Optimising an AVR interrupt handler for Genesis controller emulation



Intro

My challenge was to build an SNES controller to Genesis/Megadrive adapter. A standard controller typically uses a multiplexer (74157 for instance) able to react very quickly (ex: within 27 ns) to the selection signal. But I wanted to use my multiuse PCB2 circuit which do not have a multiplexer, but only an Atmega8 clocked at 16 MHz (the maximum). Of course I wired the selection signal to an external interrupt pin. However for various reasons, when the interrupt occurs the corresponding code is not executed instantly. This is were thing become interesting.

On this page I write about the path I followed until the response time became acceptable and the adapter reliable. But first, here's a quick overview of how the Genesis controller works.

The controller uses a DB9-F style connector and runs under 5 volts. There are 6 output signals (Controller to console) and 1 input signal (Console to controller) used to select which set of buttons the output signal must report.

DB9 pinFunction
5+5 volt
8GND
7Selection signal (SELECT)
DB9 pinFunction when SELECT==0Function when SELECT==1
1D-Pad upD-Pad up
2D-Pad downD-Pad down
30D-Pad left
40D-Pad right
6Button AButton B
9Button STARTButton C

For more details, I recommend reading the following: segasix.txt

goto top Up


First C-only implementation

I wired the adapter such that all outputs were on a single AVR port (PORTC) and that this port sole use was to control said outputs. This makes it possible to set all the outputs in a single operation (one write) rather than in 3 operations (read, modify, write).

The global variables S0_PC and S1_PC are updated by the mainloop following each poll of the SNES controller. S0_PC holds the value to present on PORTC when SELECT is low and S1_PC holds the value to present when select is high.

INT0 is configured to trigger on both rising and falling edges. The interrupt handler is therefore executed each time SELECT changes state.

Here is the simple handler code I began with:
ISR(INT0_vect)
{
	if (PIND & (1<<PIND2)) {
		PORTC = S1_PC;
	} else {
		PORTC = S0_PC;
	}   
}

Reaction time: 1.46uS. Too slow, does not work!

A quick avr-objdump -d fichier.elf shows us how this was compiled:
0000005e <__vector_1>:
5e:   1f 92           push    r1
60:   0f 92           push    r0
62:   0f b6           in      r0, 0x3f        ; 63
64:   0f 92           push    r0
66:   11 24           eor     r1, r1
68:   8f 93           push    r24
6a:   82 9b           sbis    0x10, 2 ; 16
6c:   03 c0           rjmp    .+6             ; 0x74 <__vector_1+0x16>
6e:   80 91 b3 00     lds     r24, 0x00B3
72:   02 c0           rjmp    .+4             ; 0x78 <__vector_1+0x1a>
74:   80 91 b4 00     lds     r24, 0x00B4
78:   85 bb           out     0x15, r24       ; 21  
7a:   8f 91           pop     r24
7c:   0f 90           pop     r0
7e:   0f be           out     0x3f, r0        ; 63
80:   0f 90           pop     r0
82:   1f 90           pop     r1
84:   18 95           reti

How inefficient! The write to PORTC (out 0x15) is done way to late! Obviously the compiler cannot guess the need for updating PORTC as soon as possible. It also does not worry much about using registers without a reason, which means they must saved and restored with push/pop. I'm not very impressed by the useless initialisation of r1 (the __zero_reg__) to zero when it is not used at all. But since the eor instruction is used, SREG (0x3f) is changed and must therefore be saved too...

Note that this was compiled with the -Os option. -O3 was not better.

goto top Up


"Naked" interrupt with inline assembler

Here is a new interrupt handler with the ISR_NAKED flags which prevents the compiler from generating code at the beginning and end of the handler. This is now our responsability. Very good since we can write a very simple handler.
ISR(INT0_vect, ISR_NAKED)
{
	asm volatile(
		"   push r16                    \n"
		"   lds r16, S1_PC              \n"
		"   sbis 0x10, 2    ; PIND2     \n"
		"   lds r16, S0_PC              \n"
		"   out 0x15, r16   ; PORTC     \n"
		"   pop r16                     \n"
		"   reti                        \n"
	::);
}

With this new version, reaction time fell to 960 ns! The adapter began to work, but not reliably. I.e., when the jump button was held, the character would repeatedly jump. It was likely the current timing was overlapping with the acceptability threashold. I had to do better.

