Commodore 64



Repairs first

I won a "Commodore 64 - working" on a popular auction site. There must have been some mistake for the machine I received did not actually work. And I wanted a working C64 right now so returning it and trying to win another one would take time...

Maybe I wanted to put my large format C64 schematic to good use (finally) or perhaps I was looking for a challenge. So I got a partial refund ("Working" auction converted to "As-is - untested") and impatiently began the repair.


1. A small soldering problem

The board and its schematic

The board and its schematic

With the C64 open and the schematic nearby, I did the following: (order approximate)
So, why was the 5v supply not working? Simply due to a bad solder joint at the power connector. I guess the forces involved when connection/disconnecting the power cable are to blame for this.

2. Replacing the RAM chips

Replaced RAM chips

Replaced RAM chips

After fixing the solder joint, I was full of hope and turned the machine on. I quickly confirmed +5V CAN was working, but unfortunately, still no image. A video signal was also being produced, albeit fully black. No text.

This time, I had a look to the CPU BUS and there was activity... I then somehow suspected the RAM might be in cause. In order to swap the chips with new ones (new many years ago), dis-soldering the chips and installing sockets is necessary. There are 8 DRAM chips so it took a while. I did it one chip at a time, testing the machine after each step. In order to quickly find the bad one(s), I did it from the dirtiest (the pins were black) to the cleanest, hoping I would find the bad one sooner. Well no luck, it only worked after the last chip was replaced. To remember: Never judge a DRAM chip by its appearance.

3. Black and white picture?

LCD: ...where are my colors!?

LCD: ...where are my colors!?

So once the RAM chips were replaced, I finally got the welcoming Commodore basic screen telling me it was "READY." on a nice blue background Oh no, what now, no colors! And why is the image slowly "rolling" vertically?

At that point I was using the RF modulator so I decided to try a composite connection instead. But it did not help. The result was a black screen with a "No signal" message. In short: RF = B&W + vsync problem, Composite = No picture.

CRT TV: Ok!

CRT TV: Ok!

Before diving once more in the schematic to hunt for a possible cause, I decided to try on an old CRT TV. Good thing I did for it worked perfectly. So now I knew the C64 was probably working correctly. But I was not going to give up and put up with the annoying 15 kHz pitch CRT TVs emit (I'm not used to it anymore).

In the following section, the battle to convince my LCD monitor to accept and display the C64 composite video signal.

goto top Up


Composite video and and LCD TV

First circuit

First circuit

I inspected the composite video signal with the scope and initially I did not see anything wrong. Being in fact a video signal newbie, I assumed the C64 output was too weak. In fact, I learned later it is not so important. But this was based on the observation that the amplitude was much lower when connected to the monitor (due to an internal 75 ohm termination resistor).

With that in mind, I built a simple test circuit using a THS7314DR to obtain a 6db gain (you get 2V per volt). Now the output signal was strong. But still no picture on the LCD.

Without knowing exactly what could be wrong, I modified the circuit in many way to experiment various theories without success, until in an attempt to "trunc" the video signal from below to try and see if reducing the depth of the sync pulses would help. I did this by connecting the IC ground pin to a potentiometer.

Changing the sync depth did not work. However, by setting the potentiometer very carefully such that the sync pulses are almost completely gone, a nice picture suddenly appeared!
First working signal

First working signal

Resulting picture

Resulting picture




Signal from C64

Signal from C64

Signal from C64

Signal from C64

I concluded that the sync pulses were probably part of the problem so I inspected this aspect of the video signal more closely and discovered a discrepancy in the V-sync sequence. Compare how the portion marked 'm' in figure-2-2 from the ITU-R BT.470-6 standard with the waveforms pictured on the right:


Sketch

Sketch

So it would seem the C64 video signal does not conform exactly to this part of the standard, and I assume this is what confuses my LCD. On the other hand, the CRT monitor does not mind.

My little experiment did yield a picture, but it was not an acceptable solution. The GND voltage had to be tweaked very precisely, and after a few minutes, it had to be fine tuned again (voltage drifting due to heating up, etc...).

The next thing I did was to work on a better solution. I added an LM1881 sync separator to convert the sync pulses to a logic signal directly usable by a micro-controller. I also added an AVR micro-controller programmed to suppress the invalid sync pulse.

At first, the software only suppressed the small (approx 3us) incorrect pulse shown above. And just doing that was enough to get a picture on the LCD. However, I noted some horizontal jitter... After some experimentation, I found that completely suppressing the 'm' period worked well (the picture was stable), but it would probably be better to inject the correct pulses. I may do this eventually, but for now, it's working well!



goto top Up


SD2IEC

I did not buy a disk drive for the computer, but it does not matter. There are now better solutions where the drive is replaced by an SD card!

I considered buying an 1541Ultimate, an SD2IEC or a Chameleon64. I went with an SD2IEC for its availability, and also the price. I bought it here:
http://www.sd2iec.co.uk/id14.html

The SD2IEC has a disadvantage in that it does not support most fastloaders. Many games are available in cracked versions where the fastloader can be disabled, or with the fastloader removed. I'm told many demos are not available in no-fastloader versions so the SD2IEC would not be a good choice for demos.

