SMS to Megadrive/Genesis cartridge adaptor



Introduction

I had known for a long time that Sega Master System (SMS) games can be played on a Sega Megadrive/Genesis (SMD) console using a simple 50 to 64 pin adapter, and thought a few times about making one. So when I was told my SNES to SMD controller adapter did not work when a SMS game was being played, it was all I needed as an excuse to design and build an SMS to SMD adapter.

Specifications: Here are a few pictures of the result:
Front side

Front side

Back side

Back side

Phantasy Star

Phantasy Star

With enclosure

With enclosure


goto top Up


Usage

Most of the time, installing the adapter (in the correct direction), inserting the cartridge and applying power is all that is needed. But there can be some issues depending on the game:

1) Controller problems
Some games won't work properly using Megadrive controllers. A solution is to Master System controllers instead, or to build a special adapter.

2) Start-up problems
When an SMS game is run on a Megadrive console, there is no bios to run before the game. The CPU executes the game right from the start. This can be a problem for games which rely on intialization normally performed by the bios, in particular setting up the stack pointer. (I learned about this thanks to reference #5)

A quick workaround to this is to first run SMS game that does not have this problem, turn off the power, insert the non-starting game and reapply power. Now the game should start. This is because even following the power cycle, the stack pointer register bits haven not faded away yet and are still at the last value used!

February 2015: The above manipulations can be avoided by adding a stack initialisation circuit!
Here are the tested games:
TitreMegadrive controller (1)Stack pointer (2)
Alex Kidd in Miracle WorldOkOk
Aztec AdventureOkNot setup
Fantasy StarOkOk
KenseidenOkOk
Lord of The SwordOkOk
R-TypeOkNot setup
ShinobiOkNot setup
World GamesOkOk
Please report if you try other games. I'd like to list them here.

goto top Up


Schematic

Here is the schematic. I drew it using the following two sources, which agreed on the wiring:

The one difference I noticed between the two sources above was in the value used for the pause button resistor. One says 3.3k, the other 56k. However, regardless of the value I used, I could not get the pause button to work. Well I don't think a pause button on the console is very useful anyway, so I don't mind giving it up.

I took the opportunity to add a few optional 0-ohm resistors to make it easier should I need to wire some of the signals differently. (In my schematic, the resistors labelled "NP" for not placed should not be normally installed.)

goto top Up


PCB

I designed and had a PCB built specifically for this project. Basing my adapter on a rewired SMD cartridge would have taken too much time. I kept height of the PCB low as I did not wish to have the SMS cartridge hanging too high when using the adapter.



I ordered the PCBs from a professional manufacturer, but here are the gerbers in case you feel patient enough to manufacture them yourself.
gerbers_sms2smd_v1.zip

Here are the pictures of the PCBs I received. They are available in kit, optionally pre-assembled, in my online store.
Top side

Top side

Bottom side

Bottom side


goto top Up


Enclosure

I also designed an enclosure specifically for this project. Details are given on another page.

goto top Up


Controller fix

There are a few games that will not work properly with Genesis/Megadrive controllers. A solution is to use SMS controllers, but it is also possible to build this compatibility adapter. The idea is to keep the SELECT signal on the controller side high through a resistor (100kΩ).



I don't personally own any games where this adapter is necessary, so I have not built one. But ishiyakazuo who suggested this solution says it works great.

There is a list games needing this fix in the db-electronics forum:
http://db-electronics.freeforums.net/thread/12/genesis-controller-compatibility

As of 2014-10-31, the games known to require SMS controllers or the fix presented here were:

goto top Up


References

#LinkDescription/comments
1http://www.smspower.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=6875SMS to SMD adapter wiring table.
2http://nfggames.com/forum2/index.php?topic=3991.0Pictures of the internals of a non-Sega commercial adapter named "Datel Pro Mega Master". What a name!
3http://www.hardwarebook.info/Mega_Drive_CartridgeSMD cartridge pinout.
4http://www.smspower.org/maxim/Documents/PinoutsPictures and pinouts for a SMS cartridge. This was of great use to double-check that I made no mistake with the connector orientation. There's also information on the connector used on Japanese systems which should be useful if I make a Japanese version of this adapter.
5http://www.smspower.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14084A very interesting discussion which begins with technical information on the custom chip Sega uses in it's own adapter (It looks like this chip initializes the stack, required for some games). Farther in the discussion, there is a schematic (sega2sms.png) a bit difficult to follow, but useful, and matching the wiring table above in reference 1

goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: February 14, 2015 (Saturday)

Adaptateur cartouche SMS à Megadrive/Genesis



Introduction

Je savais depuis un bon moment que la console Genesis était compatible avec les jeux Sega Master System (SMS), mais au moyen d'un adaptateur pour passer de 64 broches (SMD) à 50 broches (SMS). Alors lorsqu'on m'a informé que mon adaptateur SNES à SMD/Genesis ne fonctionnait pas lorsque la console faisait tourner un jeu SMS, j'allais devoir le tester. C'était tout ce qu'il me fallait comme excuse pour réaliser un adaptateur SMS à SMD.

Caractéristiques: Voici quelques photos du résultat:
Face avant

Face avant

Face arrière

Face arrière

Phantasy Star

Phantasy Star

Avec un boîtier

Avec un boîtier


goto top Retour en haut


Utilisation

Généralement, il s'agit simplement d'installer l'adaptateur en prêtant attention au sens d'insertion, d'insérer la cartouche puis de mettre la console sous tension. Mais parfois, il peut y avoir certains problèmes:

1) Problèmes de manette
Certains jeux ne fonctionnent pas correctement avec des manettes de Genesis. La solution est d'utiliser des manettes master system, ou de fabriquer un câble/modifier une manette.

