Frame for tatami mats



Inspiration

I am really fond of tatami. During my first trip to Japan, I became charmed by the peaceful appearance of tatami rooms. The texture, very enjoyable to the feet, is also an invitation to take a nap directly on the floor, letting oneself be soothed by the delicate hay perfume filling in the room.

A friend sharing a similar enthusiasm for tatami, told me about his plans to acquire 5 mats for one of his rooms. Of course, as room dimensions of North American houses are not set to receive a non-fractional quantity of tatami, some kind of enclosing frame would be required.

Finding a frame is not so easy. There are a few different standard tatami sizes, so the frame has to be matched to the tatami type. Also complicating things was not only the price of such frames on this continent being already too high, but also the high shipping fees due to properly sized frames being available only in fairly remote stores.

In short, it quickly became clear that a do it yourself solution would be best. The solution is presented on this page.

goto top Up


Design

Of course, a good looking result was a primary goal. But due to the fact that the frame was for a friend who is not really the DIY type (ergo, very few tools) and that he lives far from me (Several trips there in a short time would be difficult), I had the following additional constraints:

Moreover, at my friend's request: General assembly:
All four sides of the frames, assembled from 3 laths, lean on each other in a pattern reminescent of how two tatami come together.


Holding the sides together:
The four sides are held together using flat metal brackets, hidden under the frame in a chisel-made recesses.


Approval of the concept:
I made a few renders of the concept and let my friend have a look. He accepted the idea.

Isometric view

Isometric view

Top view

Top view

Corner detail

Corner detail

Corner detail

Corner detail



goto top Up


The wood

We went to a local hardware store to buy the wood. As we needed very long planks of approximately 9.5' (2788mm), the common 8' (2439mm) stock was not usable so we had to choose from what was available in lengths of 10' (3048mm). We chose to use pine, sold in planks of 10' x 4.75" x 0.75" (sold as 10' x 5" x 1"). From each plank, we would obtain two laths.

With a thickness of 3/4" (19.05mm), reaching a height of 50mm was not possible by stacking. This is why I designed the frame such that its height would be depend on something we control: The width of the laths. The width of the frame borders would however be fixed to 2.25" (57.15mm).



We intended to have the laths cut by the hardware store H where we would buy the wood. But as we already had selected and placed all the wood on a cart, bad surprise, we are told that this store did not offer such a service, they can only do simple cuts, unlike the competing store R which offers a lot more...

Wishing not to loose too much time, I proposed we bought the required tools to do the cuts ourselves. A circular saw would have been best, but I already owned one and my friend did not wish to acquire one. So I bought a band saw instead as I had been wanting one for a long time. I would simply bring it back home with me after completing the project.

Transporting the wood

Transporting the wood

The band saw

The band saw

The laths we cut

The laths we cut



Il was somehow difficult to obtain perfectly straight cuts, but we nontheless managed to do an acceptable job. And after 1440" (36m) of cutting, we were actually starting to obtain very good results.

goto top Up


Preparing sides

The 3 laths constituing each side of the frame are assembled using carpenter's glue and wood screws. To prevent crack from forming, we drilled holes before installing the screws which would be oriented as not to be visible when the tatami are installed. We tried to place darker laths between lighter ones, for we found the appearance pleasing.
Applying the glue

Applying the glue

Screws installed

Screws installed

Darker middle lath

Darker middle lath



Sanding the parts before the next step where each side would be cut to the final length.
Sanding

Sanding

Sanding

Sanding

Ready for the next step

Ready for the next step



A few measurements and calculations later, all double checked for when it comes to cutting something, cutting too short is much worst than cutting too long, we cut all four sides to their final length.
Checking the tatami dimensions

Checking the tatami dimensions

Calculating the target length

Calculating the target length

Cutting the sides

Cutting the sides

Cutting the sides

Cutting the sides


goto top Up


Metal brackets

After deciding where each piece would end being placed in the room according to their aesthetic qualities, we marked each corner by letters to prevent loosing track of them. We then delemited the zones to be chiseled-out.
Layout

Layout

Layout

Layout

The metal brackets

The metal brackets



And then we began chiseling:
Chiseling...

Chiseling...

Chiseling...

Chiseling...

Good!