Fortunately, SD2IEC supports, among a few others, the SJLoad fastloader which really reduces load time. Combined with CBM FileBrowser for navigating directories and disk images, it is really easy to use, and also not too slow. Some typing is required though: LOAD"!",8 and RUN followed by LOAD"FB",8 and then RUN again. ("!" is SJLoad and "FB" is the file browser. Manually-typed filenames are best when they are short).

SD2IEC

SD2IEC

SD2IEC

SD2IEC

CBM FileBrowser

CBM FileBrowser


goto top Up


SNES controller

While I sometimes use my competition pro joystick, I tend to prefer SNES controllers because that's what I grew-up with. Using SNES controllers with on a Commodore 64 is possible with my SNES to Atari/Commodore adapter. In many games, the joystick-up direction is used to jump which is not comfortable on a gamepad. This is why my adapter has mappings (see Style 2 and 3) to map this direction to buttons.


goto top Up


A few games

In conclusion, here are a few pictures of games I recently played.


Armalyte



Bandits



Bubble bobble



Burger time



Dig Dug



Winter Games



The great Giana Sisters




goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: February 1, 2015 (Sunday)

Commodore 64



Les réparations d'abord

J'ai acheté un commodore 64 dit « fonctionnel » via un site d'enchères. Mais il y avait erreur car il ne fonctionnait pas. Moi qui voulait un C64 fonctionnel maintenant. Le retourner et jouer aux enchères à nouveau serait bien trop long...

Peut-être avais-je envie de rendre utile le schéma grand format du C64 que je possédais depuis plusieurs années, ou peut-être avais-je simplement envie d'un défi. J'ai donc commencé à le réparer tout en négociant pour obtenir un remboursement qui ferait qu'à la fin j'aie payé le prix d'un C64 « tel quel ».


1. Un problème de soudure

Le schéma, et le circuit du schéma

Le schéma, et le circuit du schéma

Une fois le schéma déplié et l'ordinateur ouvert, j'ai vérifié les choses à peu près dans cet ordre:
Alors pourquoi l'alimentation 5v ne fonctionnait pas? Simplement à cause d'une soudure fêlée sur une des broche du connecteur d'alimentation. J'imagine que c'est l'œuvre des forces en jeu lors du branchement/débranchement du câble à cet endroit qui sont à blâmer.

2. Remplacement de la mémoire vive

Mémoires remplacées

Mémoires remplacées

Remise sous tension du C64, je suis plein d'espoir. Dommage, toujours pas d'image. Mais cette fois, +5V CAN est bon, même qu'un signal vidéo (noir) est généré.

Cette fois, vérification rapide du BUS du CPU et il semble y avoir de l'activité... J'ai à cet instant soupçonné la mémoire vive et décidé de la remplacer. Cela implique de dessouder les puces d'origine, installer des «sockets», puis d'y insérer des puces neuves (neuves il y longtemps) pour voir si cela résout le problème. Il y a 8 puces, c'est long. Je les remplace donc une par une, en testant à chaque étape, en commençant par les puces qui semblent les moins « propres » (en effet, bien que les soudures semblent bonnes, les parties des pattes exposées à l'air libre sont couvertes d'une sorte d'oxyde noir). Mais malgré cet effort de sélection artificielle, ce n'est qu'après avoir changé la dernière des 8 que le problème est disparu. Quelle chance. Leçon: Ne pas juger une puce par sa couverture.

3. Image noir et blanc?

LCD: ...et mes couleurs!?

LCD: ...et mes couleurs!?

Alors, après la longue opération de remplacement de la mémoire, j'ai enfin obtenu l'accueillant écran de commodore basic qui indique «READY» sur un beau fond bleu Oh non, quoi encore pas de couleurs! Et pourquoi l'image «roule» verticalement?

Voyons si passer d'un branchement via le modulateur RF pour un branchement composite va aider. Cette fois, l'écran LCD affiche du néant, à l'exception de son beau message « no signal »... Bref, en RF, image noir et blanc et instable, en composite, pas d'image.

Télé cathodique: Ok!

Télé cathodique: Ok!

Juste avant de partir à la recherche de nouveaux problèmes sur la carte électronique, j'ai soupçonné ma petite télé LCD, et avec raison. En effet, un test rapide en utilisant une imposante télé à tube cathodique m'a rassuré: Le commodore 64 fonctionnait bien. Mais je n'avais pas l'intention d'endurer le son aigu de 15 kHz que produit ces appareils (J'ai perdu l'habitude).

Dans la section suivante, la bataille pour convaincre mon écran à cristaux liquides d'afficher le signal composite du C64.

goto top Retour en haut


Video composite et Télé LCD

Premier montage

Premier montage

J'ai regardé le signal composite avec l'oscilloscope, et au début je n'ai rien trouvé d'anormal. Étant plutôt débutant en la matière, j'ai pensé que le signal était peut-être trop faible. (En fait, plus tard j'ai cru comprendre que ce n'est pas si important). J'ai remarqué que l'amplitude du signal diminuait lors du branchement à la télé. Normal car il y probablement une résistance de terminaison de 75 ohm à l'intérieur.