2) Problèmes de démarrage
Lorsqu'un jeu est exécuté sur une console Genesis, ce n'est pas après l'exécution d'un «BIOS» comme sur une console master system. En fait, le dès la mise sous tension, le jeu est exécuté. Cela en empêche certains de fonctionner car ils ont été codés en assumant que le «BIOS» se serait déjà chargé de certaines choses, notamment l'initialisation du pointeur de pile («stack pointer»). (J'ai appris cela via la référence #5)

Pour faire démarrer un jeu qui ne démarre pas à cause de cela, il suffit de d'abord d'allumer la console avec un jeu fonctionnel, l'éteindre et changer pour le jeu qui ne fonctionne pas. Mettre à nouveau la console sous tension et il devrait démarrer. C'est que le premier jeu a initialisé le pointeur, et malgré que l'alimentation ait été coupée momentanément, le registre de pointeur de pile contient encore la dernière valeur utilisée!

Février 2015: Il est possible d'éviter ces manipulations ci-dessus en ajoutant un circuit d'initalisation du stack!
Je n'ai pas encore une très grande collection de jeux, mais voici ce qu'il en est avec ceux que j'ai pu tester:
TitreManette Genesis (1)Pointeur de pile (2)
Alex Kidd in Miracle WorldOkOk
Aztec AdventureOkNon-initialisé
Fantasy StarOkOk
KenseidenOkOk
Lord of The SwordOkOk
R-TypeOkNon-initialisé
ShinobiOkNon-initialisé
World GamesOkOk
Si vous avez pu essayer d'autres jeux, contactez-moi afin que je puisse les lister ici.

goto top Retour en haut


Schéma

Voici le schéma. Je l'ai dessiné en me basant sur deux sources, qui concordaient:

La seule différence que j'ai noté est la valeur de la résistance pour le bouton pause qui était de 3.3k dans une des sources, et 56k dans l'autre. Toutefois, qu'importe la valeur utilisée, je n'ai pas réussi à faire fonctionner ce bouton. Ce n'est pas une grosse perte, car je ne trouve pas très utile d'avoir un bouton pause sur la console de toute manière.

Je me suis permis de faire quelques ajouts sous forme de résistances 0 ohm optionelles permettant de câbler certains signaux différemment si jamais cela s'avérait utile. (Dans mon schéma, les résistances spécifiées "NP" pour non-placé ne sont pas normalement installées)

goto top Retour en haut


Circuit imprimé

J'ai dessiné et fait fabriquer un circuit imprimé car fabriquer l'adaptateur en modifiant une cartouche de SMD aurait pris trop de temps. J'ai essayé de faire un circuit imprimé compact car je ne souhaitais pas que la cartouche SMS se retrouve trop haute lors de l'utilisation.



J'ai fait fabriquer une petite quantité par une compagnie spécialisée. Voici quand même les gerbers au cas où vous auriez la patience de le faire vous-mêmes.
gerbers_sms2smd_v1.zip

Voici le PCB tel qu'il a été fabriqué. Ils sont vendus en kits, assemblés ou pas, dans mon magasin en ligne.
Face avant

Face avant

Face arrière

Face arrière


goto top Retour en haut


Boîtier

J'ai conçu un boîtier spécialement pour ce projet. Le projet du boîtier est expliqué sur sa propre page.

goto top Retour en haut


Correctif pour manettes

Certains jeux ne fonctionnent pas correctement avec des manettes Genesis/Megadrive. Une solution est simplement d'utiliser des manettes SMS, sinon il est possible de fabriquer un adaptateur pour corriger la situation. L'idée est simplement d'isoler le signal SELECT de la console et, du côté manette, de le maintenir à un niveau logique élevé via une résistance (100kΩ).



Aucun des jeux en ma possession n'ont besoin de ce correctif alors je n'ai jamais bâti d'adaptateur de manette. Mais selon ishiyakazuo qui m'a suggéré cette solution, cela fonctionne parfatement.

Il y a une liste des jeux pour lesquels ce correctif est requis dans les forums de db-electronics:
http://db-electronics.freeforums.net/thread/12/genesis-controller-compatibility

En date du 2014-10-31, les jeux pour lesquels ce correctif était reconnu comme requis étaient:

goto top Retour en haut


Références

#LienDescription/commentaires
1http://www.smspower.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=6875Tableau de câblage pour un adaptateur SMS à SMD.
2http://nfggames.com/forum2/index.php?topic=3991.0Photos de l'intérieur d'un adaptateur commercial non-sega nommé «Datel Pro Mega Master». Quel nom!
3http://www.hardwarebook.info/Mega_Drive_CartridgeDescription des signaux d'une cartouche SMD.
4http://www.smspower.org/maxim/Documents/PinoutsPhotos et détails des signaux d'une cartouche SMS. Les photos furent d'une grande utilité pour ne pas me tromper et inverser les faces lors du design du circuit imprimé. Il y a aussi des informations sur le connecteur utilisé par les systèmes Japonais qui me serviront pour la version japonaise de l'adaptateur.
5http://www.smspower.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14084Une discussion très intéressante qui débute par des détails techniques sur la puce sur mesure présente dans le « Power Base Converter » qui semble-t-il initialise la pile («stack»), nécessaire pour certains jeux. Plus bas dans la discussion, il y a un schéma (sega2sms.png) un peu difficile à lire mais quand même utile, et équivalent au tableau de câblage en ref.1 ci-dessus.

goto top Retour en haut


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que l'utilisation des informations ou la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourrait causer à votre équipement, à vous-même ou à autrui. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 14 Février 2015 (Samedi)