Setting up the stack for SMS games on Megadrive



The problem

I built myself adapters to use SMS games on a Megadrive as well as MarkIII/SMS-J on a Megadrive . The adapters work well, but there is one complication:

When an SMS game is run on a Megadrive console, there is no bios to run before the game. The CPU executes the game right from the start. This can be a problem for games which rely on intialization normally performed by the bios, in particular setting up the stack pointer.

A quick workaround to this is to first run an SMS game that does not have this problem, turn off the power, insert the non-starting game and reapply power. Now the game should start. This is because even following the power cycle, the stack pointer register bits haven not faded away yet and are still at the last value used!

While the above trick seems to work well, it is not ideal. One needs to repeat those steps every time, and one has to own at least one game that starts without problems.

goto top Up


Sega's solution for the Power base converter

Sega used to sold a product equivalent to my adapter under the names Power base converter, Mega Adaptor(メガアダプタ), Master System Converter or Adaptador Para os Jogos Master System according to the region of the world.[1].

Sega's adapter did not have the game startup problem described in the previous paragraphs. An interesting discussion on smspower reveals that a simple programmable logic chip was used to have the CPU run a few instructions to setup the stack pointer prior to game execution:
	21 01 E1 : LD HL, $E101
	25 -- -- : DEC H
	F9 -- -- : LD SP,HL
	C7 -- -- : RST $00
The same thread also provides the chip's logic equations which shows how the address bits on the BUS are used to present the instruction bytes in consecutive order, and how a conflict between this chip and the cartridge is avoided by letting the chip enable signal run through this same chip. For complete technical details, please refer to the discussion.

Interesting fact: Since the logic chip did not have enough outputs to drive the BUS eight data bits, bit 0 is pulled high through a resistor. So the instructions shown above all have the less significant bit set to 1!

[1] Source: http://segaretro.org/Power_Base_Converter.

goto top Up


My hack using an AVR micro-controller

My goal was to fix my problem quickly using what I had on hand without redesigning the adapter PCB from scratch. I therefore decided to use my small multiuse PCB featuring an Atmel AVR micro-controller (MCU).

The MCU monitors the read signal (RD) and after each pulse, drives the next instruction value on the data bus, until all 6 bytes have been presented, after which all MCU pins are switched to input mode to let the game run without impediments.

The MCU does not monitor the CE signal since it is too slow to use it properly. The data lines are therefore continuously driven, where normally they would be driven only when CE and RD are low. This is not very clean, but since we are controlling the instructions the CPU is executing and know that none of them result in writes (until we let go of the bus), I don't think this is a problem.

To temporarily disable the CE signal going to the game cartridge, I installed a 1.5k resistor between the megadrive and the cartridge. The micro-controller is wired to the cartridge side. To cartridge CE pin can be forced high by the micro-controller during initialisation, preventing a conflict. Even though on the console side this signal goes low, there is no danger thanks to the resistor which limits the current. Once initialisation is complete, the corresponding micro-controller pin is switched to input mode which lets the signal from the megadrive reach the cartridge through the resistor. The resistor value is low enough not to slow down transitions too much.

I simply reproduced what Sega did for the D0 bit, even though I still had a free output on my MCU board (PORTB3). I don't remember why I did that (because I waited 3 months to write this article) but it might have been to simplify programming during development (one of the signals uses PORTB3). In any case, whatever the reason, a pull-up resistor must currently be installed on D0, but it would be easy to update the firmware to do away with this requirement.

Here are a few pictures of the circuit installed on my cartridge adapter. If you built an adapter like mine or own a non-Sega adapter without the stack initialisation circuit, you could use this small circuit to fix the problem.

Contact me if you are interested and I will add preprogrammed circuits to the store.