The push and lds instructions use two cycles each. If the full firmware was in assembler, it would be easy to select two registers to hold the S0_PC and S1_PC variables, making it possible to access them using only one cycle with the mov instruction. Moreover, preserving r16 could be done away with by reserving a third register.

But I want to keep as much C code as possible. It might be tempting to declare a global register variable (eg: register unsigned char value asm("r3")) but it would then be necessary to make sure libraries or other sources in the same project don't touch the reserved registers. The gcc option -ffixed-3 would be useful for this. But I did not want this project to depend on a specially compiled avr-libc, nor did I want to manually make sure the registers are not used by the library by disassembling. (Even if it did work now, you never know with future versions). So I decided not to take this approach.

goto top Up


Taking advantage of unused peripheral registers

That said, there is another way to access to access values in a single cycle. Unused peripheral registers can be used if you make sure there won't be side effects. But this depends on what peripheral your project uses.

I decided to use UBRRL (baud rade low byte) to store the S0_PC value, and OCR2 (output compare 2) to store S1_PC. Also, r16 is saved in EEDR (eeprom data register). Writing and reading from those peripheral registers do not have any effect on the program. Now this is a technique I'd be impressed to see a compiler use…

Well this gives us the following handler:
ISR(INT0_vect, ISR_NAKED)
{
	asm volatile(
	"   out 0x1D, r16 ; EEDR        \n"
	"   in r16, 0x23    ; OCR2      \n"
	"   sbis 0x10, 2    ; PIND2     \n"
	"   in r16, 0x09    ; UBRLL     \n"
	"   out 0x15, r16   ; PORTC     \n"
	"   in r16, 0x1D    ; EEDR      \n"
	"   reti                        \n"
	::);
}

Since a few cycles were saved, the reaction time is now around 800 ns. And the adapter seems to be reliable. But I think we are still close to the unreliability threshold. No problem since it is still possible to improve!

goto top Up


Lowering interrupt latency by placing code directly in the vector

By default, the interrupt vector table is at flash address 0x0000. When an interrupt handler is implemented, a rjmp instruction is placed at the corresponding offet to jump to the actual interrupt handler code. Here, __vector_1 is the address of our interrupt handler.
00000000 <__vectors>:
0:   12 c0           rjmp    .+36            ; 0x26 <__ctors_end>
2:   2d c0           rjmp    .+90            ; 0x5e <__vector_1>
4:   2b c0           rjmp    .+86            ; 0x5c <__bad_interrupt>
....

This rjmp instruction is wasting 2 cycles before our code is executed. Since I know INT0 is the only interrupt this project uses, I also know I can place the handler code directly in the vector at address 0x0002.

The atmega8 supports moving the interrupt vector from address 0x0000 to the start of the bootloader section. The effective address depends on how the "fuses" are configured. In my case, the address is 0x1800 (Word address 0xC00).

I created a .boot section by adding -Wl,--section-start=.boot=0x1800 when linking. The interrupt handler "function" that I will place there will therefore have to be marked with __attribute__((section(".boot"))).

This same "function" will required the "naked" attribute to make sure the compiler does not place code around the inline assembler block. The assembler code is the same as before, except for the two nop instructions used to skip the first vector (reset). Note that defining .boot one word later would make the two nop instructions unnecessary. But I prefer it that way.

void fastint(void) __attribute__((naked)) __attribute__((section(".boot")));

void fastint(void)
{
	asm volatile(
		"   nop\nnop\n                  \n" // VECTOR 1 : RESET
		"   out 0x1D, r16 ; EEDR        \n"
		"   in r16, 0x23    ; OCR2      \n"
		"   sbis 0x10, 2    ; PIND2     \n"
		"   in r16, 0x09    ; UBRLL     \n"
		"   out 0x15, r16   ; PORTC     \n"
		"   in r16, 0x1D    ; EEDR      \n"
		"   reti                        \n"
	::);
}

Reaction time: Around 760nS. Not bad!

goto top Up


Preparing in advance for the next transition

Updating PORTC within even less time is possible if we already know the state of the SELECT line. And we do! The interrupt handler is executed each time the SELECT line changes. If we sample the SELECT line while the interrupt is executing, a value of 0 means the next transition is to 1, and vis versa. I did not realize this before this step! I only did when I began thinking of the 6 button implementation that would follow..

