Computa games (Jeux de calcul)



Introduction

Computa games is an educational math game created by André Normandeau.

Winner of the 1987 APOLOG contest organized by the Ministère de l'éducation du Québec[1] in collaboration with AQUOPS[2], this game was distributed to all Quebec schools. Computa games is the english version of Jeux de calcul.

Computa games proposes 3 addition games, 2 multiplication games and one using the four operators (+ - ÷ x). Details are given below:

[1] Quebec Ministry of Education
[2] Rough translation: Quebec Primary and Secondary School Computer Users Association

goto top Retour en haut


Play online


Start the game

(Will open a new window or tab)
WEB Version, 2016-04-20 (True to version 3.0, but with a few improvements (or deviations):

  • Mouse support added. (In menus and for placing tokens)
  • The ESCAPE key can now be used to go back in menus, or to end a game.
  • The game language can be changed. (Option in the main menu).
  • No teacher's menu nor options for saving results.
  • Fewer confirmations when entering names.
  • Allow using names longer than 3 characters in ADDIC and MULTIC games.
  • Some in-game message can be skipped by pressing a key (instead of waiting 5 seconds)
  • Menus a bit more colorful and uniformized.


This online version is made possible by em-dosbox. This technology is also used by archive.org's MS-DOS game archive

goto top Retour en haut


Download

The game is not offered for download yet.

goto top Retour en haut


The games

ScreenshotGame titleSpecifications

ADDIC I
  • 3 Dices
  • 7x7 Grid, with numbers between 1 and 10
  • Addition or subtraction
  • One equation line
  • The first player to form a line of 4 tokens wins.

ADDIC II
  • 3 Dice
  • 7x7 Grid, with numbers from 6 to 18
  • Addition or subtraction
  • One equation line
  • The first player to form a line of 4 tokens wins.

ADDIC III
  • 3 Dice
  • 7x7 Grid, with numbers from 1 to 20
  • Addition and subtraction
  • Two equation lines
  • The first player to form a line of 4 tokens wins.

MULTIC I
  • 4 Dice
  • 7x7 Grid, with numbers up to 48
  • Multiplication only (below 49)
  • One equation line
  • The first player to form a line of 4 tokens wins.

MULTIC II
  • 4 Dice
  • 7x7 Grid, with numbers up to 72
  • Multiplication only (up to 9x9)
  • One equation line
  • The first player to form a line of 4 tokens wins.

THE THREE DICE
  • 3 Dice
  • 10x5 Grid, numbered from 0 to 49 (sorted)
  • Two equation lines
  • Scoring based on adjacent tokens

goto top Retour en haut


Computa games history

In the early 80s, André Normandeau was a mathematics counsellor and felt that we did not play enough with numbers. Inspired by ideas from American magazines, he built a few table games to be put to the test by colleagues.

The players had to roll their dice, use the obtained numbers in an equation and then place their token in a numbered grid, on a cell matching the result, ultimately to win by being first to form a line.

There were no doubts about the educative and entertainment virtues of this concept but a shortcoming was quickly identified: The lack of control. It was not unthinkable that one of the pupil would give a wrong answer and place his token on the wrong spot without the other players noticing, being all of course equally beginners in arithmetics...

Realizing how suitable a computer would be to close this gap, he initiates himself to BASIC programming on Commodore 64 and creates a game that improves for a few years by being tested by his children (who were good at doing unforeseen manipulations, revealing bugs) and also a teacher who had a Commodore 64 in his classroom. The game is eventually converted to GW-Basic, enabling its use on PC and compatibles.

One day a coworker shows him a letter announcing a software contest (APOLOG) organized by the Ministère de l'Éducation du Québec in collaboration with AQUOPS (Association Québécoise des Utilisateurs de l’Ordinateur au Primaire et au Secondaire). He thinks to himself "Why not?" and enters into the contest with his game.

A few months later, having almost forgotten about the contest, he receives a phone call. He is asked if he will be at the congress where contest results will be revealed and that otherwise his presence in the room at least during the announcement is wished for because he is a finalist!

His game is awarded first place for the primary school level of the contest, a grant for its publication and distribution to all Quebec schools.

goto top Retour en haut


Distribution by Logidisque inc.

The publisher selected for Computa games was Logidisque inc., known also for the game Mimi la fourmi and later for the Hugo plus spell checker. Here are a few pictures of the game in its original packaging.



The price set by the publisher for the game (around 1990) was 49,95$ CAD. This would be about 82,58$ in 2016 dollars[1]. For a parent considering the acquisition of the game for his children, it would seem like the price was a major barrier, given that the game author confesses never hearing about any sales.

A quick search at the registraire des entreprises du Québec indicates that Logidisque inc. is no longer in activity since 2001.


[1] The equivalent in today's dollars was estimated using the Bank of Canada Feuille de calcul de l'inflation.

goto top Retour en haut


Why this page?

