raphnet.net banner

Porting Arcade Volleyball to the SMS

twitter@raphnetlabs
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
Contents: Introduction | Download | The porting process

Introduction

Arcade Volleyball is a simple volleyball game I remember playing when I was quite young on a DOS PC. According to its Wikipedia article, this game would have been a shareware at the time but it is now in the public domain. I'm not sure how well known this little game is, but for me, it's a classic!

Also thanks to Wikipedia, I learned that this was originally conceived for the Commodore 64, but was also available for Amiga. The latter was distributed on a floppy disk included with the Fall 1989 edition of the Compute!'s Amiga Resource magazine, as an executable accompanied with its source code.

Source code? This caught my attention! I really like having the (sadly rare) chance to look at the source code of games from my youth. And this one was coded in C, my favorite programming language!

As it happens, I recently worked on a few small projects for the Sega Master System programmed in the C language with the help of devkitSMS. So I immediately thought, why not port this game to the SMS? It should be a nice little week-end project! (and it was!)

DOS version

DOS version

Amiga version

Amiga version

My SMS version

My SMS version




Here is a video of this game in action:


goto top


Download

Version 1.0
April 20, 2021 (Tuesday)
Initial release:
  • For 1 or 2 players
  • Playable with standard controllers or Paddle (HPD-200 or equivalent)
  • Tested on a Japanese SMS and NTSC Megadrive (US)
File(s):
avb-1.0.zip (11.9 KB)

This project is also available on GitHub!
To request features, report issues or contribute, you may send me an email or use the GitHub repository:
https://github.com/raphnet/arcadevolleyball

goto top


The porting process

This is a very simple game and so was the porting process. Still, I tought that it could be interesting to write a bit about it.

1. Getting my hands on the source code

First I had to find the source code. The Wikipedia article mentioned that it was included on the cover disk of the Fall 1989 edition of Compute!'s Amiga Resource... Thankfully, this has been archived. I found it here:

http://amr.abime.net/issue_1231_coverdisks


2. A quick glance at the code

The game source code came as a single file, ArcadeVolleyball.c, containing about 1500 lines. I went through it quickly, not trying to understand the game logic in detail, but rather to spot the inputs (keyboard/joystick) and outputs (graphics, sprites, sound effects).

Main takeaways: The background is drawn programmatically (i.e. it's not an image or a tilemap) and the game uses 16x26 hardware sprites. The joystick button state is checked by accessing specific memory addresses, and the sounds effects are samples.


3. A first compile using stubs

Changes to the source code began here. I commented parts of the code that would not apply (loading sound effects from disk for instance) and added a few empty functions (stubs) to replace those that were missing (Amiga system functions for instance), or used macros to make some calls disappear completely. I also defined a few data types, for instance USHORT to mean uint16_t.

No big issues, after a couple of minutes the game could be complied.


4. Reimplementing inputs (keyboard, joystick)

Here is the original joystick code. Obviously reading those memory addresses has no meaning on the SMS!
void joystick(pl)
int pl;
{
 USHORT *joy[2] = {
  {(USHORT *)0xDFF00A},
  {(USHORT *)0xDFF00C}
 };
 USHORT *firereg = (USHORT *)0xBFE0FE;

 keymove[pl].right=0;
 keymove[pl].left=0;
 keymove[pl].up=0;
 if ((*joy[pl^jflag]&0x0002)==0) keymove[pl].left=-2;
 if ((*joy[pl^jflag]&0x0200)==0) keymove[pl].right=2;
 if ((*firereg&(0x40<<(pl^jflag)))==0) keymove[pl].up=1;
}
I rewrote the above to call SMS_getKeyStatus(). I also rewrote another function which was checking for the ESC key to end the game. (I mapped the SMS pause key to this).


5. Dealing with the different screen size

This game is designed for a resolution of 320x200 pixels. But on the SMS, the screen is only 256x192...

At first, I thought of modifying the core of the game to work within the smaller screen, but after looking at the docollisions() function, this did not seem like a very good idea. There are dozens of checks for hardcoded coordinates checking the player, ball, net, borders, and the ball velocity would also have to be changed... Chances are I would break something or alter the feel of the game without knowing it unless I know exactly what I was doing.