I also began exploiting ICR1L to store the value to put on PORTC on the next transition:
	asm volatile(
	"   nop\nnop\n                  \n" // VECTOR 1 : RESET
	"   out 0x1D, r16 ; EEDR        \n" 

	"   in r16, 0x26    ; ICR1L     \n" 
	"   out 0x15, r16   ; PORTC     \n"
	
	// Prepare ICR1L for the next transition
	"   in r16, 0x09    ; UBRLL     \n"
	"   sbis 0x10, 2    ; PIND2     \n"
	"   in r16, 0x23    ; OCR2      \n"
	"   out 0x26, r16   ; ICR1L     \n"

	"   in r16, 0x1D    ; EEDR      \n"
	"   reti                        \n"
	::);


I was looking at the source code above and wondered what I could do about the cycle wasted by saving r16... Then I realized I could use r1, which is also known as __zero_reg__, a register kept at 0 by gcc.

Because this interrupt handler is executed with other interrupts disabled, __zero_reg__ can be freely used, but its value of 0 must be restored before returning. No need to save it first since it should have been zero. However, we must be careful. The clr instruction has an effect on flags, so SREG would need to be saved.. Also, loading a 0 with ldi is not possible because this instruction requires a register from r16 and above. (__zero_reg__ is r1). So I used a lds to load __zero_reg__ with a zero from memory which has no effect on the flags.

uint8_t zero = 0;

asm volatile(
	"   nop\nnop\n                  \n" // VECTOR 1 : RESET

	"   in __zero_reg__, 0x26   ; ICR1L     \n" 
	"   out 0x15, __zero_reg__  ; PORTC     \n"

	// Now, let's prepare for the next transition.

	"   in __zero_reg__, 0x09   ; UBRLL     \n"
	"   sbis 0x10, 2    ; PIND2     \n"
	"   in __zero_reg__, 0x23   ; OCR2      \n"
	"   out 0x26, __zero_reg__  ; ICR1L     \n"

	"   lds __zero_reg__, zero      \n"
	"   reti                     	\n"
	::);

Reaction time: From 490ns to 630ns.
The graphic on the left represents the final timing. The bottom trace is the SELECT line. The top trace falls to 0 to transmit the state of a depressed START button within an average time of 560ns. Note that one CPU cycle is 62.5ns. The jitter is of approximately 3 cycles and depends one the moment the falling edge occurs in relation with the CPU clock phase, but also on the intruction currently executed by the main loop (Multi-cycle instructions must complete before the interrupt handler runs).

It would stil be possible to save one cycle by reserving a register to stock the next PORTC value. The initial in instructions would not be needed then. But at this point, the performance seems high enough.

goto top Up


The rest and conclusion

From this point, I made many changes to have the adapter appear as a 6 button controller to the Genesis console. The code has been changed to put different values on PORTC according to a sequence of SELECT pulses. Conditional access to OCR2 and UBRRL was therefore replaced by memory access. But thanks to the optimisations presented here, reaction time has not increased at all.

If you'd like to see the final code, you may download the project sources through the projet page.

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: September 22, 2013 (Sunday)

raphnet.net banner

Optimisation d'une routine d'interruption AVR pour l'émulation d'une manette Genesis

twitter@raphnetlabs
Contenu: Intro | Première implémentation en C | Interruption «Naked» avec assembleur en ligne | Exploitation des registres de périphériques | Interruption plus rapide (code directement dans le vecteur) | Préparation de la prochaine transition à l'avance | Suite et conclusion

Intro

Mon défi était de faire un adaptateur manettes SNES à console Genesis/Megadrive. Une manette standard à 3 boutons utilise normalement un multiplexeur (74157 par exemple) capable de répondre très rapidement (ex: 27 nanoseconde) au signal de sélection. Voulant utiliser mon circuit multiuse PCB2 avec un Atmega8 cadencé à 16 MHz (le maximum), j'ai naturellement câblé le signal de sélection à une broche capable de générer une interruption. Quand l'interruption survient, l'exécution du code correspondant n'est pas instantané pour plusieurs raisons, et c'est là que ça devient intéressant.

Je retrace ici le chemin parcouru pour arriver à un temps de réponse assez bas pour un fonctionnement fiable. Pour commencer, voici une explication rapide du fonctionnement de la manette à 3 boutons.

Le connecteur sur le câble d'une manette Genesis est de style DB9-F. L'alimentation est sous 5 volts. Il y a 6 signaux de sortie (manette vers console) et un d'entrée (console vers manette) qui permet de sélectionner quel jeu de boutons est représenté par les 6 signaux de sortie.

