APF TV Fun console repair



Overview of the system

The APF TV Fun is a series of early Pong clone consoles manufactured by APF Electronics Inc. and built in Japan starting in 1976. The systems were among the first built on the General Instruments 'Pong on a chip', the AY-3-8500, that allowed many manufacturers to compete against the Atari home pong. The model 401 and 401a features four built in games, a built in speaker, and two controller knobs, Toggle Switches (choices are "Professional" and "Amateur") for the following settings - Angle / Bat Size / Ball Speed. There are 2 buttons - Power and Start Game, and a dial to select between the four built-in games. Source: Wikipedia.

A friend entrusted me with the system described above (Model 401) for repairs. Here are a few pictures:
APF TV Fun

APF TV Fun

APF TV Fun

APF TV Fun

Game selection and options

Game selection and options



Here are screenshots for each of the four games:
« Tennis »

« Tennis »

« Soccer »

« Soccer »

« Squash »

« Squash »

« Handball »

« Handball »



Despite being extremely simple, these games are still surprisingly enthralling! The controls have an instantaneous effect and are of a type perfectly adapted to the games. At the end of each match, doing a rematch to try to beat one's record (or adversary if you lost) is very tempting. It is not easy to stop playing. And if you ask me, it had better be that way. Given that according to old-computers.com this system sold for 125$ in 1976 and that this supposedly translates to about 513$ in 2014 dollars...

Undocumented game!

The Wikipedia page of the AY-3-8500 chip on which this system is based caught my attention:

« In addition, a seventh undocumented game could be played when none of the previous six was selected: Handicap, a soccer variant where the player on the right has a third paddle. This game was implemented on very few systems. »

Undocumented game? Interesting. The AY-3-8500 has 6 pins dedicated to game selection. To enable a game, the corresponding pin must be connected to GND. It seems that if all 6 inputs are left floating, a seventh game is enabled: "Handicap soccer". It is a simply a variation of the hockey game shown above but where the right player controls three bats instead of two. Perfect when the two players are not of equal force.

On the APF TV Fun, the undocumented game is active when the user sets the dial at the equilibrium point between any two positions:
« Regular soccer »

« Regular soccer »

« Handicap soccer »

« Handicap soccer »


Examples:
1-2

1-2

2-3

2-3

3-4

3-4


goto top Up


Problems

The console as I received it suffered mostly of cosmetic problems. Mostly, prolonged storage without removing the batteries beforehand was to blame. In short, the problems and solutions were:

goto top Up


Inside

Now here are a few pictures of the internals:



The circuit is very simply thanks to the use of the AY-3-8500 integrated circuit. By the way, here is the datasheet:
AY-3-8500.pdf

Using google images, it is possible to locate many different schematics of game consoles based on this chip. For reference, here is the most similar schematic I could find:

goto top Up


Replacement toggle switch stick

One of the toggle switches stick was missing (broken at the base) so I built a replacement which I glued in place.
Missing stick

Missing stick


1. Turning the part

Using the stick from another switch as a model, I turned an aluminium piece until the same diameter was obtained. I cut a chamfer visually close enough to the original before cutting off the piece at its final length.

Diameter: Ok

Diameter: Ok

Length: Ok

Length: Ok

Chamfer

Chamfer

Chamfer: Very similar

Chamfer: Very similar

Cutting off

Cutting off

Result

Result


2. Preparations for gluing

Intending to use glue, I used a cut disc to give the base of the stick an irregular texture, in the hope of obtaining a stronger bond. For the same reason, on the switch side, I used the tip of my soldering iron to create a rougher surface.

The adhesive I used is a type of epoxy.