I created this page even though I am not the author of this game. Let me explain why:

I remember playing this game in 1990 or 1991 when we used the school computers for the first time, in 3rd grade. Though I had lost, the game clearly made an impression on me. Even though I do not recall playing it that many times at school, I somehow never forgot the name of the author. Thanks to this I was able meet him in early 2016 and finally play this game again.

While of modest appearance by today's standards, Computa games remains an excellent game to play with one's children. I thought it was regrettable that no traces of it could be found on the net, an unfortunately common situation that many made-and-distributed-mostly(if not only)-in-Quebec software share. I believe this game, part of an historic effort to put computers at the service of education, deserves its own page in Quebec's history of computing. It definitely should be preserved.

With the agreement of the original author and thinking of all who remembering the game probably searched for it, I created this page hoping that from now on, finding as well as playing Computa games will be possible, and easy.

goto top Retour en haut


Legal notes

As far as I can tell, this game is Abandonware. It has not been distributed in a long time and its publisher (Logidisque) does not exists anymore. Combined to the fact that this game is for an obsolete platform, it seem reasonable to assume that if the rights were transfered to another entity which still exists, future commercial exploitation of the game by said entity is very unlikely.

I therefore make this game available without any bad intentions and not for profit. All I hope is that an artefact important to me, one that usefully entertained thousands of students from my generation, gets preserved and maybe rediscovered by the next.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 20 Avril 2016 (Mercredi)

Jeux de calcul



Introduction

« Jeux de calcul » est un jeu de mathématiques éducatif créé par André Normandeau.

Gagnant du concours APOLOG 1987 organisé par le Ministère de l'éducation du Québec en collaboration avec l'AQUOPS[1], ce jeu a été distribué à toutes les écoles du Québec. Une version Anglaise intitulée « Computa games » a également été réalisée.

« Jeux de calcul » est composé de 3 niveaux de jeu d'addition, 2 de multiplication, et un dernier utilisant les quatre opérateurs (+ - ÷ x). Les différents jeux le composant sont expliqués ci-dessous.

[1] Association Québécoise des Utilisateurs de l'Ordinateur au Primaire et au Secondaire

goto top Retour en haut


Jouer en ligne


Démarrer le jeu

(S'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre ou onglet)
Version WEB 2016-04-20 (Fidèle à la version 3.0, mais avec quelques améliorations (ou déviations):

  • La souris est supportée. (Dans les menus et pour placer un jeton sur la grille)
  • Il est possible d'utiliser la touche ESCAPE pour reculer dans les menus ou mettre fin à une partie.
  • La langue peut être changée. (Option dans le menu principal)
  • Pas de menu du professeur ni de fonctions d'enregistrement des résultats.
  • Moins de demandes de confirmation lors de la saisie des noms.
  • Permet d'utiliser un nom de plus que 3 lettres dans les jeux ADDIC et MULTIC.
  • Permet d'appuyer sur une touche pour faire disparaître certains messages plus rapidement en jeu.
  • Menus un peu plus colorés et uniformisation des menus et questions avant le jeu.


La version en ligne est rendue possible par em-dosbox. Cette technologie est la même qu'utilisée par l'archive de jeux MS-DOS de archive.org

goto top Retour en haut


Téléchargement

Le jeu n'est pas présentement disponible en téléchargement.

goto top Retour en haut


Les jeux

« Screenshot »Nom du jeuCaractéristiques

ADDIC I
  • 3 Dés
  • Grille 7x7, cases numérotées de 1 à 10
  • Additions et soustractions
  • Une seule équation

ADDIC II
  • 3 Dés
  • Grille 7x7, cases numérotées de 6 à 18
  • Additions et soustractions
  • Une seule équation
  • Le premier joueur à faire une ligne de 4 gagne

ADDIC III
  • 3 Dés
  • Grille 7x7, cases numérotées de 1 à 20
  • Additions et soustractions
  • Deux lignes d'équation

MULTIC I
  • 4 Dés
  • Grille 7x7, cases numérotées jusqu'à 48.
  • Multiplications seulement (inférieures à 54)
  • Une seule équation

MULTIC II
  • 4 Dés
  • Grille 7x7, cases numérotées jusqu'à 72.
  • Multiplications seulement (jusqu'à 9x9)
  • Une seule équation

LES TROIS DÉS
  • 3 Dés
  • Grille 10x5, numérotée de 0 à 49 (en ordre)
  • Deux lignes d'équation
  • Pointage selon jetons à proximité

goto top Retour en haut


Petite histoire de « Jeux de Calcul »

André Normandeau était à l'époque (début 80) conseiller en Mathématiques et trouvait qu'on ne jouait pas assez avec les nombres. S'inspirant d'idées provenant de revues américaines, il construisit des jeux de table qui furent aussitôt mis à l'essai par ses collègues enseignants.

