PSX controllers on a PC (parallel port)



The idea

The Playstation controllers are very well designed, are comfortable and they work very well. That's why it's interesting to use a real playstation controller on a PC (intead of using a cheap imitation). There are many adapters on the market to do this. However, if you like electronic or want to save a little money, it is possible to build one yourself.

I have done this for the first time when I bought the PC version of Final Fantasy 7. I wanted to play the game with the original controller.


*I do not* have any schematics or information on how to build a usb version of this adapter. Dont send me mail asking for this, I wont answer.

goto top Up


Schematic

The Direct Pad Pro project provides a schematic to connect the controller to the PC Parallel port. Here is a copy of it:
schema de l'adaptateur

Comments and more details about the schematic:

The diodes used are the common 1n4148 or 1n914. It is possible that 1n400x diodes would also work(and many other types), but I have not tried. Also, if you have a dual shock controller and want to use it, you will need to provide an external 9 volt power source.

goto top Up


Hooking a second controller

Here are instructions to use two controllers on one port. (Copy-Paste from DirectPadPro readme.txt file):

To hook up the second controller duplicate all connections except DB25-10 and DB25-12. For pad 2, replace the DB25-10 connection with a connection to DB25-13, and the DB25-12 with DB25-15. Note that the parallel port may not be able to supply enough power to run a second controller, and you may only be able to run one at a time without using an external power supply.

goto top Up


Build

Here are pictures of an adapter I built. For detailed instructions, you can use the Snes to parallel port adapter instructions as a base.


Warning: Do NOT rely on the wire colors shown in the above pictures. The relationship between pin numbers and wire color varies according to the cable manufacturer, and sometimes even between batches. You must find out the color code used by your cables using a continuity tester. Blindly following the colors seen here may (although very unlikely) damage your parallel port or controller.

If you are looking for a ready-made adapter, you can buy one from my online store.

goto top Up


Software

Windows 95/98

For Direct X games, you will need Direct Pad Pro. You can download it here: dpadpr50.zip. This is the file I downloaded from www.ziplabel.com when Direct Pad Pro was still available on this site.

Windows NT/2000/XP

As far as I know, there are 2 drivers able to make this adapter work with Win2k and XP.

Please not that since I dont use WinNT/2000 or XP, I have not been able to test any of these drivers.

Linux

The Linux kernel supports this adapter without any supplemental patch. If you know how to use Linux, I think you should be able to discover how to make this adapter work yourself. However, I will give more information(I'm not the type to just say RTFM).

If the gamecon kernel module is already compiled and available, simple type this:
# modprobe gamecon gc=0,7,0,0,0,0
If you have a rescent kernel, try this instead:
# modprobe gamecon map=0,7,0,0,0,0
If the module does not exist, you will have to compile it yourself. When you configure your kernel, select the following options:
Next, compile and install your new kernel and modules. You should now be able to modprobe gamecon correctly.
One detail: The documentation says you must plug the controller *before* loading the module, because the controller is detected at load time.
The file Documentation/input/joystick-parport.txt that comes with the kernel source should be useful you if you need more help.

Others

If you wish to write your own software or driver for a particular platform, here is a file containing a lot of the information you will need.
Playstation.txt

The is also a C library that allows one to use memory cards and controllers with this interface(or others). This library is open source, so you should be able to port it to another platform quite easily. Here is the site where you will find it:
PSX Peripheral Bus Library

goto top Up


Help

Sometimes, even if built correctly, this adapter may not work. The cause of this varies.

A common problem is that the parallel port is not able to give enough power to the controller. That's because the pc parallel port has not been designed to give power to peripherals connected to it. This adapter uses a trick to do so: 5 bits are set to a logic 1 level(5 volts) by the driver, and they are combined with the diodes to give power to the controler. If the controller consumes too much current, the voltage decrease and become too low. If this happens, you must find another source for the 5 volt. Using the game port pins 1 and 4 (+5volt and GND) works well. Of course, there are many other places were you can obtain 5 volts inside a computer...


If you have a laptop(or a modern computer(2004)), the parallel port maybe using 3.3 volts instead of 5 volts. In this case, you will need to power the controller from another source of 5 volts, and maybe you will need to convert logic levels with additional circuitry.

Also, if you use a cheap clone of the PSX controllers, it is possible that it is simply not supported, but it has not occured to me nor to anybody I know.

goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2014, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: June 8, 2014 (Sunday)

raphnet.net banner

Adaptateur manette PSX sur port parallèle



twitter@raphnetlabs
Contenu: L'idée | Schéma | Deuxième manette | Assemblage | Logiciel et configuration | Aide | Avertissement

L'idée

Les manettes de Playstation sont très confortables, et fonctionnent très bien. Il est donc très intéressant de pouvoir en utiliser une sur son PC. Il existe plusieurs produits sur le marché permettant de le faire. Par contre, si vous aimez l'électronique et/ou souhaitez économiser, il est possible de construire l'adaptateur vous-même

J'ai fait cela la première fois quand j'ai acheté Final Fantasy 7 PC. Je souhaitais jouer avec la manette d'origine du jeu.