3. Result

24 hours later, the switch worked perfectly and did not look much different from the two others. The operation was a success.



goto top Up


Power connector

The external power connector not having been spared by the leaking batteries, it was necessary to replace it. I expected I would have to machine an adapter part to hold the new connector in the original opening, but in the end I found a replacement with exactly the same dimensions!
Verdigris in the power connector

Verdigris in the power connector

Verdigris in the power connector

Verdigris in the power connector

New vs. Old connector

New vs. Old connector

Replaced connector

Replaced connector


When running on 6 batteries, the total voltage was 9v. According to the datasheet, the maximum voltage rating for the AY-3-8500 chip is +12v. But the "standard" operating conditions are stated to be +6 to +7 volt, so I decided to use a 6 volt power supply. In any case, it will be more convenient than batteries.
New power supply

New power supply



goto top Up


Output connector

The RF output connector also had verdigris on it so I replaced it.
The old connector and its replacement

The old connector and its replacement



goto top Up


Battery compartment

Here's what often happens when you leave batteries in when storing a device. The batteries "leak" and surrounding metals are attacked. Look at those colorful crystals. It reminds me of coral reefs.

Heavy verdigris on battery contacts

Heavy verdigris on battery contacts

Contacts removed

Contacts removed

Cleaning up...

Cleaning up...



After removing the old contacts and cleaning the enclosure, I considered manufacturing new contacts, but in the end I simply gave up the possibility of using batteries. Now storing the system without removing the batteries will never happen again.

goto top Up


Composite-out mod.

In order to obtain a better image (less noisy) and make sure the system would be easy to use with modern an future tv sets, I converted the RF output to a composite output.

The TV Fun combines all the video outputs from the chip (ball, paddles, score and obstacles) using a CD4071 and the resulting signal has its voltage lowered before going to the RF modulator. This is the perfect place to capture the composite video signal.

But the TV Fun circuitry is not designed to be connected directly to a TV Set. The impedance of a composite video input is 75 ohm, and the output impedance of TV Fun circuit is about 1000ohm (exact value depends on the adjustment). The resulting amplitude on the receiver side would be very low. (There was a picture when I tried, but it was very noisy and jumpy).

In order to send a strong signal to the TV, I built a simple video buffer (see my 3 Channel video buffer project) based on the THS7314 chip, a 3-channel operational amplifier with special features that help when dealing with video. Thanks to this circuit, the TV Fun electronics are isolated and spared the effort of driving a 75ohm transmission line. Modifications to the original circuitry are minimal, so undoing this mod would be easy.

The THS7314 IC works from 3 to 5 volt, but the console works at 6 volt so I had to use a regulator. I had one my my multiuse PCB2 assembled with a 3.3v regulator on hand, which I simply used.

Here are a few pictures of the modification. Note that the RF modulator is intact and still works.
Video buffer and the regulator board

Video buffer and the regulator board

Video buffer

Video buffer

Capturing the video signal

Capturing the video signal

Installation

Installation



A few additional pictures:


goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: May 20, 2014 (Tuesday)

Remise à neuf d'une console TVFun



Aperçu de la console

« L'APF TV Fun est une console de jeux vidéo de première génération. Il s'agit d'un clone de Pong fabriqué par APF Electronics au Japon à partir de 1976. Cette console est basée sur la puce AY-3-8500. Les modèles 401 et 401a disposent d'un haut parleur intégré, de deux boutons de contrôle, d'interrupteur à bascule pour la difficulté (les choix sont « professionnel » ou « amateur »), pour l'angle/la taille de la batte/la vitesse de la balle. Il y a aussi une molette pour choisir entre les 4 jeux intégrés (à savoir le tennis, le hockey, le handball et le squash1).» . Source: Wikipedia.

Un ami m'a confié la console décrite ci-haut (modèle 401) pour que je la remette en état. Voici quelques photos:
APF TV Fun

APF TV Fun

APF TV Fun

APF TV Fun

Sélection du jeu et options

Sélection du jeu et options



Voici quelques «screenshots» des quatres jeux:
« Tennis »

« Tennis »

« Hockey »

« Hockey »

« Squash »

« Squash »

« Handball »

« Handball »



Bien qu'ils soient extrêmement simples, ceux jeux sont contre toute attente réellement captivants! Les commandes ont un effet instantané et sont d'un type parfaitement adaptées pour ce genre jeu. À chaque partie terminée, la tentation de recommencer pour tenter de batre son record (ou son adversaire en cas de défaite) est très forte. Il est donc difficile de se résoudre à arrêter de jouer. À mon avis, il vallait mieux que ce soit ainsi sachant que selon old-computers.com ce système était vendu pour environ 125$ en 1976 et qu'en 2014 cela équivaudrait à 513$...

