PPUSBCOMM: USB to Parallel port file transfer



Project overview

PPUSBComm is a tool to copy files from a Linux system with USB ports to a system running DOS with a parallel port.

Features:

goto top Up


Assembly

There are only 8 wires to install between the parallel port and the Multiuse PCB-X circuit, as per the table below. If you have a Tandy 1000 with a 34 pin card edge connector instead of the usual DB26, the pinout is different, hence the Tandy 1000 specific column.

Parallel port signalDB25Tandy 1000Multiuse PCB-XComments
Busy11213 PPUSBCOMM to parallel port
Ack10192 PPUSBCOMM to parallel port
Paper out/end12231 PPUSBCOMM to parallel port
Error15280 PPUSBCOMM to parallel port
Data 023SCK (PB1) Parallel port to PPUSBCOMM
Data 135MOSI (PB2) Parallel port to PPUSBCOMM
Data 247MISO (PB3) Parallel port to PPUSBCOMM
GND18,192,4GNDCommon
Here are a few pictures of my adapter:
PPUSBCOMM

PPUSBCOMM

PPUSBCOMM

PPUSBCOMM

PPUSBCOMM

PPUSBCOMM


goto top Up


Downloads

Here are downloads for this project:
File(s)DateDescription
ppusbcomm-1.1.0.tar.gz (41 KB)
ppusbcomm-1.1.0.hex (15.5 KB)
March 19, 2016 (Saturday) Added rxdisk.com, to receive a disk image, writing it directly to a target floppy.
ppusbcomm-1.0.0.tar.gz (37.6 KB)
ppusbcomm-1.0.0.hex (15.5 KB)
December 26, 2015 (Saturday) First version
Legend: Programming: If workng under Linux from the sources, just do 'make flash'. Make sure the command-line tool under 'tools/' has been compiled. The script uses it to send a command to enter bootloader mode.

Otherwise, the manual steps are:
# To enter bootloader mode (not required for a new board that was never programmed)
$ tools/ppusbcomm -f --bootloader

# Flashing a (new) firmware with dfu-programmer
$ dfu-programmer atmega32u2 erase                   # Step 1: Erase the current firmware
$ dfu-programmer atmega32u2 flash ppusbcomm.hex     # Step 2: Flash the new firmware
$ dfu-programmer atmega32u2 start                   # Step 3: Start the new firmware

goto top Up


Use (file transfer)

Receiving hello.com

Receiving hello.com

To transfer files, simply start rxfiles.com on the target side (DOS), and on the host side, execute ppusbcomm:
# Uploading a file
$ ./ppusbcomm -f --upload ../dostools/hello.com

On the DOS side, rxfiles.com keeps running as long as ESC is not pressed and will receive and store any file(s) received. To transfer more than one file ,the above command can simple be reapeated. Otherwise, when there are too many files to transfer, one can easily make a loop like so:
# Transfer all files from a directory
$ for i in `find /path/to/the/source/folder -type f` ; do ./ppusbcomm -f --upload $i ; done

goto top Up


Use (disk image transfer)

Transfer in progress

Transfer in progress

In version 1.1, I added a disk image transfer tool, rxdisk.com. On the target side, rxdisk.com writes data received from the host directly to consecutive floppy disk sectors, just like rawrite does when creating a Linux boot disk. One could think that I could have simply transferred the disk image using rxfiles to then use rawrite to create the target floppy, but this is not always possible:
  1. On a computer without a hard drive, the floppy image file would need to be stored in a floppy. If the image is full size (all sectors) then it cannot be stocked as a file in a floppy of the same size.
  2. If the target computer only has one floppy drive, since rawrite reads the file while writing, the source data would not be available once the destination floppy is inserted in the drive.
  3. Patching rawrite to read the complete image in memory before beginning to write to the floppy is not possible on machines without sufficient memory (eg: A Tandy 1000 EX with only 256Kb of memory cannot hold a 360Kb floppy disk image in memory!). And even if done in multiple passes of disk swapping (like diskcopy does) problem #1 above still stands. (Unless also split the image file over two disks...)
As the 3 complications above apply to my Tandy 1000 setup, I concluded that writing directly to the drive was the best solution.

In order to transfer a disk image, one simply starts rxdisk.com on the target side (DOS). Rxdisk will ask for the target floppy and wait until you press enter. The target floppy will then be examined to detect how many sectors per track there are and will wait for the next step where the host side software, ppusbcomm, must be started:
# Floppy disk transfer
$ ./ppusbcomm -f --disk testing/tandycat.dsk

Ready

Ready

Writing sectors

Writing sectors

Success!

