Famicom controller to NES adapter



Why do that?

Why? Simply to use famicom (the Japanese NES) controllers that were unfortunately not sold here. It's not fair that we did not get the chance to enjoy or hate additional options.

Here are two pictures of Japanese controller. The Hudson pad (left) and the Joyball (right)




goto top Up


Wiring

An adapter is easily built by wiring a DB15 Male connector to a cable salvaged from a NES controller. Note that the color below is that of the standard NES controllers. Third party controller may use a different code.


DB15 pinNES colorFunction
1 Brown GND
12 Orange Latch
13 Yellow Data
14 Red Clock
15 White +5 volt


Wiring

Wiring

Wiring

Wiring

Wiring

Wiring

Result

Result



This adapter works perfectly with the Hudson Pad, and most like does with several other controller models.

However, it does not work well with the Joyball. Details in below.

goto top Up


Joyball problems

The symptom was that only the A button and Right direction seemed to work. Very interesting since those correspond to the first (A) and last (Right) bits that are transmitted. Indeed, the transmission order is the following: A,B,Select,Start,Up,Down,Left,Right.

By looking at the signals with an oscilloscope, I noticed the DATA line would behave strangely. For instance, when A was being held, B would then work, and if B was also held down, Select would then work, and so on.

So I thought this was probably a problem with the clock signal, as if a part of the Joyball had trouble following. As if the timing was violated. I looked inside the controller and there was a single IC, but not the usual 4021 shift register. I think they probably made a custom chip to also implement the turbo feature. I failed to find information on the chip (M60001-0103p with a Mitsubishi logo) so I cannot say if the timing is appropriate or not.

At this point, had I had a Famicom console available, I would have compared the timings. But I don't have a Famicom so I decided to experiment and programmed an AVR microcontroller to stretch the clock pulses transmitted by the NES from 0.5μs to 2μs. I wired the circuit between the NES and the controller.

Success! I turned on the NES and with the 2μs clock pulses, everything was working well. Well almost, since it did not take long for me to understand why a Japanese had told me the Joyball sucked and that if you had it as a kid, friends might have made fun of you! For after winning against the controller imcompatiblity with the NES, I became a looser at Burgertime… All this work only to discover it wasn't worth it! Ok, you may make fun of me now ;)

Top trace: Signal from the NES.<br>Bottom trace: Signal from my MCU.

Top trace: Signal from the NES.
Bottom trace: Signal from my MCU.

Testing

Testing



For reference, here is the simple code I used to stretch the clock.
1 #include 
2 #include 
3 
4 int main(void)
5 {
6     // In: PORTB5
7     // PORTB all pullup
8     DDRB = 0x00;
9     PORTB = 0xFF;
10 
11     // Out: PORTC, ANY
12     DDRC = 0xFF;
13     PORTC = 0x00;
14 
15     // PORTD unused, input + pull
16     PORTD = 0xFF;
17     DDRD = 0x00;
18 
19     while(1)
20     {
21         // Wait for falling edge
22         while (PINB & (1<<PINB5));
23 
24         PORTC = 0x00;
25         _delay_us(2);
26         PORTC = 0xff;
27     }
28 }

goto top Up


References

The following documents were useful:

goto top Up


Disclaimer

I cannot be held responsible for any damages that could occur to you or your equipment while following the procedures present on this page. Also, I GIVE ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY on the correctness and usability of the informations on this page. Please note, however, that the procedures above have worked in my case without any damages or problems.

Now you cannot say that I did not warn you :)

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: November 17, 2014 (Monday)

Adaptateur famicom à NES



Pourquoi?

Pourquoi? Tout simplement pour pouvoir utiliser les manettes pour famicom (la NES japonaise) qui ne sont sorties qu'au Japon. Il est injuste que nous ayons été privé d'apprécier ou de détester toutes ces options.