DB9 pinFonction
5+5 volt
8GND
7Signal de sélection (SELECT)
DB9 pinFonction quand SELECT=0Fonction quand SELECT=1
1D-Pad hautD-Pad haut
2D-Pad basD-Pad bas
30D-Pad gauche
40D-Pad droite
6Bouton ABouton B
9Bouton STARTBouton C

Pour plus d'information, je vous conseille cette lecture: segasix.txt

goto top Retour en haut


Première implémentation en C

Lors du câblage, j'ai fait en sorte que l'ensemble des signaux en sortie vers la console soient regroupés sur un seul port, et aussi à ce que ce même port ne serve qu'à ceux-ci. Cela permet de changer tout le groupe de signaux d'un seul coup par assignation directe plutôt qu'avec trois opérations (lecture, modification, écriture.).

Les variables globales S0_PC et S1_PC sont mises à jour par la boucle principale après chaque lecture de la manette SNES. S0_PC contient la valeur que devra prendre les signaux du PORTC lorsque le signal de sélection sera à 0, et naturellement, S1_PC contient la valeur à présenter quand le signal de sélection sera à 1.

INT0 est configuré pour les fronts montant et descendants. La routine sera donc exécutée à chaque changement.

Voici la routine d'interruption minimale avec laquelle j'ai commencé:
ISR(INT0_vect)
{
	if (PIND & (1<<PIND2)) {
		PORTC = S1_PC;
	} else {
		PORTC = S0_PC;
	}   
}

Temps de réaction: 1.46uS. Beaucoup trop lent, ça ne fonctionne pas!

avr-objdump -d fichier.elf pour déassembler et voir ce que le compilateur a fait:
0000005e <__vector_1>:
5e:   1f 92           push    r1
60:   0f 92           push    r0
62:   0f b6           in      r0, 0x3f        ; 63
64:   0f 92           push    r0
66:   11 24           eor     r1, r1
68:   8f 93           push    r24
6a:   82 9b           sbis    0x10, 2 ; 16
6c:   03 c0           rjmp    .+6             ; 0x74 <__vector_1+0x16>
6e:   80 91 b3 00     lds     r24, 0x00B3
72:   02 c0           rjmp    .+4             ; 0x78 <__vector_1+0x1a>
74:   80 91 b4 00     lds     r24, 0x00B4
78:   85 bb           out     0x15, r24       ; 21  
7a:   8f 91           pop     r24
7c:   0f 90           pop     r0
7e:   0f be           out     0x3f, r0        ; 63
80:   0f 90           pop     r0
82:   1f 90           pop     r1
84:   18 95           reti

Très inefficace! L'écriture de PORTC (out 0x15) est faite bien tard! Le compilateur ne comprends pas que nous voulons faire cette écriture dès que possible. Il ne se gêne pas pour utiliser beaucoup de registres, ce qu'il l'oblige donc à perdre du temps pour les pousser sur la pile. De plus, r1 est mis à zéro (eor r1,r1) sans raison, ce qui a un effet sur SREG (0x3F) qui doit alors aussi être sauvegardé..
Notez que j'ai compilé avec l'option -Os, mais que -O3 ne donnait pas de meilleurs résultats.

goto top Retour en haut


Interruption «Naked» avec assembleur en ligne

Voici une nouvelle routine d'interruption marquée «NAKED», ce qui ordonne au compilateur de ne pas générer de code avant et après. Cela devient notre responsabilité. C'est très bien car nous pouvons prendre une approche beaucoup plus minimale.
ISR(INT0_vect, ISR_NAKED)
{
	asm volatile(
		"   push r16                    \n"
		"   lds r16, S1_PC              \n"
		"   sbis 0x10, 2    ; PIND2     \n"
		"   lds r16, S0_PC              \n"
		"   out 0x15, r16   ; PORTC     \n"
		"   pop r16                     \n"
		"   reti                        \n"
	::);
}

Avec cette version, le temps de réponse est tombé à 960 nanosecondes! L'adaptateur a commencé à fonctionner, mais pas de manière fiable. Lorsque je maintenais le bouton pour sauter enfoncé, le personnage sautait à répétition. C'est donc que le temps de réponse de l'adaptateur chevauchait la limite acceptable. Il fallait donc réduire le temps de réponse davantage.