Jeu secret!

La version anglaise de la page Wikipedia sur l'IC AY-3-8500 autour duquel cette console est basée m'a intriguée:

« In addition, a seventh undocumented game could be played when none of the previous six was selected: Handicap, a soccer variant where the player on the right has a third paddle. This game was implemented on very few systems. »

Un jeu non-documenté? Très intéressant! La puce AY-3-8500 possède 6 broches de sélection de jeu. Une seule doit être reliée au GND pour activer le jeu correspondant. Lorsque les 6 eentrées sont laissée flottantes, un septième jeu est actif: « Hockey avec handicap ». Il s'agit simplement d'une variation du jeu « Hockey » où le joueur de droite contrôle une troisième batte. Parfait lorsque les deux joueurs sont de force trop inégale.

Pour accéder à ce jeu sur la console APF TV Fun, il suffit de placer la molette de sélection en équilibre entre deux positions. Voici ce que cela donne:
« Hockey normal »

« Hockey normal »

« Hockey avec handicap »

« Hockey avec handicap »


Exemples:
1-2

1-2

2-3

2-3

3-4

3-4


goto top Retour en haut


Problèmes

J'ai reçu la console dans un état comportant surtout des problèmes d'ordre cosmétiques. L'entreposage de la console sans le retrait préalable des piles est à blâmer pour la plupart des déteriorations. En résumé, les problèmes et les solutions:

goto top Retour en haut


L'intérieur

Maintenant quelques photos de l'intérieur:



Le circuit est très simple grâce à l'emploi du IC AY-3-8500. En voici d'ailleurs le datasheet:
AY-3-8500.pdf

Des recherches via google images m'ont permi de trouver plusieurs schémas de consoles de jeu utilisant cette puce. Voici celui qui est le plus similaire au design de la TVFun que j'ai pu trouver.

goto top Retour en haut


Bâtonnet de remplacement

Le «bâtonnet» d'un des interrupteurs étant manquant (parce que brisé à la base), j'en ai fabriqué un nouveau que j'ai collé en place.
Bâtonnet absent

Bâtonnet absent


1. Tournage de la pièce

En utilisant comme modèle le bâtonnet d'un autre interrupteur sur la console, j'ai d'abord tourné une pièce d'aluminium jusqu'à l'obtention du même diamètre et d'une longueur légèrement supérieure. J'ai ensuite coupé un chanfrein similaire à l'original.

Bon diamètre

Bon diamètre

Bonne longueur

Bonne longueur

Chanfreingage

Chanfreingage

Le même chanfrein

Le même chanfrein

Tronquage final

Tronquage final

Résultat

Résultat


2. Préparation au collage

La pièce devant être collée, j'ai utilisé un disque pour créer des irrégularités, dans l'espoir d'obtenir une meilleur adhérence. Pour la même raison, du côté de l'interrupteur, j'ai utilisé la pointe d'un fer à souder pour la rendre la surface rugeuse.

J'ai utilisé un adhésif de type époxy.