J'ai monté un petit circuit basé sur l'IC THS7314DR pour obtenir un gain de 6db. Le signal à la sortie était fort, mais toujours pas d'image sur mon LCD.

J'ai à répétition modifié le circuit pour tester diverses théories sans succès jusqu'à ce que j'en arrive à relier la broche GND de mon IC à la sortie d'un potentiomètre. C'était pour essayer de tronquer le bas du signal et vérifier si en réduisant la profondeur des impulsions de synchronisation j'obtiendrais un résultat intéressant.

Une profondeur réduite ne sembla pas aider. Par contre, en ajustant minutieusement le potentiomètre de manière à les effacer presque complètement, tout à coup une image s'est montrée!
Le signal fonctionnel

Le signal fonctionnel

L'image obtenue

L'image obtenue




Signal du C64

Signal du C64

Signal du C64

Signal du C64

Puisque les impulsions de synchronisation semblaient impliquées, je me suis intéressé de près à cette partie du signal vidéo. J'ai alors remarqué une différence dans la forme des impulsions. Comparez le début de la section 'm' dans la figure 2-2 tirée du standard ITU-R BT.470-6 avec les photos d'ondes à droite:


Croquis

Croquis

Il semblerait donc que le signal vidéo généré par le C64 ne soit pas tout à fait conforme au standard, et j'assume que c'est cela qui déplait à mon écran LCD. En revanche, mon écran cathodique ne s'en soucie guère.

L'expérience qui avait permit l'affichage d'une image n'était pas une solution acceptable car il fallait ajuster le voltage très précisément, et les composantes se réchauffant avec le temps, l'image finissait par disparaitre et un réajustement nécessaire.

La prochaine chose que j'ai faite est d'ajouter un séparateur de synchronisation LM1881 pour extraire les tops de synchro du signal composite. La sortie logique de synchro verticale est acheminée vers un micro contrôleur qui inhibe complètement les impulsions erronés.

J'ai commencé par faire un logiciel qui ne touchait presque pas au signal. La seule chose dont il s'occupait était de supprimer l'impulsion incorrecte au début de 'm' (voir figure 2-2a ci-haut). Et c'est tout ce qu'il fallait pour qu'une image apparaisse sur la télé. Toutefois, il y avait un peu d'instabilité horizontale. Selon mes tests, supprimer l'ensemble des impulsion durant la période 'm' stabilisait l'image. Cela fonctionne bien, mais il serait probablement mieux que le micro contrôleur injecte les bonnes impulsions afin d'obtenir un signal vidéo conforme. À faire...

En attendant, j'utilise le circuit suivant avec mon C64 et apprécie énormément la qualité de l'image.



goto top Retour en haut


SD2IEC

L'ordinateur n'est pas venu avec un lecteur de disquettes, mais qu'importe, il y a plus pratique. En effet, il existe maintenant plusieurs produits pour le remplacer par une simple carte SD!

J'ai considéré l'achat du 1541Ultimate, du SD2IEC et du Chameleon64. J'ai décidé d'acheter le un SD2IEC en raison des disponibilités et du prix. Voici le site duquel je l'ai commandé:
http://www.sd2iec.co.uk/id14.html

Un inconvénient de SD2IEC est qu'il n'est pas compatible avec certains «fastloaders». Mais si beaucoup de jeux sont disponibles en version « cracked » avec une option pour désactiver le fastloader, on m'a dit que pour les démos c'est moins courant. Le SD2IEC ne serait donc pas le meilleur choix pour les amateurs de démos.

Heureusement SD2IEC permet l'utilisation du fastloader SJLoad qui réduit énormément le temps de chargement. En combinaison avec CBM FileBrowser pour une navigation facile des répertoires et des images de disques. Il suffit de taper quelques commandes: LOAD"!",8 et RUN suivi de LOAD"FB",8 puis encore RUN pour installer SJLoad et démarrer le navigateur de fichiers. («!» est SJLoad et «FB» est le navigateur. Comme il faut les saisir manuellement, il est préférable que les noms soient courts)

SD2IEC

SD2IEC

SD2IEC

SD2IEC

CBM FileBrowser

CBM FileBrowser


goto top Retour en haut


Manette SNES

J'utilise parfois mon joystick «Competition Pro», mais j'aime aussi utiliser une manette SNES (car j'ai grandit avec ça) via mon adaptateur SNES à Atari/Commodore. Comme les sauts dans plusieurs jeux s'exécutent en pointant le stick vers le haut, les mappings de style 2 et 3 de mon adaptateurs qui associent le bouton A ou B à cette direction sont bien utiles.


goto top Retour en haut


Des jeux

Pour terminer, voici des photos d'écrans de quelques jeux que j'ai essayé.


Armalyte



Bandits



Bubble bobble



Burger time



Dig Dug



Winter Games



The great Giana Sisters




goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 29 Janvier 2014 (Mercredi)