Success!


The Alley Cat game used here is a modified version (Available since December 2015) which enables the 3 voice title music and diversified color palette offered by the game when run on PCjr, but on Tandy systems. I converted the .EXE to to a bootable disk image using my booterify tool (soon to be published).

For all there is to know to convert a normal Alley Cat copy to "Tandy Cat", have a look to this vogons.org thread:

Tandy sound and video patch for Alley Cat


rxdisk.com is also a convenient way to recreate the Tandy 1000 system disks distributed here:
http://www.oldskool.org/guides/tvdog/system.html

goto top Up


Bootstrap

How do you install rxfiles.com on the target without using rxfiles.com to receive it? Besides using a floppy (not convenient when you only have one reader) it is probably possible to use the DOS DEBUG tool to type all the 721 bytes one by one, but I did not do that.

Instead, I wrote a minimal implementation of rxfiles in BASIC. It is minimal in that it does not stop the transfer automatically (CTRL+BREAK must be used) and does not close the file (Use CLOSE#1 before quitting the BASIC interpreter). Also, the target filename must be manually entered since the header block containing the filename and size is not supported. Speaking of which, the ppusbcomm --noheader option must be specified to omit sending the header block, otherwise it will be written to the target file!

# Sending a file without header (for bootstrapping)
$ ./ppusbcomm -f --upload ../dostools/hello.com --noheader

1 CLS 10 INPUT "Destination filename: ",FILENAME$ 12 OPEN FILENAME$ FOR OUTPUT AS #1 100 PRINT "Waiting for block" 110 OUT &H378,0 115 GOSUB 1000 120 IF D = 0 THEN GOTO 132 125 PRINT "Block available" 126 GOTO 200 132 OUT &H378,1 133 GOTO 110 200 PRINT "Readying block" 205 FOR I = 0 TO 31 207 OUT &H378,2 208 GOSUB 1000 209 BYTE = D * 16 ' shift left 4 210 OUT &H378,3 211 GOSUB 1000 212 BYTE = BYTE + D 216 PRINT #1,CHR$(BYTE); 220 NEXT I 225 PRINT "block done" 230 GOTO 100 1000 A = INP(&H379) 1001 D = ((A AND 8)\8) + ((A AND &HE0)\16) 1002 RETURN
Notes:

goto top Up


Protocol

Parallel port inputs Busy, Ack, Paper out and Error are assigned bit values 3,2,1 and 0. In the other direction, data bits 0 to 2 are used.

Communication takes place 32 byte blocks (64 nibbles) like this:


Important: The handshake is not complete. An important assomption here is that the PPUSBComm board will always answer fast enough to state changes on the data lines. On a target system faster than my Tandy 1000 EX (8088 CPU at 7.16MHz) it may be necessary to add delays in rxfiles.com.

goto top Up


The Tandy 1000 EX parallel port

The Tandy 1000 EX parallel port does not use the standard DB25. Instead, it has a 34 pin card-edge as found on 5 1/4" floppy disk drives. The pinout is also different, but thanks to the Tandy 1000-series FAQ this is easy to figure out.

Since there are 34 contacts, a floppy cable can be used. But the trick is in finding a cable without the small plastic key that's usually there to prevent connecting the cable in reverse:
The back of the Tandy 1000 EX

The back of the Tandy 1000 EX

Usable connector (no key)

Usable connector (no key)

Unusable connector (key)

Unusable connector (key)

Connected

Connected


Of course, buying a new connector or modifying one are other possibilities.

To make sure I had the correct orientation and understood the wire numbering correctly, I did a quick test by wiring a LED to Data 0. With a short BASIC program I made it blink. This also confirmed the parallel port address of 0x378 was correct.
Test avec une DEL

Test avec une DEL

10 OUT &H378, 0 11 PRINT "OFF" 15 GOSUB 100 20 OUT &H378, 255 21 PRINT "ON" 30 GOSUB 100 40 GOTO 10 100 FOR I = 0 TO 255 ' Delay 101 NEXT I 102 RETURN

goto top Up


Why this project?

I own a Tandy 1000 EX computer and it has a double density (360K) floppy disk drive. To write disks that will be readable in a Double density drive, one has to also use a Double density drive. A high density drive won't work.

Now this is a problem since I only have one DD drive. All my other drivers are High density. So to try a new game, I must remove the drive from the Tandy 1000, install it in another PC, copy the files, and move the drive again. Very cumbersome.

