Version CGA (ce fromage n'est pas apétissant)

Version PCjr

Version PCjr



Alley Cat est un « PC Booter », c'est à dire un jeu sur disquette qui démarre directement sans passer par DOS. La disquette original fonctionne sans aucun doute très bien sur le PCjr... Mais une version cartouche de cet excellent classique, ce serait super non!? Vous voulez en faire une, oui? C'est ce que je me disais.


Étape 1 : Obtenir le jeu

Il y a quelques versions du jeu au format exécutable (par exemple CAT.EXE) qui traînent sur le net, mais certaines n'ont plus le code spécifique au PCjr, d'autres ont un écran titre vendalisé par l'archiviste qui l'a convertit au format exécutable DOS (.COM ou .EXE) à partir de la disquette « PC Booter » originale. Je recomande donc de travailler à partir de la disquette originale, ou d'une image de celle-ci (ALLEYCAT.IMG, par exemple..)

En 2015, le jeu a été modifié pour fonctionner sur les ordinateurs de la série Tandy 1000 (des clones ou sucesseurs au PCjr), et la version postée par NewRisingSun dans le thread sur vogons.org en date du 13 décembre 2015 contient un l'outil MAKEDOSV.COM (Pour Make Dos Version je suppose..) qui créé ALLEYCAT.EXE en lisant la disquette originale. Il suffit d'insérer votre disquette, taper MAKEDOSV et en quelques instants vous aurez un ALLEYCAT.EXE 100% fonctionnel et non vendalisé.

Si vous n'avez que le fichier image de la disquette, il est possible d'utiliser MAKEDOSV à l'intérieur de DOSBOX. Il suffit d'avoir ALLEYCAT.IMG et MAKEDOSV.COM dans un répertoire, lancer dosbox et:
mount c . ; c: ; imgmount a alleycat.img -t floppy ; makedosv ; dir *.exe

Pour référence, voici les md5 des fichiers impliqués:
	9c003a2dbb48704a47b499d42ad49e55  ALLEYCAT.EXE
	5bbf1bd48e652c66cf704c2e1f80e9a7  ALLEYCAT.IMG
	3ceea0a7d6060f6d8d340c649770fe66  MAKEDOSV.COM


Étape 2 : Convertir le jeu en ROM
./booterify pcjrloader.bin ALLEYCAT.EXE tmpcat.bin -s 0x0051 -f 0
./jrromchk tmpcat.bin -s -p -o ALLEYCAT.ROM

# Optionnel: Version .JRC pour tester dans DOSBox
./jrromchk tmpcat.bin -s -p -o ALLEYCAT.JRC -j
Pour tester la version .JRC dans Dosbox, il faut une version récente de DOSBox (probablement SVN) et avoir machine=pcjr dans la config (ou utiliser -machine pcjr au lancement). La commande BOOT se charge du reste:
mount c . ; c: ; boot ALLEYCAT.jrc


Étape 3 : L'écrire dans la puce, assembler la cartouche...

Il suffit de prendre le fichier binaire ALLEYCAT.ROM généré à l'étape précédente et l'écrire dans la puce (E)EPROM de 64k de votre choix. Les détails de cette procédure dépendent de votre équipement, je n'élaborerai donc pas davantage.

Reste à souder la puce sur le circuit imprimé, insérer la cartouche et mettre le PCjr sous tension.. Et voila!




Et pourquoi pas un petit vidéo pour entendre la version 3 canaux de la chanson thème du jeu Alley Cat?


goto top


Références

#DescriptionAdresse
1 IBM PCjr Technical Reference Manual
Pour le câblage de la cartouche et les informations sur ce qui est requis pour que l'ordinateur les reconaissent.
https://archive.org/details/IbmPcjrTechnicalReference
2 Disassembled BIOS from 8088 machines
Listing du code du BIOS du PCjr beaucoup plus lisible que dans le manuel d'IBM scanné. Pour comprendre certaines choses, comme l'algorithme de CRC et autres détails...
https://github.com/ricardoquesada/bios-8088
3 JRipCart (Tand-Em Project)
Pour la documentation du format d'image de cartouche PCjr (fichier .JRC) fournie avec JRipCart (CODE/JRCSPEC.TXT).
http://www.oldskool.org/pc/tand-em/jripcart/

goto top


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que l'utilisation des informations ou la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourrait causer à votre équipement, à vous-même ou à autrui. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement.

goto top


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2019, Raphaël Assenat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 20 octobre 2019 (Dimanche)