Here is a portion of that docollisions() function:
    if (i && tby>81 && tbx>127 && tbx<160) {
  if (tby>91) {
   if (tbx<148)
    bvelx=-abs(bvelx);
   else
    bvelx=abs(bvelx);
  }
  else
   if ((tbx>147 && 161-tbx>=polecol[91-tby]) ||
      (tbx<148 && tbx-133>=polecol[91-tby])) {
    if (bvely>0) {
     dx=tbx-145;
     if (dx<-5) bvelx=-abs(bvelx);
     if (dx>5) bvelx=abs(bvelx);
     bvely=-abs(bvely);
    }
    if (abs(bvelx)>32) bvelx=bvelx>>1;
    if (abs(bvely)>32) bvely=bvely>>1;
   }
Sure, I could understand everything if I really wanted to, but one must chose his battles. Besides, there was an easier way: Scaling the final coordinates.

The game loops checks where the objects are, handles movement, collisions, etc, and then simply instructs the hardware to display the sprites at new coordinates. Those coordinates are meant for a 320x200 screen. To scale them down to fit the SMS 256x192 screen, I do the equivalent of this:
	X_sms = X - X/4 - X/16;
	Y_sms = Y - Y/8;
With this, a point at the lower right screen coordinate (319,199) will correspond to point 219,174, well inside the SMS display. So I apply the above transformation before calling SMS_updateSpritePosition.

Collisions between the ball and the players remain functional, as well as collisions between the ball and the environment, provided that the background elements (net, borders) are drawn at the right places.


6. Extracting the sprites

On the Amiga, the game uses 6 hardware sprites of 16x26 each. Every game element (ball, players) is built from a pair of adjacent sprites, and therefore occupies 32x26. Image data for the sprites is hardcoded. For instance, here is the first part of the data for the first half of player 1:
USHORT chip AVSpriteData[20][56] = {
 /* lmanOneLeft */
 {0x0000,0x0000,
  0x001A,0x000F,
  0x00D1,0x002F,
  0x0103,0x02FF,
  0x04C7,0x033F,
  ...
The above goes on for a total of 20 sprites. There is also a series of calls to function SetRGB4 to setup the color palette. After learning a bit about how Amiga sprites work and having understood the sprite image data format above, as well as which hardware sprite uses which range of colors in the palette, I wrote a small program to output a PNG file (see extsprites.c in the source) from the hardcoded data:



Notice how the ball appears squashed? I think this is due to the non-square pixel size of the original 320x200 resolution.


7. Adaptation des sprites

So the original graphics are basically 32x26. As the SMS has 8x8 pixel sprites, this would require 4 adjacent sprites for each player. The SMS has a limit of 8 sprites per line, so whenever the ball would fall between the two players, some sprites would disappear...

Luckily, as that the SMS screen resolution is lower (256x192 instead of 320x200) the original sprites needs to be scaled down. I ended up using 9 SMS sprites (3x3 layout) for players, and 4 SMS sprites for the ball (2x2 layout). When the ball falls between the players, there are exactly 8 sprites per line. Perfect, no problem!

Here are my final graphics, after a few tweaks to correct the ratio (got get round balls) and many touch-ups, as scaling down pixel art automatically was, as it usually is, quite a disaster.


Here is a zoomed-in version with a grid delimiting the SMS 8x8 pixel tiles.



8. Sound effects

There are 3 sound effects in the Amiga game:
  1. Sound when hitting the ball.
  2. Sound when scoring.
  3. Sound when loosing a serve.
I could have used pcmenc to try to use the original Amiga sounds (samples) on the SMS, but I must admit that I do not like the original sounds so much.... (according to what I heard by looking at the Amiga game on Youtube)

Having grown up with the "inferior" DOS version, I think I have come to expect a shrill whistle-like sound when scoring, and a lower, error-like sound when loosing one's serve. Hitting the ball does not make sound in the DOS version. On Amiga there is strange sound that shifts in pitch according to the speed of the ball, but I'm not a fan of it. Sorry.