I thought of a few solutions that I decided not to attempt: The only port that seemed easy to use was the parallel port. I remember a software named Laplink that could transfer files between to PCs connected through their parallel port using a special cable. A perfect solution?

There were a few problems: The above is why I decided to develop my own transfer system which has the following characteristics:

goto top Up


Success!

Using this system, transferring files is easy and I can enjoy replaying old games:
Pipes

Pipes

Montezuma's revenge

Montezuma's revenge

Block out

Block out

Oh no, 256K is not enough :(

Oh no, 256K is not enough :(


Note: The pictures shows a Tandy 1000 EX connected to a VGA monitor. I'm using the CGA to VGA converter I built.

goto top Up


References

goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: March 19, 2016 (Saturday)

PPUSBCOMM: Transfert de fichiers USB à Port Parallèle



Résumé du projet

PPUSBComm est un outil permettant de copier des fichiers depuis un système Linux doté d'un port USB vers un système tournant sous DOS via son port parallèle.

Caractéristiques:

goto top Retour en haut


Montage

Il n'y a que 8 fils à souder entre le port parallèle et le circuit multiuse PCB-X, tel que documenté dans le tableau ci-dessous. S'il s'agit d'un système Tandy 1000 avec un port de type «card edge» à 34 contacts plutôt qu'un DB25 standard, le «pinout» est un peu différent, d'où la colonne intitulée Tandy 1000.

Signal port parallèleDB25Tandy 1000Multiuse PCB-XCommentaires
Busy11213 PPUSBCOMM vers port parallèle
Ack10192 PPUSBCOMM vers port parallèle
Paper out/end12231 PPUSBCOMM vers port parallèle
Error15280 PPUSBCOMM vers port parallèle
Data 023SCK (PB1) Port parallèle vers PPUSBCOMM
Data 135MOSI (PB2) Port parallèle vers PPUSBCOMM
Data 247MISO (PB3) Port parallèle vers PPUSBCOMM
GND18,192,4GNDCommun
Voici quelques photos de mon montage:
Montage PPUSBCOMM

Montage PPUSBCOMM

Montage PPUSBCOMM

Montage PPUSBCOMM

Montage PPUSBCOMM

Montage PPUSBCOMM


goto top Retour en haut


Téléchargement

Voici les téléchargements pour ce projet:
Fichier(s)DateDescription
ppusbcomm-1.1.0.tar.gz (41 KB)
ppusbcomm-1.1.0.hex (15.5 KB)
19 Mars 2016 (Samedi) Ajout de rxdisk.com, permettant de recevoir une image de disquette pour l'y écrire directement.
ppusbcomm-1.0.0.tar.gz (37.6 KB)
ppusbcomm-1.0.0.hex (15.5 KB)
26 Décembre 2015 (Samedi) Première version
Légende: Programmation: Si vous travaillez sous Linux avec les sources, il suffit de faire 'make flash'. Assurez-vous d'avoir compilé l'outil en ligne de commande sous le dossier 'tools' pour que le script de programmation puisse faire entrer le circuit en mode «bootloader» automatiquement.

Sinon, les étapes manuelles sont:
# Entrer en mode «bootloader» (non-requis pour les cartes neuves n'ayant jamais été programmées
$ tools/ppusbcomm -f --bootloader

# Programmation d'un firmware avec dfu-programmer:
$ dfu-programmer atmega32u2 erase                   # Étape 1: Efface le firmware courant
$ dfu-programmer atmega32u2 flash ppusbcomm.hex     # Étape 2: Programme le nouveau firmware
$ dfu-programmer atmega32u2 start                   # Étape 3: Démarrage du nouveau firmware

goto top Retour en haut


Utilisation (transfert de fichiers)

Réception de hello.com

Réception de hello.com

Pour transférer un ou des fichiers, il suffit de lancer rxfiles.com du côté cible (DOS), et du côté hôte, la commande ppusbcomm:
# Transfert d'un fichier
$ ./ppusbcomm -f --upload ../dostools/hello.com

Du côté DOS, rxfiles.com reste actif tant que la touche ESC n'est pas appuyée et recevra et enregistrera chaque fichier. Pour transférer plusieurs fichiers, la commande ci-dessus peut simplement être répétée. Sinon, lorsqu'il y a beaucoup de fichiers à transférer, je fais une boucle comme ceci:
# Transfert les fichiers d'un répertoire
$ for i in `find /chemin/vers/votre/repertoire -type f` ; do ./ppusbcomm -f --upload $i ; done

goto top Retour en haut


Utilisation (transfert d'image de disquette)