Source code is available here:
stackchip.tar.gz

Here is an abridged version showing the essential parts:
During development

During development

#define WAIT_RD()   do { } while (PIND & 0x04)
#define WAIT_RD_HIGH()  do { } while (!(PIND & 0x04))
#define OUTVAL(a,b) do { PORTC = a; PORTB = b | 0x10; } while(0)
#define RD_SYNC()   do { WAIT_RD(); WAIT_RD_HIGH(); } while(0)

...

/* LD HL, $E101 */
OUTVAL(0x10, 0x00);
RD_SYNC();
OUTVAL(0x00, 0x00);
RD_SYNC();
OUTVAL(0x70, 0x20);
RD_SYNC();

/* DEC H */
OUTVAL(0x12, 0x00);
RD_SYNC();

/* LD SP,HL */
OUTVAL(0x7C, 0x20);
RD_SYNC();

/* RST $00 */
OUTVAL(0x63, 0x20);
RD_SYNC();

// hands-off the bus
while (1) {
	DDRC = 0;
	DDRB = 0;
	set_sleep_mode(SLEEP_MODE_PWR_DOWN);
	sleep_enable();
	sleep_cpu();
}

goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: March 29, 2015 (Sunday)

Initialisation de la pile pour les jeux SMS sur Megadrive



Le problème

J'ai fabriqué des adaptateurs permettant d'utiliser des jeux SMS sur une console Megadrive et jeux MarkIII/SMS-J sur une console Megadrive . Cela fonctionne bien, mais il y a une petite complication:

Lorsqu'un jeu est exécuté sur une console Megadrive, ce n'est pas après l'exécution d'un «bios» comme sur une console master system. En fait, le dès la mise sous tension, le jeu est exécuté. Cela en empêche certains de fonctionner car ils ont été codés en assumant que le «bios» se serait déjà chargé de certaines choses, notamment l'initialisation du pointeur de pile («stack pointer»).

Pour faire démarrer un jeu qui ne démarre pas à cause de cela, il suffit de d'abord d'allumer la console avec un jeu fonctionnel, l'éteindre et changer pour le jeu qui ne fonctionne pas. Mettre à nouveau la console sous tension et il devrait démarrer. C'est que le premier jeu a initialisé le pointeur, et malgré que l'alimentation ait été coupée momentanément, le registre de pointeur de pile contient encore la dernière valeur utilisée!

Bien que ce truc semble bien fonctionner, ce n'est pas idéal. Il faut répéter cette manipulation à chaque fois, et il faut aussi posséder un jeu qui fonctionne.

goto top Retour en haut


La solution de Sega dans le Power base converter

Un produit équivalent à mon adaptateur a été à l'époque vendu par Sega sous les noms Power base converter, Mega Adaptor(メガアダプタ), Master System Converter ou Adaptador Para os Jogos Master System selon la région du monde[1].

Il se trouve que ce produit officiel n'a pas le problème de démarrage de certains jeux exposé dans les paragraphes précédents. Une discussion dans le forum smspower nous apprends qu'une puce de logique programmable simple est utilisée pour faire exécuter quelques instructions au CPU qui servent à initialiser la pile avant que le jeu soit exécuté:
	21 01 E1 : LD HL, $E101
	25 -- -- : DEC H
	F9 -- -- : LD SP,HL
	C7 -- -- : RST $00
La même discussion nous présente également les équations de logique qui montrent que l'adresse sur le BUS est utilisée pour présenter les octets formant les instructions ci-dessus dans le bon ordre, et comment un conflit d'adresse avec la cartouche est évité en faisant passer les signaux "chip enable" via cette même puce. Voir la discussion pour une explication technique complète.

Fait intéressant: Comme la puce de logique n'avait pas assez de sorties pour piloter les 8 lignes de data du Bus, le bit 0 est tiré à un niveau logique 1 via une résistance externe. Les instructions ci-dessus ont donc tous le bit le moins significatif à 1!

[1] Source: http://segaretro.org/Power_Base_Converter.

goto top Retour en haut


Ma solution avec un AVR

Je voulais règler mon problème rapidement avec le matériel dont je disposais sans refaire le circuit imprimé de l'adaptateur à partir de zéro. J'ai donc décidé d'essayer mon petit circuit à usage multiple lequel est basé sur un micro-contrôleur AVR d'atmel.