Anyway, I just went ahead and made sounds I liked using Deflemask, and used PSGlib to play them back.


9. My personal touch: Paddle support!

According to the Wikipedia page, this game was inspired by a variant of Pong... Playing with a Paddle is therefore highly appropriate! I added the necessary support, so this version of Arcade Volleyball can be played with one or two Sega HPD-200 paddles (or homemade equivalent).

Supported SMS paddle examples

Supported SMS paddle examples




10. Conclusion

There many other small changes and things I had to do, such as removing the Quit option from the menu, adjusting text location, drawing the background, etc, but I won't discuss those in details, it would be too boring.

Overall I think that the game works wells and feels exactly like I remember. I like the result, and I am very happy of having had the chance of making an SMS port for a game I remember playing fondly!

goto top


Any trademarks used on this site are the property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2002-2021, Raphaël Assenat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: April 20, 2021 (Tuesday)

raphnet.net banner

Portage du jeu Arcade Volleyball vers la SMS

twitter@raphnetlabs
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
Contenu: Introduction | Téléchargement | Le processus de portage

Introduction

Arcade Volleyball est un petit jeu de volleyball auquel je me souviens avoir joué assez jeune sous DOS. Selon son article sur Wikipedia, ce jeu qui aurait été un shareware à l'époque est désormais gratuit.

Toujours grâce à Wikipedia, j'ai appris que ce jeu, qui était à l'origine pour le Commodore 64, a également été fait sur Amiga et a été distribué sur la disquette incluse avec l'édition automne 1989 du magasine Compute!'s Amiga Resource sous forme de programme exécutable et de code source.

Code source? Cela a retenu mon attention! Visionner le code source des jeux de mon enfance, j'adore! Et il se trouve en plus que le jeu a été codé en C, mon langage préféré!

Comme j'ai récemment fait quelques projets pour la Sega Master System, justement en C à l'aide de devkitSMS, j'ai immédiatement pensé, pourquoi ne pas essayer de le porter à la Sega Master System? Excellent petit projet pour un week-end!

Version pour DOS

Version pour DOS

Version Amiga

Version Amiga

Ma version pour SMS

Ma version pour SMS




Voici un video de ce jeu en action:


goto top


Téléchargement

Version 1.0
20 avril 2021 (Mardi)
Version initiale:
  • Pour 1 ou 2 joueurs
  • Jouable avec des manettes standard ou des Paddle (HPD-200 ou équivalent)
  • Testé sur une SMS Japonaise et un Megadrive NTSC (US)
Fichier(s):
avb-1.0.zip (11.9 KB)

Ce projet est aussi disponible sur GitHub!
Pour suggérer de nouvelles fonctionnalités, signaler un problème ou contribuer au projet, vous pouvez m'écrire ou utiliser le dépôt GitHub:
https://github.com/raphnet/arcadevolleyball

goto top


Le processus de portage

Ceci est un jeu plutôt simple qui n'était pas bien difficile à porter, mais j'ai pensé qu'il serait peut-être intéressant de parler un peu du processus.

1. Obtenir le code source

La première étape était donc de mettre la main sur ce code source. L'article Wikipedia mentionne le magasine Compute!'s Amiga Resource, édition automne 1989... Heureusement, le contenu du disque l'accompagnant est archivé ici:

http://amr.abime.net/issue_1231_coverdisks


2. Parcourir le code source

Le code du jeu était dans un seul fichier ArcadeVolleyball.c d'environ 1500 lignes. Je l'ai parcouru rapidement sans chercher à comprendre le fonctionnement de la logique même du jeu, mais plutôt pour identifier les entrées (clavier/joystick) et sorties (graphismes, sprites, effets sonores).

Conclusion: L'arrière plan est dessiné programatiquement (ce n'est pas une image ou un tilemap), et le jeu fonctionne avec les sprites hardware, qui font 16x26. L'état des boutons des joysticks est obtenu en accédant directement à certaines adresses mémoires, et les sons sont des échantillons.