Transfert en cours

Transfert en cours

Dans la version 1.1, j'ai ajouté un outil nommé rxdisk.com permettant de transférer des images de disquettes. L'outil du côté cible (DOS) écrit les donnés reçues de l'hôte directement dans des secteurs consécutifs de la disquette, tout comme le ferait l'outil rawrite. On pourrait penser que j'aurais pu d'abord transférer le fichier d'image avec rxfiles.com, et ensuite simplement utiliser rawrite, mais ce n'est pas possible toujours possible:
  1. Lorsque l'ordinateur cible n'a pas de disque dur, le fichier d'image doit pouvoir être stocké dans une disquette, souvent de même taille. Lorsqu'il s'agit d'un fichier d'image contenant 100% des secteurs d'une disquette, impossible de le stocker dans une disquette de même taille en tant que fichier.
  2. Lorsque l'ordinateur cible n'a qu'un lecteur de disquettes, comme rawrite lit le fichier par petits morceaux tout en écrivant vers la disquette, les donnés source ne seraient plus disponibles dès que la disquette source serait remplacée par la disquette cible que nous souhaitions créer.
  3. Modifier rawrite pour que le fichier d'image soit lu en mémoire au complet au démarrage, permettant de l'écrire tranquilement vers une nouvelle disquette est hors de question sur plusieurs machines (ex: Un PC ne comportant que 256K ne peut pas tenir une image de 360K!). Et même si c'était via plusieurs séquences de changement de disquette (comme avec diskcopy) le problème de stockage décrit en (1) ci-dessus demeure. (À moins de stocker le fichier d'image en deux morceaux sur deux disquettes différentes...)
Comme les 3 difficultés ci-dessus sont applicables à mon Tandy 1000, un outil écrivant directement sur la disquette cible m'a semblé être la meilleure solution.

Pour transférer une image de disquette, il suffit de lancer rxdisk.com du côté cible (DOS). L'outil demande de changer pour la disquette cible puis d'appuyer sur la touche entrée. Cela fait, l'outil examine la disquette pour déterminer le nombre de secteurs par piste. La prochine étape est le lancement du logiciel de transfert côté hôte, ppusbcomm:
# Transfert d'une image de disquette
$ ./ppusbcomm -f --disk testing/tandycat.dsk

Prêt

Prêt

Écriture des secteurs

Écriture des secteurs

Succès!

Succès!


Le jeu Alley Cat utilisé ici est une version modifiée (datant fin 2015) permettant d'avoir la musique à trois voies et la palette de couleur plus variée comme sur le système PCjr, mais sur les systèmes Tandy. J'ai transformé le .EXE résultant en version disquette en via mon outil booterify (publication à venir).

Pout tout savoir sur les patch pour convertir Alley Cat à « Tandy cat », consultez ce forum:
Tandy sound and video patch for Alley Cat


rxdisk.com est également une bonne façon de recréer les disquettes système Tandy distribuées ici:
http://www.oldskool.org/guides/tvdog/system.html

goto top Retour en haut


«Bootstrap»

Comment faire pour installer rxfiles.com avant d'avoir rxfiles.com dans le système DOS de destination? Outre le transfert par disquette (difficile lorsqu'on ne possède qu'un seul lecteur) il est probablement possible de recopier les 697 octets de rxfiles.com à l'aide de l'outil DEBUG de msdos, mais je n'ai jamais essayé.

J'ai plutôt opté pour une implémentation minimale de rxfiles en BASIC. Elle est minimale en ce qu'elle n'arrête pas le transfert (il faut faire CTRL+BREAK une fois terminé) et ne ferme pas le fichier (il faut faire CLOSE#1 avant de quitter). De plus, il faut saisir le nom de fichier car le bloc d'en-tête contenant normalement la taille et le nom de fichier n'est pas supporté. D'ailleurs, il faut utiliser l'option --noheader de ppusbcomm pour ne pas le transmettre, sinon le fichier commencera avec!
# Transfert d'un fichier sans en-tête (pour bootstrap)
$ ./ppusbcomm -f --upload ../dostools/hello.com --noheader