Il s'agissait de lancer ses dés et d'en utiliser les chiffres dans une équation pour pouvoir placer son jeton à un endroit stratégique sur une grille numérotée, la victoire appartenant au premier joueur qui formerait une ligne.

Bien que tel quel il s'agissait d'un concept d'une indiscutable valeur éducative et ludique, un défaut fut révélé: L'absence de contrôle. Car il était tout à fait possible qu'un élève se trompe dans un calcul et dépose son jeton au mauvais endroit, et ce sans que les autres joueurs, tous autant débutants en arithmétique, ne s'en rendent compte...

Réalisant qu'un ordinateur comblerait parfaitement cette lacune, il s'initie à la programmation BASIC sur Commodore 64 puis crée le jeu qui évoluera d'abord quelques années, testé par ses enfants (qui savaient bien faire des manipulations imprévues exposant des bugs) et même par un professeur ayant un Commodore 64 dans sa classe. Le jeu est éventuellement converti à GW-Basic pour pouvoir tourner sur PC.

Un jour un collègue lui montre une lettre annonçant un concours de logiciel (APOLOG) organisé par le Ministère de l'Éducation du Québec en collaboration avec l'AQUOPS (Association Québécoise des Utilisateurs de l’Ordinateur au Primaire et au Secondaire). Il se dit « pourquoi pas? » et soumet son jeu.

Il reçoit un appel quelques mois plus tard, alors qu'il a pratiquement oublié le concours. On lui demande s'il sera présent au congrès lors duquel les résultats du concours seront annoncés, en précisant qu'un au minimum sa présence dans la salle est souhaitée pour l'annonce, car il est parmi les finalistes!

Son jeu remporte le premier prix pour le niveau primaire du concours, une subvention pour que le jeu soit édité et distribué dans toutes les écoles du Québec.

goto top Retour en haut


Distribution par Logidisque inc.

L'éditeur choisi pour Jeux de Calcul était la société Logidisque inc., connue également pour le jeu Mimi la fourmi et plus tard le correcteur d'orthographe Hugo plus. Voici quelques photos d'un exemplaire de l'emballage d'origine.



Le prix établi pour le jeu par l'éditeur était 49,95$ CAD en 1990, ce qui équivaudrait environ à 82,58$ en dollars d'aujourd'hui[1]. Pour un parent souhaitant faire l'acquisition du jeu pour ses enfants, c'était vraisemblablement une sérieuse barrière, considérant que M. Normandeau, l'auteur du jeu, m'a confié n'avoir jamais entendu parler de ventes.

Une consultation au registraire des entreprises du Québec indique que Logidisque inc. n'existe plus depuis 2001.


[1] L'équivalence en dollars d'aujourd'hui a été estimée avec la Feuille de calcul de l'inflation de la banque du Canada.

goto top Retour en haut


Pourquoi cette page

Je ne suis pas l'auteur de ce jeu, mais j'ai créé cette page. Voici pourquoi:

Je me souviens avoir joué à ce jeu en 1990 ou 1991, alors que j'étais en troisième année du primaire et que nous utilisions les ordinateurs de l'école pour la première fois. Bien que j'avais perdu la partie, j'ai dû être impressionné car même si je ne crois pas y avoir joué si souvent au primaire, je n'ai jamais oublié le nom de l'auteur, ce qui m'a permit de le rencontrer début 2016 et de finalement revoir ce jeu.

Bien que visuellement modeste par les standards d'aujourd'hui, Jeux de calcul demeure un excellent jeu auquel faire jouer ses enfants. Je trouvais dommage qu'il ne semblait y en avoir aucune trace sur internet, situation malheureusement partagée par beaucoup de logiciels créés et distribués principalement au Québec. Ce jeu à mon avis mérite sa page dans l'histoire de l'informatique au Québec et fait partie à mes yeux d'un effort historique pour mettre les ordinateurs au service de l'éducation. Cela mérite certainement d'être préservé.

Avec l'accord de l'auteur et en pensant à tous ceux qui s'en souvenant l'ont peut-être cherché pour y rejouer, j'ai créé cette page afin de rendre le jeu accessible à nouveau et éviter qu'il soit oublié.

goto top Retour en haut


Notes légales

Ce logiciel semble être un « Abandonware » (Logiciel abandonné) puisqu'il n'est plus édité depuis un bon moment et son éditeur (Logidisque) n'existe plus. Comme en plus ce jeu est destiné à une plateforme désuète, il me semble raisonnable de penser que si jamais les droits ont été transférés à une quelconque entité qui existe encore aujourd'hui, l'entité en question n'a probablement pas l'intention d'exploiter ce jeu commercialement.

C'est donc sans mauvaises intentions que je rends ce jeu disponible dans un but non commercial, dans un soucis de préserver un artefact important à mes yeux qui a diverti de manière utile des milliers d'étudiants de ma génération et dans l'espoir qu'il soit redécouvert par la suivante.

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 20 Avril 2016 (Mercredi)