3. Première compilation

La modification du code source commence ici. J'ai commenté les parties du code qui n'étaient pas applicables (par exemple, chargement des échantillons sonores depuis des fichiers) et mis en place des fonctions avec signatures identiques aux fonctions systèmes (absentes sur SMS) se faisant appeler, ou utilisé des macros les faire disparaître. J'ai aussi dû définir quelques types (par exemple, USHORT qui corresponds à uint16_t).

Il n'y a pas eu d'obstacles majeurs, après peu de temps le jeu pouvait être compilé.


4. Réimplémentation des entrées (clavier, joystick)

Voici le code de gestion du joystick en jeu. Ces accès directs à des adresses mémoires ne fonctionnent certainement pas sur la SMS!
void joystick(pl)
int pl;
{
 USHORT *joy[2] = {
  {(USHORT *)0xDFF00A},
  {(USHORT *)0xDFF00C}
 };
 USHORT *firereg = (USHORT *)0xBFE0FE;

 keymove[pl].right=0;
 keymove[pl].left=0;
 keymove[pl].up=0;
 if ((*joy[pl^jflag]&0x0002)==0) keymove[pl].left=-2;
 if ((*joy[pl^jflag]&0x0200)==0) keymove[pl].right=2;
 if ((*firereg&(0x40<<(pl^jflag)))==0) keymove[pl].up=1;
}
J'ai refait la fonction ci-dessus en utilisant des appels à SMS_getKeysStatus(). J'ai réimplémenté une autre fonction qui vérifie si la touche ESCAPE a été appuyée par le code nécessaire pour gérer le bouton PAUSE de la console.


5. Gérer la différente taille d'écran

Ce jeu est conçu pour un écran faisant 320x200 pixels de taille. Or, sur la SMS, l'écran ne fait que 256x192... Pendant un moment, j'ai considéré modifier le jeu pour qu'il fonctionne dans cet espace plus restreint, mais la fonction docollisions() qui contient des dizaines de comparaisons entre la position des joueurs, du ballons, du filet m'a découragé. Le risque de briser quelque chose ou de modifier le comportement du jeu sans le vouloir était trop grand.

Voici une partie de la fonction docollisions():
    if (i && tby>81 && tbx>127 && tbx<160) {
  if (tby>91) {
   if (tbx<148)
    bvelx=-abs(bvelx);
   else
    bvelx=abs(bvelx);
  }
  else
   if ((tbx>147 && 161-tbx>=polecol[91-tby]) ||
      (tbx<148 && tbx-133>=polecol[91-tby])) {
    if (bvely>0) {
     dx=tbx-145;
     if (dx<-5) bvelx=-abs(bvelx);
     if (dx>5) bvelx=abs(bvelx);
     bvely=-abs(bvely);
    }
    if (abs(bvelx)>32) bvelx=bvelx>>1;
    if (abs(bvely)>32) bvely=bvely>>1;
   }
J'arriverais certainement à tout comprendre si je le voulais vraiment, mais il faut choisir ses défis, et j'avais une solution plus facile: Changer l'échelle des coordonnées.

En effet, la boucle de jeu fait plusieurs calculs pour déplacer les objets (joueurs et ballon), détecter les collisions entre ceux-ci, etc, pour à la fin, simplement demander au matériel d'afficher chaque sprite à de nouvelles coordonnées.

Les coordonnées calculées sont faites pour un écran 320x200 pixels. Pour les adapter à l'écran 256x192 de la SMS, il est possible d'en modifier l'échelle comme ceci:
	X_sms = X - X/4 - X/16;
	Y_sms = Y - Y/8;
Ainsi, le point du coin inférieur droit de l'écran (319,199) correspondra au point 219,174, lequel est bien à l'intérieur de l'écran sur la SMS. Il suffit donc d'appliquer cette transformation avant d'appeler SMS_updateSpritePosition.

Les collisions joueur/ballon fonctionnent donc comme avant, et les collisions ballon/environnement aussi, à condition d'avoir un arrière plan (filet, murs) dessiné au bon endroit.


