Repair of an Atari 130xe computer



About the Atari 130xe

The Atari 130xe was one of the last 8 bit computers built by Atari. This one is from a lot of rare (old) computers I bought in a flea market. Unfortunately, this computer was non-fonctional when I got it. This page describes the steps I took to repair this computer. Hopefully, the information here will be useful to someone someday...

goto top Up


Power adaptor

I did not have a power adaptor for this computer so I built using a DIN connector and a suitable power adaptor (rating: 5 volts, 2.5A max). In practise I measured a current of about 800mA, so any 5v power supply rated at 1A or above should be appropriate.

I found the power connector pinout in the Atari 8 bit FAQ: http://www.faqs.org/faqs/atari-8-bit/faq/. Here is the pinout, copied from the FAQ:
Power Adapter Plug (all but 400,800,1200XL,1400XL,1450XLD):
  7   6
3       1
 5     4
    2
1. +5V
2. Shield
3. Ground
4. +5V
5. Ground
6. +5V
7. Ground
	
Note that the orientation shown above is what you see when looking at the back of the computer.

Recently (January 2014) I built an USB power cable for this computer. USB power supplies capable of supplying enough current (~1A) are now very common, so an USB based solution is possible and convenient.


goto top Up


First problem: RAM

Bad ram

Bad ram

When I powered up the Atari for the first time, the memory test screen immediately appeared. The test failed (shown by many red boxes). It was likely that one or many memory chips were defective....

To fix the problem, I needed to locate and replace the bad memory chip(s). So I desoldered half of the memory chips (a total of 128 solder joints) and installed sockets.

The DRAM chips that were initially installed in my atari were of the 4264 type. Luckily, I had some compatible memory chips in stock (some km41256-15). I used an elimination process to find the bad chip (swap old chip with new chip, test, put the old chip back...). In the end, there was only one bad chip.

Just for reference (It was hard to find) here is the pinout for the 4264 RAM chips:
       __  __
  NC -|  \/  |- Vss
 Din -|      |- /CAS
 /WE -|      |- Dout
/RAS -|      |- A6
  A0 -|      |- A3
  A2 -|      |- A4
  A1 -|      |- A5
 Vcc -|      |- A7
      '------'
	
Ok!

Ok!

After replacing the bad RAM chip, the memory test screen would not appear at powerup anymore. Only the 'OK' basic prompt. When I ran the memory test later (typing BYE at the basic prompt and selecting the test from a menu), no more errors were visible.

However, when I tried typing in a basic program, I discovered that some keyboard keys did not work :(

goto top Up


Second problem: Keyboard with non-working keys

So, some keys were non-functional. First, I had to determine what was really causing the problem. Was it the keyboard itself or the associated circuitry on-board?

I disconnected the keyboard and using a small piece of wire, I tried connecting a pair of keyboard connector pins in all possible combinations until I saw a non-working character appear on screen. So it was a keyboard problem!


Next I opened the keyboard. Inside, there was a plastic sheet with an electrical circuit drawn on it, using some sort of conductive ink. Finding the broken tracks under the keys was easy, but I had to use a multimeter to find breaks in the ribbon that goes to the motherboard.

To repair the tracks, I bought a window defogger repair kit. This paint conducts electricity very well and dries real fast! I used a very small brush to repair the tracks, but it was sometimes very hard not to paint over the neighboring tracks. I corrected my mistakes by scraping the paint with a sharp knife tip.

(Note: This good idea is not mine. It's a suggestion someone named Aaron made in reply to a question about an Atari 800xl keyboard in the comp.sys.atari.8bit newsgroup in 1999. Here is a link to this thread on google groups.

On these two pictures, you can get a closer view of the repair.

Now that the keyboard was repaired, I was able to type the 'BYE' command, which made the test menu appear. I was able to confirm that all the keyboard keys were functional.

goto top Up


SNES controller

Using SNES controllers with on an Atari 130xe is possible with my SNES to Atari/Commodore adapter.

goto top Up


Future projects

Now that I have a functional Atari 130xe, I'm considering building an SIO2PC cable. With this cable, it's possible to connect the Atari with a PC with the PC emulating an Atari floppy drive. This means it is not necessary to use real disks (and to own a floppy drive, which I dont) to use software downloaded from the net...

But since I dont have an SIO connector, I plan to build the interface directly inside the Atari. This means there will be a DB9 connector on the Atari.

I'm also thinking about buying or building a cartridge for games.

To be continued...

goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: November 17, 2014 (Monday)

Réparation d'un ordinateur 130xe d'Atari



À propos de l'Atari 130xe

L'Atari 130xe

L'Atari 130xe

L'Atari 130xe fut l'un des derniers dans la famille des ordinateurs 8 bits d'Atari. J'ai obtenu celui ci dans un lot de quelques ordinateurs rares, dans un marché aux puces. Cette page résume mon expérience avec cet ordinateur, qui n'était pas fonctionnel lorsque je l'ai acheté. J'espère que ces informations pourront être utiles à d'autres que moi.

goto top Retour en haut


Alimentation

Je n'ai pas reçu de cable d'alimentation pour cet ordinateur. J'en ai construit un à l'aide d'un connecteur DIN et d'un adaptateur donnant du 5 volts, 2.5A max. C'est largement suffisant car j'ai mesuré un courant d'environ seulement 800 mA. Une alimentation capable de fournir 1A ou plus semble être approprié.