Les instructions push et lds s'exécutent en deux cycles chacunes. Si l'ensemble du code était en assembleur, il serait possible de réserver d'utiliser des registres pour les variables S0_PC et S1_PC, ce qui permettrait d'y accéder en un seul cycle via l'instruction mov. De plus, la sauvegarde de r16 pourrait être évitée en lui réservant un registre qui ne serait pas utilisé nulle part ailleurs.

Le reste du code est, et de préférence devrait rester en C. Bien qu'il soit tentant de déclarer une variable de registre globale (par exemple, avec la sytaxe suivante: register unsigned char value asm("r3")), il faut faire attention de compiler les autres fichiers du même projet et aussi s'assurer que les librairies, par exemple avr-libc, soient également compilées de manière à ne pas toucher ce registre, via l'option gcc -ffixed-3 par exemple. Pour ces raisons, j'ai décidé de ne pas adopter cette approche.


goto top Retour en haut


Exploitation des registres de périphériques

Cela dit, il est quand même possible d'accéder aux variables en un seul cycle en utilisant des registres de périphériques inutilisés en s'assurant qu'il n'y aura pas d'effets secondaires problématiques.

J'ai donc stocké S0_PC dans UBRRL (baud rate low byte), S1_PC dans OCR2 (output compare 2), et R16 sera sauvegardé dans EEDR (eeprom data register). Modifier ces registres n'a pas d'effet sur le reste du programme. Voici une technique qu'il m'impressionnerait beaucoup de voir un compilateur employer…

Cela donne ceci:
ISR(INT0_vect, ISR_NAKED)
{
	asm volatile(
	"   out 0x1D, r16 ; EEDR        \n"
	"   in r16, 0x23    ; OCR2      \n"
	"   sbis 0x10, 2    ; PIND2     \n"
	"   in r16, 0x09    ; UBRLL     \n"
	"   out 0x15, r16   ; PORTC     \n"
	"   in r16, 0x1D    ; EEDR      \n"
	"   reti                        \n"
	::);
}

Quelques cycles de sauvés et le temps de réponse tourne autour de 800 nanosecondes. Et l'adaptateur semble fiable. Mais nous sommes encore trop près du seuil de fiabilité à mon goût. Parfait car il est possible de faire mieux!

goto top Retour en haut


Interruption plus rapide (code directement dans le vecteur)

La table de vecteur est par défaut à l'adresse 0x0000 de la flash. Lorsqu'une routine d'interruption est implémentée, une instruction rjmp est mise en place pour aller l'exécuter: (__vecteur_1 correspond ici à la routine pour INT0)
00000000 <__vectors>:
0:   12 c0           rjmp    .+36            ; 0x26 <__ctors_end>
2:   2d c0           rjmp    .+90            ; 0x5e <__vector_1>
4:   2b c0           rjmp    .+86            ; 0x5c <__bad_interrupt>
....

Nous perdons donc le temps d'une instruction rjmp (2 cycles) avant que notre code soit exécuté. Mais comme je sais que INT0 est la seule interruption dont j'ai besoin, je sais également que je peux mettre le code de l'interruption directement à l'adresse 0x0002 pour qu'elle s'exécute plus tôt!

Il est possible de déplacer le vecteur d'interruption de l'adresse 0x0000 à celle de la section bootloader. L'adresse exacte dépends de la configuration des « fuses ». Dans mon cas, l'adresse est 0x1800 (mot 0xc00).

J'ai donc créé une section .boot en ajoutant -Wl,--section-start=.boot=0x1800 lors du linkage. La fonction destinée à y être stockée est donc marquée avec __attribute__((section(".boot"))).

Cette même fonction porte l'attribut « naked » et contient le même code en assembleur que dans la section précédente. La seule différence est que l'emplacement mémoire du premier vecteur (reset) doit être sauté. J'ai utilisé une paire d'instructions nop. J'aurais aussi pu faire commencer la section .boot deux octets plus loin.

void fastint(void) __attribute__((naked)) __attribute__((section(".boot")));

void fastint(void)
{
	asm volatile(
		"   nop\nnop\n                  \n" // VECTOR 1 : RESET
		"   out 0x1D, r16 ; EEDR        \n"
		"   in r16, 0x23    ; OCR2      \n"
		"   sbis 0x10, 2    ; PIND2     \n"
		"   in r16, 0x09    ; UBRLL     \n"
		"   out 0x15, r16   ; PORTC     \n"
		"   in r16, 0x1D    ; EEDR      \n"
		"   reti                        \n"
	::);
}

Temps de réaction: Autour de 760nS. Pas mal!

goto top Retour en haut


Préparation de la prochaine transition à l'avance

Changer l'état de PORTC encore plus rapidement est possible en préparant toujours la prochaine valeur à l'avance. L'interruption s'exécute à chaque changement d'état. Si le test de l'état de PIND2 nous indique un niveau bas, la prochaine exécution de l'interruption sera forcément avec un niveau haut! Je n'ai pensé à cette optimisation qu'à cette étape-ci! C'est en réflichissant à l'implémentation 6 boutons que je planifiais faire par la suite que l'idée m'est venue..