1 CLS 10 INPUT "Destination filename: ",FILENAME$ 12 OPEN FILENAME$ FOR OUTPUT AS #1 100 PRINT "Waiting for block" 110 OUT &H378,0 115 GOSUB 1000 120 IF D = 0 THEN GOTO 132 125 PRINT "Block available" 126 GOTO 200 132 OUT &H378,1 133 GOTO 110 200 PRINT "Readying block" 205 FOR I = 0 TO 31 207 OUT &H378,2 208 GOSUB 1000 209 BYTE = D * 16 ' shift left 4 210 OUT &H378,3 211 GOSUB 1000 212 BYTE = BYTE + D 216 PRINT #1,CHR$(BYTE); 220 NEXT I 225 PRINT "block done" 230 GOTO 100 1000 A = INP(&H379) 1001 D = ((A AND 8)\8) + ((A AND &HE0)\16) 1002 RETURN
Notes:

goto top Retour en haut


Fonctionnement

Les entrées Busy, Ack, Paper out et Error représentent les bits 3,2,1 et 0 respectivement. Dans l'autre direction, les bits de donnés 0 à 2 sont utilisés.

La communication se fait par blocs de 32 octets (64 nibbles) comme ceci:


Important: Le « handshake » n'est pas complet. L'assomption faite par rxfiles.com est que la carte ppusbcomm réponds assez rapidement aux changements d'états sur les lignes de donnés. Sur un PC plus rapide que mon Tandy 1000 EX (CPU 8088 à 7.16MHz) il est possible qu'il faille ajouter des délais dans rxfilles.com.

goto top Retour en haut


Le port parallèle du Tandy 1000 EX

Le port parallèle du Tandy 1000 EX n'utilise pas un connecteur DB25, mais plutôt un connecteur « card edge » comme pour les lecteurs de disquettes souples 5 1/4". Le « pinout » est différent, mais grâce au Tandy 1000-series FAQ, il est facile de s'y retrouver.

L'astuce est de trouver un câble de disquette ne comportant pas le petit bout de plastique destiné à en empêcher le branchement inversé:
L'arrière du Tandy 1000 EX

L'arrière du Tandy 1000 EX

Connecteur utilisable

Connecteur utilisable

Connecteur inutilisable

Connecteur inutilisable

Branchement

Branchement


Reste bien sûr les possibilités d'acheter un connecteur neuf, ou de modifier un connecteur existant.

Pour être bien certain de ne pas avoir fait d'erreurs sur l'orientation du branchement et le numérotage des signaux, j'ai fait un test rapide avec une DEL sur la ligne Data 0. Un petit logiciel en BASIC le fait clignoter. Cela a également confirmé que l'adresse 0x378 était bien celle du port parallèle sur le Tandy 1000 EX.
Test avec une DEL

Test avec une DEL

10 OUT &H378, 0 11 PRINT "OFF" 15 GOSUB 100 20 OUT &H378, 255 21 PRINT "ON" 30 GOSUB 100 40 GOTO 10 100 FOR I = 0 TO 255 ' Délais 101 NEXT I 102 RETURN

goto top Retour en haut


Pourquoi ce projet?

J'ai un ordinateur Tandy 1000 EX doté d'un lecteur de disquettes DD (double densité 360K). Pour écrire des disquettes qui seront lisibles ce lecteur, il faut absolument utiliser un lecteur DD.

Cela pose problème car toutes mes autres machines ont des lecteurs HD (Haute densité). Pour essayer un nouveau jeu, je dois donc retirer le lecteur de disquettes du Tandy 1000 pour l'installer temporairement dans un autre PC, copier les fichiers puis remettre le lecteur à sa place d'origine. Beaucoup trop pénible.

J'ai pensé à quelques solutions que je n'ai pas retenues, voici pourquoi: Le seul port qui semblait utilsable était le port parallèle. Je me souviens qu'il existait un logiciel nommé Laplink qui, combiné à un câble reliant les ports parallèles de deux PC, permettait le transfert de fichiers. La solution parfaite!

Mais il y avait quelques obstacles à utiliser Laplink: C'est pourquoi j'ai décidé développer mon propre système qui:

goto top Retour en haut


Succès!

Grace à ce système, j'ai le plaisir de transférer et de rejouer à quelques vieux jeux:
Pipes

Pipes

Montezuma's revenge

Montezuma's revenge

Block out

Block out

Oh non, 256K ne suffisent pas :(

Oh non, 256K ne suffisent pas :(


Note: Les photos ci-dessus montrent un Tandy 1000 EX avec écran VGA. Cela est rendu possible par l'adaptateur CGA à VGA que j'ai construit.

goto top Retour en haut


Références

goto top Retour en haut


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourrait causer à votre équipement, à vous-même ou à autrui. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement. Notez toutefois que les procédures ci-haut ont fonctionné sans aucun problème pour moi.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 19 Mars 2016 (Samedi)