3. Résultat

24 heures plus tard, l'interrupteur fonctionne et de l'extérieur ne semble pas très différent des deux autres. C'est un succès.



goto top Retour en haut


Connecteur d'alimentation

Le connecteur pour une alimentation externe n'ayant pas été épargné, son remplacement était nécessaire. Je pensais avoir à machiner une pièce pour faire tenir le connecteur neuf dans le même espace mais finalement j'en ai trouvé un aux dimensions externes identiques!
Oxydation du connecteur d'alimentation

Oxydation du connecteur d'alimentation

Oxydation du connecteur d'alimentation

Oxydation du connecteur d'alimentation

Comparaison nouveau et ancien

Comparaison nouveau et ancien

Connecteur changé

Connecteur changé


Lorsque la console fonctionnait sous piles, le voltage total était de 9 volt. Selon la fiche technique de la puce AY-3-8500, la tension d'alimentation maximale est +12v. Mais comme les conditions «standard» sont énoncés comme étant de +6 à +7 volt, j'ai opté pour une alimentation à 6 volt. Quoi qu'il en soit, ce sera certainement plus pratique que des piles.
Nouvelle alimentation

Nouvelle alimentation



goto top Retour en haut


Connecteur de sortie RF

Comme le connecteur de sortie RF était un peu «vert-de-grisé» je l'ai remplacé par un neuf.
L'ancien et son remplaçant

L'ancien et son remplaçant



goto top Retour en haut


Compartiment à piles

Voici ce qui se produit souvent lorsqu'on laisse les piles dans un appareil qu'on entrepose. Les piles «coulent» et les métaux environnant se font attaquer. Regardez-moi ces cristaux! On dirait presque des coraux.

Oxydation des contacts pour piles

Oxydation des contacts pour piles

Contacts retirés

Contacts retirés

Nettoyage...

Nettoyage...



Après le retrait des vieux contacts et le nettoyage du boîtier, j'ai pensé fabriquer de nouveaux contacts. Mais finalement j'ai décidé d'abandonner la possiblité d'une alimentation à piles. Ainsi, l'oublie de piles à cet endroit pour une longue période ne se reproduira pas.

goto top Retour en haut


Modification sortie Composite

Afin d'obtenir une meilleure image (moins de bruit) et de faciliter l'utilisation du système avec les téléviseurs modernes et futurs, j'ai transformé la sortie «RF» en sortie composite.

Les sorties vidéos correspondant aux différents éléments du jeu (balle, raquettes, score et obstacles) sont combinés via la puce CD4071 puis la tension du signal résultant est ajustée avant qu'il passe à la section modulateur RF. Voici l'endroit parfait pour récupérer le signal.

Mais le circuit tel que conçu n'est pas adéquat pour un raccord direct à la télévision. En effet, comme l'impédance d'une entrée composite est de 75 ohm et que l'impédance de sortie du circuit est de l'ordre de 1000 ohm (la valeur exacte dépends de l'ajustement), l'amplitude du signal qui atteindrait la télévision serait très basse. (J'ai essayé et ça ne fonctionnait pas bien. L'image était bruyante et sautillait beaucoup).

Afin de transmettre un signal fort vers le téléviseur, j'ai construit un petit circuit basé sur l'IC THS7314 (voir projet Buffer vidéo à 3 canaux), une puce contenant trois amplificateurs opérationnels et des extras qui facilitent le traitement de signal vidéo. Grâce à ce circuit, l'électronique de la TV Fun est isolée et n'est pas influencée par l'effort que requiert le pilotage d'une ligne de transmission 75ohm. De plus, comme les modifications au circuit original sont minimales, un retour à l'original serait facile.

Le THS7314 peut fonctionner de 3 à 5 volt, mais la console fonctionne sous 6 volt. J'ai donc du utiliser un régulateur. J'avais sous la main un de mes circuit multiuse PCB2 assemblé avec un régulateur 3.3v. Je l'utilise comme régulateur et le micro-contrôleur n'est simplement pas programmé.

Voici quelques photos de la modification. Notez que le circuit de modulation RF reste intact. Ainsi, il suffira de changer le câble coaxial d'endroit si jamais un retour au type de sortie original était souhaité.
Circuit «buffer vidéo» et multiuse pcb2

Circuit «buffer vidéo» et multiuse pcb2

Circuit «buffer vidéo»

Circuit «buffer vidéo»

Récupération du signal à l'entrée du modulateur

Récupération du signal à l'entrée du modulateur

Installation

Installation



Quelques images supplémentaires:


goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 20 Mai 2014 (Mardi)