J'ai trouvé le pin-out du connecteur de power dans le FAQ d'atari 8 bit: http://www.faqs.org/faqs/atari-8-bit/faq/. Voici l'extrait en question:
Power Adapter Plug (all but 400,800,1200XL,1400XL,1450XLD):
  7   6
3       1
 5     4
    2
1. +5V
2. Shield
3. Ground
4. +5V
5. Ground
6. +5V
7. Ground
	
Notez que l'orientation ci-dessus est celles des trous du connecteur lorsqu'on regarde à l'arrière du système.

Récemment (Janvier 2014) j'ai construit un nouveau câble d'alimentation pour cette machine. Les blocs d'alimentation USB capables de fournir assez de courant (environ 1A) sont maintenant courantes alors une approche par USB est maintenant possible et pratique.


goto top Retour en haut


Premier Problème: Mémoire vive

Erreur de mémoire

Erreur de mémoire

Lorsque j'ai mis l'Atari sous tension, l'écran de teste mémoire s'est immédiatement affiché. Le Test a révélé plusieurs erreurs car la plupart des cases étaient en rouge. De toute évidence, il y avait un problème avec une ou plusieurs puces de mémoire...

Pour remédier à la situation, j'ai dessoudé une partie des puces du circuit (128 soudures à défaire...) et j'ai installé des 'sockets' pour que les puces défectueuses puissent être remplacés facilement dans le futur.

Par chance, j'avais en stock de la mémoire dynamique compatible (km41256-15) avec celle qui était déja présente dans l'Atari (de la 4264). J'ai repéré la puce mémoire defectueuse en procédant par élimination. Il y avait une seule puce défectueuse.

Voici comme référence un diagramme ascii du pinout d'une RAM 4264:
       __  __
  NC -|  \/  |- Vss
 Din -|      |- /CAS
 /WE -|      |- Dout
/RAS -|      |- A6
  A0 -|      |- A3
  A2 -|      |- A4
  A1 -|      |- A5
 Vcc -|      |- A7
      '------'
	

Lorsque j'ai remis l'alimentation, il n'y a pas eu d'erreurs. Il y avait 'OK' d'écrit dans l'écran. J'ai donc commencé à écrire un programme en Basic mais, ô surprise!, certaines touches du clavier ne fonctionnait pas...

goto top Retour en haut


Deuxième Problème: Touches des clavier non-fonctionelles

Alors, certaines touches ne fonctionnaient pas. Pour savoir quoi réparer je devais commencer par déterminer s'il s'agissait d'une défectuosité du clavier lui-même ou plutôt d'un problème sur la carte mère.

À l'aide d'un petit fil, j'ai essayé toutes les combinaison possibles entre les contacts du connecteur de clavier et j'ai noté quels était les caractères apparaissant à l'écran. J'ai obtenu tout les caractères possibles, incluant ceux qui ne fonctionnaient pas sur le clavier. C'était donc un problème de clavier!

Après avoir dévissé une vingtaine de vis, j'ai finalement réussi à ouvrir le clavier. À l'intérieur, il y avait une membrane sur laquelle un circuit est dessiné avec une sorte d'encre conductrice. En général ce fut relativement facile de trouver les endroits brisés en regardant attentivement le circuit par en dessous (donc à travers la membrane). Cependant, il m'a fallu un multimètre pour déceler les coupures près de la partie se branchant à la carte mère.


Pour réparer les traces coupés, je me suis procuré une trousse de réparation pour désembueur de lunette. Cette peinture conduit très bien et sèche très vite! J'ai coupé une partie des pils du pinceau fourni pour une meilleure précision. Malgré cela, j'ai eu quelques difficultés que j'ai pu corriger en grattant la peinture avec la pointe d'un couteau. Je vous conseile fortement d'acheter un pinceau très fin si jamais vous devez faire la même opération.

(Note: Ce n'est pas moi qui ai eu cette idée géniale. C'est une suggestion q'un dénomé Aaron a fait en réponse à une question à propos d'un problème de clavier d'Atari 800xl dans le newsgroup comp.sys.atari.8bit en 1999. Voir la discussion en question sur google groups

Sur ces deux photos, vous pouvez voir de plus près la réparation.

J'ai été capable de taper la commande 'BYE', ce qui m'a amené au menu des tests. J'ai fait le test de clavier et toutes les touches sont maintenant fonctionelles.

goto top Retour en haut


Manette SNES

Il est possible d'utiliser mon adaptateur SNES à Atari/Commodore pour utiliser une manette SNES avec cette machine.

goto top Retour en haut


Projets futurs

Maintenant que je possède un Atari 130xe fonctionnel, je prévois construire un cable SIO2PC. Un cable SIO permet de brancher l'atari à un PC, le PC apparaissant à l'Atari comme un lecteur de disquettes. Il n'est donc pas nécéssaire d'utiliser de vrais disquettes (et de posséder un lecteur de disquettes!) pour essayer des images de disques téléchargés du net...

Étant donné que je n'ai pas de connecteur SIO, je compte construire l'interface directement dans le boitier. Il y aura donc un connecteur DB9 à l'arrière de l'Atari.

Je pense aussi a acheter ou construire une cartouche programmable pour certains jeux.

À suivre...

goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 3 Février 2014 (Lundi)