6. Extraire les sprites

Le jeu utilise un total de 6 SimpleSprite faisant 16x26. Chaque élément (ballon et joueurs) est formé de 2 sprites, et occupent donc 32x26. Les images pour ces sprites sont harcodées dans le code source. Par exemple, le début des données pour la première moitié du joueur de gauche ressemblent à ceci:
USHORT chip AVSpriteData[20][56] = {
 /* lmanOneLeft */
 {0x0000,0x0000,
  0x001A,0x000F,
  0x00D1,0x002F,
  0x0103,0x02FF,
  0x04C7,0x033F,
  ...
Cela continue pour un total de 20 sprites. Il y avait aussi une série d'appels à la fonction SetRGB4 pour configurer la palette de couleurs. J'ai lu un peu de documentation sur le fonctionnement des sprites sur Amiga et ayant compris le format des données ci-dessus, et quel sprite utilise quelles couleurs dans la palette, j'ai créé un petit programme dans lequel j'ai recopié ces données (voir extsprites.c dans les sources) à l'aide duquel j'ai généré ce PNG:



Les sprites du ballon ne sont pas bien rondes n'est-ce pas? Le ballon semble légèrement écrasé. C'est sans doute à cause qu'en 320x200, les pixels n'étaient pas parfaitement carrés (ils étaient un peu plus hauts que large).


7. Adaptation des sprites

Les sprites originales font 32x26. Sur la SMS, il faudrait donc 4 sprites pour chaque joueur. La limite de sprites par ligne sur la SMS étant de 8, certaines sprites ne seraient pas affichées quand le ballon est entre les deux joueurs...

Mais par chance, l'écran étant plus petit, les sprites doivent également subir une petite réduction de taille! J'ai donc redimensionné les sprites d'origine de sorte que 9 sprites SMS soient utilisées par joueur (disposés en 3x3), et 4 sprites SMS pour le ballon (disposées en 2x2). Dans le pire des cas (ballon entre les joueurs) on a exactement 8 sprites par ligne! C'est parfait!

Voici les graphismes auxquels je suis arrivé après quelques ajustement pour corriger le ratio (afin que les ballons soient ronds) et plusieurs retouches (car quand on redimensionne du pixel art, c'est pratiquement toujours un désastre).


Voici une version zoomée avec une grille délimitant les tuiles 8x8 de la SMS.



8. Le son

Il y a trois sons dans ce jeu:
  1. Son lorsque la tête frappe la ballon.
  2. Son lorsqu'un point est marqué.
  3. Son lorsque l'échange est perdu.
J'aurais peut-être pu utiliser pcmenc afin de reproduire les sons Amiga originaux (des échantillons) sur la SMS, mais j'avouerais que les sons originaux ne me plaisent pas beaucoup... (d'après ce que j'ai entendu en visionnant un vidéo du jeu Amiga sur youtube)

C'est peut-être car ayant grandi avec la version DOS, je suis habitué à un son aigu évoquant un sifflet pour un point marqué et un son plus grave, similaire à un beep d'erreur, lorsqu'un échange est perdu. La version DOS n'a pas de son pour la frappe du ballon, mais sur Amiga il y a un effet sonore qui varie en fonction de la vitesse que je ne trouve pas très naturel. Désolé.

Bref, j'ai simplement fait des sons qui me plaisent à l'aide de Deflemask et PSGlib.


9. Ma touche personnelle: Le Paddle!

Selon l'article Wikipedia, le jeu aurait été inspiré par Pong... alors quoi de plus approprié que de supporter le Paddle? J'ai ajouté le support nécessaire, et il est donc possible de jouer à Arcade Volleyball sur Master System avec un ou deux Paddles Sega HPD-200 (ou un équivalent maison.)

Exemple de Paddles supportés

Exemple de Paddles supportés




10. Conclusion

Il y quelques autres changements mineurs, comme le retrait de l'option pour quitter du menu principal, mais sinon, je trouve que le jeu se comporte très bien, exactement comme je m'en souviens. Je suis content du résultat, et très heureux d'avoir eu la chance de porter un jeu, dont j'ai de bons souvenirs vers la SMS!

goto top


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2021, Raphaël Assenat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 20 avril 2021 (Mardi)