Le micro-contrôleur surveille le signal de lecture (RD) et à chaque impulsion, présente les bits de l'instruction suivante sur le BUS (D0 à D7), jusqu'à ce que les 6 octets soient passés, suite à quoi les broches du micro-contrôleur sont toutes mises en mode entrée pour laisser le jeu s'exécuter sans rien perturber.

Le micro-contrôleur ne surveille pas le signal CE car il n'est pas assez rapide. Les signaux data du bus sont pilotés continuellement, alors que normalement ils devraient l'être seulement lorsque RD et CE sont bas. Ce n'est pas très propre, mais comme nous contrôlons les instructions et savons qu'elles n'impliquent aucune écriture, je ne crois pas qu'il y ait de problème.

Pour isoler le signal CE de la cartouche de jeu, j'ai installé une résistance de 1.5k entre la megadrive et la cartouche. Le micro-contrôleur est relié au signal du côté de la cartouche. Pour empêcher un conflit lorsque le micro-contrôleur présente les instructions d'initialisation sur le BUS, il suffit de mettre un niveau logique 1 sur la ligne. Bien que du côté console de la résistance ce signal soit à zéro, il n'y a pas de danger car la résistance limite le courant. Lorsque le micro-contrôleur a terminé son travail et qu'il est temps d'exécuter le jeu, la broche correspondant au signal CE est mise en mode entrée et le signal CE passe alors de la console vers la cartouche de jeu via la résistance. La valeur de la résistance est assez basse pour ne pas trop ralentir les transitions.

J'ai simplement imité ce que Sega a fait pour le bit D0, bien que j'avais encore un bit de libre (PORTB3). Je ne me souviens pas pourquoi (car j'ai attendu trois mois avant d'écrire cette page) mais c'était peut-être pour faciliter la programmation lors du développement (un des signaux passe par là). Quel que soit la raison, il y a donc présentement besoin d'avoir une résistance pull-up sur D0, mais il serait facile de modifier le code pour l'éliminer.

Voici quelques photos du circuit installé sur l'adaptateur de cartouche. Si vous avez fabriqué un adaptateur comme moi ou en possédez un non fabriqué par Sega qui n'a pas de circuit d'initialisation de la pile, ce circuit peut être installé pour rectifier la situation.

Contactez-moi si cela vous serait utile et j'ajouterai ce circuit dans mon magasin en ligne.



Le code source est disponible:
stackchip.tar.gz

Voici une version abrégée pour montrer l'essentiel:
En développement

En développement

#define WAIT_RD()   do { } while (PIND & 0x04)
#define WAIT_RD_HIGH()  do { } while (!(PIND & 0x04))
#define OUTVAL(a,b) do { PORTC = a; PORTB = b | 0x10; } while(0)
#define RD_SYNC()   do { WAIT_RD(); WAIT_RD_HIGH(); } while(0)

...

/* LD HL, $E101 */
OUTVAL(0x10, 0x00);
RD_SYNC();
OUTVAL(0x00, 0x00);
RD_SYNC();
OUTVAL(0x70, 0x20);
RD_SYNC();

/* DEC H */
OUTVAL(0x12, 0x00);
RD_SYNC();

/* LD SP,HL */
OUTVAL(0x7C, 0x20);
RD_SYNC();

/* RST $00 */
OUTVAL(0x63, 0x20);
RD_SYNC();

// hands-off the bus
while (1) {
	DDRC = 0;
	DDRB = 0;
	set_sleep_mode(SLEEP_MODE_PWR_DOWN);
	sleep_enable();
	sleep_cpu();
}

goto top Retour en haut


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que l'utilisation des informations ou la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourrait causer à votre équipement, à vous-même ou à autrui. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 8 Février 2015 (Dimanche)