J'ai aussi commencé à abuser du registre ICR1L pour stocker la valeur à présenter sur PORTC au prochain cycle:
	asm volatile(
	"   nop\nnop\n                  \n" // VECTOR 1 : RESET
	"   out 0x1D, r16 ; EEDR        \n" 

	"   in r16, 0x26    ; ICR1L     \n" 
	"   out 0x15, r16   ; PORTC     \n"
	
	// Preparation de ICR1L pour la prochaine transition
	"   in r16, 0x09    ; UBRLL     \n"
	"   sbis 0x10, 2    ; PIND2     \n"
	"   in r16, 0x23    ; OCR2      \n"
	"   out 0x26, r16   ; ICR1L     \n"

	"   in r16, 0x1D    ; EEDR      \n"
	"   reti                        \n"
	::);


Dans le code ci-dessus, je trouvais dommage de devoir conserver r16, bien que l'instruction out ne s'éxécute qu'en un cycle... J'ai alors eu l'idée d'utiliser le registre r1, aussi connu en tant que __zero_reg__, un registre que gcc garde toujours à zéro.

Puisqu'il s'agit d'une routine d'interruption s'exécutant sans que d'autres interruptions puissent survenir, le __zero_reg__ peut être modifié sans problèmes, pourvu que sa valeur de zéro soit restaurée à la fin. Comme nous en connaissons la valeur, nul besoin d'en faire une copie pour la restaurer! Il faut toutefois faire attention. L'instruction clr a un effet sur les flags, alors il faudrait sauvegarder SREG.. Il n'est pas non plus possible d'utiliser ldi pour charger une valeur 0 directement car ldi demande un registre >16 (__zero_reg__ est r1). J'utilise donc lds pour mettre __zero_reg__ à zéro à partir de la mémoire.
uint8_t zero = 0;

asm volatile(
	"   nop\nnop\n                  \n" // VECTOR 1 : RESET

	"   in __zero_reg__, 0x26   ; ICR1L     \n" 
	"   out 0x15, __zero_reg__  ; PORTC     \n"

	// Now, let's prepare for the next transition.

	"   in __zero_reg__, 0x09   ; UBRLL     \n"
	"   sbis 0x10, 2    ; PIND2     \n"
	"   in __zero_reg__, 0x23   ; OCR2      \n"
	"   out 0x26, __zero_reg__  ; ICR1L     \n"

	"   lds __zero_reg__, zero      \n"
	"   reti                     	\n"
	::);

Temps de réaction: de 490ns à 630ns. Dans le graphique ci-contre, la trace du bas représente le signal SELECT. La trace du haut tombe à zéro pour transmettre l'état du bouton START appuyé après un temps moyen de 560ns. Notez qu'un cycle du CPU correspond à 62.5ns. L'instabilité correspond donc environ à 3 cycles et dépends de la phase de l'horloge et du front sur SELECT, mais aussi de l'instruction présentement en cours d'exécution dans la boucle principale. (Les instructions sous plusieurs cycles doivent finir avant que la routine d'interruption s'exécute).

Il demeurerait toutefois possible de sauver encore un cycle en réservant un registre (r0 à r31) qui servirait à stocker la valeur suivante. L'instruction in initiale pourrait simplement être retirée. Mais à ce point-ci, la performance me semble assez bonne pour en rester là.

goto top Retour en haut


Suite et conclusion

À partir de ce point, afin d'apparaître en tant que manette Genesis à 6 boutons aux yeux de la console, le code a été modifié pour répondre différentes valeurs à une série d'impulsion sur SELECT. L'accès conditionel à OCR2 et UBRRL pour connaître la prochaine valeur à présenter a donc été remplacé par des accès mémoire. Mais grâce aux optimisations présentées ici, le temps de réponse n'a pas augmenté.

Si vous désirez jeter un œil au code final, je vous invite à le télécharger via la page du projet.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2018, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 27 novembre 2015 (Vendredi)