Good!


goto top Up


Assembly

A few tweaks were required to make sure everything would tightly fit:
Adjusment required

Adjusment required

Adjusting...

Adjusting...

Just a little more space..

Just a little more space..



After drilling holes for the screws, we began installing the brackets:
Drilling

Drilling

Drilled

Drilled

Installing the bracket

Installing the bracket



For the final assembly, we lifted the frame with four chairs. This made it easier to work under it. After fastening the four corners, we simply removed the chairs and lowered the frame on the floor.
Working upside down

Working upside down

Bracket installed

Bracket installed

Lifted frame

Lifted frame

Ready for tatami!

Ready for tatami!


goto top Up


Result

The frame, built out of light pine wood, pleasantly contrasts with the black tatami borders and stands out well against the darker wood the floor is made of. Despite a few imperfections which, after all, contribute to the unique personality of all hand made pieces, on the whole the result is quite satisfactory.





goto top Up


Trademarks used in this site are the property of their respectives owners.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Website coded withWebsite coded with vimLast update: November 17, 2014 (Monday)

Cadre pour tatami



Inspiration

J'adore les tatami. Lors de mon premier voyage au Japon, j'ai été charmé par l'apparance paisible des pièces à tatami. Leur texture, très agréable pour les pieds, est aussi une invitation à faire une sieste directement sur le sol en se laissant bercer par la légère odeur de paille flottant dans la pièce.

Un ami partageant mon engoument pour ce revêtement de sol m'a fait part de sa décision d'acquérir 5 tatamis pour les installer dans une pièce. Comme les dimensions de cette pièce de maison nord-américaine n'était manifestement pas adaptés à acceuillir un nombre non-fractionnaire de tapis, il lui faudrait un cadre pour les encercler.

Les tatami existent en différentes tailles, et le cadre doit donc être prévu pour la taille choisie. Ceci rendait l'achat d'un produit fini plutôt coûteux en raison qu'ne plus du prix initial élevé, les frais de transport qu'occasionnait l'éloignement des commerces en offrant.

Bref, il nous est apparu rapidement que de réaliser le cadre nous-mêmes serait le meilleur chemin à prendre. Notre solution est présentée sur cette page.

goto top Retour en haut


Conception

En plus de viser à obtenir une belle apparance, en raison que le cadre serait installé chez un ami qui n'est pas spécialement porté au bricolage (n'a donc que peu d'outils) et qu'en plus il demeure loin de chez moi (Y aller plusieurs fois en peu de temps pour l'aider serait difficile), j'avais les contraintes suivantes:

De plus, à la demande de mon ami: Assemblage général:
Les côtés du cadre, assemblages de 3 planches, s'appuient les uns sur les autres dans un motif rappellant la rencontre des tatami.


Maintient des pièces:
Les quatre côtés liés à l'aide d'équerres enchassées dans la surface inférieure, dans une espace creusé au ciseau pour les acceuillir.


Approbabtion du concept final:
J'ai fait quelques rendus pour présenter le concept à mon ami. L'idée a été acceptée.

Vue isométrique

Vue isométrique

Vue dessus

Vue dessus

Détail coin

Détail coin

Détail coin

Détail coin


goto top Retour en haut


Le matériel

Nous nous sommes rendus à un centre de rénovation local pour acheter le bois. Comme nous avions besoin de planches très longues d'environ 9.15' (2788 mm), la longueur courante de 8' (2439mm) n'était pas utilisable. Nous avons dû choisir dans ce qui était disponible en longueur de 10' (3048mm). Notre choix s'est arrêté sur du pin blanc select, offert en planches de 10' x 4.75" x 0.75" (annoncé 10' x 5" x 1"). Nous obtiendrions donc 2 lattes par planche.

Avec l'épaisseur de 3/4" (19.05mm) des planches disponibles en la longueur qu'il nous fallait, il n'était pas possible d'atteindre la hauteur de 50mm voulue en empilant les plances. C'est pourquoi j'ai conçu les bords afin que ce soit la coupe des planches qui contrôle la hauteur du cadre. La largeur du cadre serait cependant fixée à 2.25" (57.15mm).