JE N'AI AUCUNE INFORMATION NI SCHÉMA POUR LA VERSION USB. N'ÉCRIVEZ PAS POUR ME LE DEMANDER CAR JE NE RÉPONDRAI PAS.

goto top Retour en haut


Schéma

Le projet Direct Pad Pro fournissait le schéma pour cet adapteur. Voici donc ce schéma:
schema de l'adaptateur

Commentaires et précisions sur le schéma:

Les diodes utilisés sont des 1n914 ou 1n4148. Il est très probable que des 1n400x fassent l'affaire aussi, mais je ne l'ai jamais testé. Aussi, si vous avez une manette supportant dual shock(la vibration), et souhaitez l'utiliser, prévoyez une source de courant de 9 volts.

goto top Retour en haut


Deuxième manette

Voici une traduction d'une partie du fichier readme.txt de DirectPad Pro expliquant comment brancher deux manettes sur le même port:

"Pour brancher une deuxième manette, reproduisez les mêmes branchements à l'exception de DB25-10 et DB25-12. Pour la deuxième manette, utilisez DB25-13 à la place de DB25-10 et DB25-15 à la place de DB25-12. Prenez note qu'il est probable que le port parallèle n'arrive pas à fournir assez de courant pour deux manettes et qu'il se peut que vous ne puissiez utiliser les deux manettes simultanément sans l'aide d'une source de courant externe."

goto top Retour en haut


Assemblage

Voici quelques photo d'un adaptateur que j'ai fabriqué. Pour des explications détaillés, inspirerez-vous de l'assemblage de l'adaptateur pour manette de Super Nes.


Attention, ne vous fiez pas aux couleurs des fils dans les photos. Les couleurs changent selon le fournisseur et parfois même selon le lot. Vous devez absolument déterminer le code de couleur utilisé par vos câbles avec un testeur de continuité. Suivre aveuglément les couleurs ici pourrait endommager le port parallèle ou la manette. (C'est tout de même peu probable).

Si vous cherchez un adaptateur déjà monté, il y en a dans mon magasin en ligne.

goto top Retour en haut


Logiciel et configuration

Windows 95/98

Pour les jeux supportant Direct X, vous aurez besoin de Direct Pad Pro. Vous pouvez le téleécharger ici: dpadpr50.zip. Il s'agit du fichier original que j'avais téléchargé de www.ziplabel.com à l'époque ou c'était encore disponible.

Windows NT/2000/XP

À ma connaissance, il existe 2 drivers pour faire fonctionner cet adaptateur sous windows 2000 et XP.

Notez qu'étant donné que je n'utilise pas windows NT/2000 ou XP, je n'ai jamais testé ces drivers.

Linux

Cet adaptateur est supporté directement par le kernel de Linux. Si vous êtes assez bon pour utiliser Linux, vous devriez en pricipe être capable de vous débrouiller tout seul, mais je vais donner des détails quand même (je n'aime pas etre du genre RTFM).

Si le module gamecon est déja compilé, tapez simplement:
# modprobe gamecon gc=0,7,0,0,0,0
Si vous avez un kernel récent, essayez:
# modprobe gamecon map=0,7,0,0,0,0
Si le module n'existe pas, vous devrez le compiler vous même. Quand vous configurez votre kernel, sélectionnez les options suivantes:
Ensuite, compilez et installez votre nouveau kernel ainsi que vos modules. Vous devriez maintenant pouvoir modprober gamecon correctement.
Un dernier détail: La documentation dis que vous devez brancher votre manette de playstation AVANT de loader le module, car c'est à ce moment là que le type de manette est détecté.
Le fichier Documentation/input/joystick-parport.txt venant avec le kernel pourra vous aider si vous avec besoin de détails supplémentaires.

Autres

Si vous voulez écrire votre propre logiciel ou driver pour un OS spécifique ou une plateforme particulière, voici un document contentant toutes les informations nécéssaires.
Playstation.txt

Il y a aussi une libraire écrite en C qui permet d'utiliser les manettes et les cartes mémoires de playstation avec cette interface(ou avec d'autres interfaces). Cette librairie est "Open Source", alors vous pouvez facilement la porter vers une autre plateforme. Voici le site:
PSX Peripheral Bus Library

goto top Retour en haut


Aide

Il est possible que ca ne fonctionne pas du premier coup, même si vous assemblez correctement votre adaptateur. Si c'est le cas, il peut y avoir différentes raisons.

Un problème qui arrive souvent est que le port parallel n'est pas fait pour alimenter les périfériques qui y sont raccordés. Cet adapteur utilise en fait un truc: 5 bits du port sont mis à 1 (5 volts) par le driver, et ces 5 bits sont combinés par des diodes pour finalement alimenter la manette. Si la manette consomme trop de courant, le voltage donné diminue, et si il devient insuffisant, il faut alimenter la manette à partir d'un autre endroit. L'alimenter à partir du port de jeu (DB15F), en utilisant les broches 1 et 4 (+5Volts et GND respectivements). Bien sur, vous pourriez vous alimenter à bien d'autres endroits...

Si vous avez un ordinateur portable, il se peut que le port parallel fonctionne à 3.3 volts. Dans ce cas, il est nécéssaire d'alimenter la manette séparément, et peut-être aussi de convertir les niveaux de voltage de 3.3 vers 5 volts.

Il y a aussi la possibilité que votre manette ne soit pas supporté, mais je ne connais personne à qui c'est arrivé.

goto top Retour en haut


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que l'utilisation des informations ou la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourrait causer à votre équipement, à vous-même ou à autrui. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2018, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 17 novembre 2014 (Lundi)