Voici deux photos de manettes Japonaise. À gauche, le Hudson pad, à droite, le Joyball.



goto top Retour en haut


Câblage

Un adaptateur peut être fabriqué simplement en câblant un connecteur DB15 Mâle à un cable récupéré sur une manette NES. Attention, la couleur des fils ici est celle des manettes officielles de Nintendo. Les manettes fabriquées par des tiers pourraient être différentes.

#broche DB15Couleur NESFonction
1 Brun GND
12 Orange Latch
13 Jaune Data
14 Rouge Clock
15 Blanc +5 volt


Câblage

Câblage

Câblage

Câblage

Câblage

Câblage

Résultat

Résultat



Cet adaptateur fonctionne très bien avec le Hudson Pad, et très probablement avec beaucoup d'autres modèles de manettes.

Mais étrangement, il ne fonctionne pas bien avec le Joyball. Détails ci-dessous.

goto top Retour en haut


Joyball

Le symptome était que seuls la direction droite et le bouton A semblaient fonctionner. C'est très intéressant car il s'agit exactement du premier bit transmit (A) et du dernier (Droite). En effet, l'ordre est le suivant: A,B,Select,Start,Haut,Bas,Gauche,Droite.

En regardant les signaux à l'oscilloscope, le signal DATA se comportait assez bizarrement. Par exemple, lorsque A était appuyé, B devenait fonctionnel, ajoutez B, Select le devenait et ainsi de suite.

J'ai déduit qu'il devait s'agir d'un problème avec le signal d'horloge, un peu comme si une partie du Joyball avait du mal à le suivre. Comme si le «timing» n'était pas respecté. J'ai regardé à l'intérieur et il n'y avait qu'un IC (M60001-0103p), et pas le 4021 habituel. Je pense qu'ils ont du faire une puce sur mesure pour la fonction Turbo. Je n'ai pas pu trouver d'informations, impossible de valider le «timing».

Si j'avais eu à ma disposition une console Famicom, j'aurais pu comparer le timing utilisé avec celui de la NES. N'en ayant pas, j'ai décidé de programmer un microcontrôleur AVR pour étirer les impulsions d'horloge transmises par la NES de 0.5μ à 2μs. J'ai installé le circuit entre la manette et le NES.

Succès! J'ai mis la NES sous tension et avec les impulsions de 2μs, tout fonctionnait bien. Enfin presque, car j'ai rapidement compris pourquoi un Japonais m'avait dit que cette manette était nulle et que ceux qui la possédait à l'époque faisaient moquer d'eux par leurs amis. C'est qu'après avoir gagné contre son incompatiblité avec la NES, je suis devenu perdant à Burgertime… Tout ce travail pour ça! Allez-y, moquez-vous de moi ;)

En haut: signal de la NES.<br>En bas: Signal sortant de l'AVR.

En haut: signal de la NES.
En bas: Signal sortant de l'AVR.

Test en cours

Test en cours



Voici le code, très simple, utilisé pour allonger le signal d'horloge.
1 #include 
2 #include 
3 
4 int main(void)
5 {
6     // In: PORTB5
7     // PORTB all pullup
8     DDRB = 0x00;
9     PORTB = 0xFF;
10 
11     // Out: PORTC, ANY
12     DDRC = 0xFF;
13     PORTC = 0x00;
14 
15     // PORTD unused, input + pull
16     PORTD = 0xFF;
17     DDRD = 0x00;
18 
19     while(1)
20     {
21         // Wait for falling edge
22         while (PINB & (1<<PINB5));
23 
24         PORTC = 0x00;
25         _delay_us(2);
26         PORTC = 0xff;
27     }
28 }

goto top Retour en haut


Références

Les documents suivants ont été très utiles pour la réalisation de ce projet:

goto top Retour en haut


Avertissement

Je ne saurais être tenu responsable pour les dommages que l'utilisation des informations ou la mise en œuvre des instructions présentées sur cette page pourrait causer à votre équipement, à vous-même ou à autrui. Aussi, je ne donne aucune garantie quant à l'exactitude des informations et à leur fonctionnement.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 17 Novembre 2014 (Lundi)