Notre plan était de faire couper les planches au centre de coupe du magasin de rénovation H où nous achèterions le bois. Mais une fois le bois choisi et mis sur le chariot, nous avons eu la mauvaise surprise d'apprendre que ce magasin n'offrait pas un service de coupe tel qu'offert au magasin R...

Pour ne pas perdre de temps, j'ai proposé d'acheter le nécessaire pour faire les coupes nous mêmes. L'idéal aurait été une scie circulaire, mais j'en possédais déjà une et mon ami n'était pas interessé à s'équiper. J'ai donc opté pour une scie à ruban. J'en voulais une depuis longtemps alors je n'aurais qu'à la ramener chez moi.

Transport des planches

Transport des planches

La scie à ruban

La scie à ruban

Les planches, coupées

Les planches, coupées



C'était un peu pénible et difficile de couper parfaitement droit, mais nous avons réussi à faire un travail que nous avons jugé acceptable. Après 1440" (36m) de coupe, nous commencions d'ailleurs à obtenir d'excellents résultats.

goto top Retour en haut


Préparation des côtés

L'assemblage des trois lattes formant chaque côté du cadre est fait par collage, et vissage. Les vis seront orientées du côté intérieur pour ne pas être visibles. Afin d'éviter la formation de fissures lors de l'installation des vis, nous avons préalablement perçu des trous. Nous avons aussi cherché à installer les planches plus foncés au milieu, ce qui donne un beau résultat.
Application de la colle

Application de la colle

Les vis, installées.

Les vis, installées.

Planche de centre plus foncée

Planche de centre plus foncée



Un peu de ponçage avant la prochaine étape, où les planches qui font encore 10' (305cm) seront écourtées.
Ponçage

Ponçage

Ponçage

Ponçage

Prêt pour la prochaine étape

Prêt pour la prochaine étape



Après quelques mesures et calculs, doublement vérifiés car quand il est question de coupe, en enlever davantage est bien plus facile que d'en remettre, nous avons coupé les planches à leur longueur finale.
Confirmation de mesure

Confirmation de mesure

Calcul de la longueur voulue

Calcul de la longueur voulue

Écourtage des bords

Écourtage des bords

Écourtage des bords

Écourtage des bords


goto top Retour en haut


Ciselage pour les équerres

Après avoir déterminé où sera installé chaque côté du cadre dans la pièce en fonction des qualités esthétiques de chacun, nous avons marqué chaque coin d'une lettre pour ne pas les confondre. Ensuite nous avons marqué les zones à être découpées au ciseau pour l'installation des équerres.
Marquage des zones à découper

Marquage des zones à découper

Marquage des zones à découper

Marquage des zones à découper

Marquage des zones à découper

Marquage des zones à découper



Puis nous nous sommes mis au travail avec les ciseaux:
Ciselage...

Ciselage...

Ciselage...

Ciselage...

C'est bon!

C'est bon!


goto top Retour en haut


Assemblage

Quelques ajustements pour permettre un assemblage serrés:
Petits ajustements requis

Petits ajustements requis

Ajustement

Ajustement

Un peu plus d'espace..

Un peu plus d'espace..



Après un perçage préalable à l'installation des vis pour éviter les fissures, installation des équerres:
Perçage pour les vis

Perçage pour les vis

Perçu, prêt pour les vis

Perçu, prêt pour les vis

Installation des équerres

Installation des équerres



Pour l'assemblage final, nous avons surélevé le cadre en utilisant quatre chaises, faciliant le travail en dessous. Nous avons ensuite enlevé les chaise pour le poser sur le sol dans son orientation finale.
Travail inversé

Travail inversé

Équerre installé

Équerre installé

Cadre surélevé

Cadre surélevé

Prêt pour les tatami!

Prêt pour les tatami!


goto top Retour en haut


Résultat

Le bois pâle du cadre contraste bien avec les bordures noires et se distingue du bois plus foncé du plancher. Malgré quelques petits défauts qui, après tout, donnent toujours un caractère unique aux pièces faites à la main, l'ensemble est très satisfaisant.





goto top Retour en haut


Les marques de commerce utilisées dans ce site appartiennent à leurs propriétaires respectifs.
Copyright © 2002-2017, Raphaël Assénat
Site codé avecSite codé avec vimDernière mise à jour: 17 Novembre 2014 (Lundi)